We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good city centre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Ranked #512 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Ok, my one negative first: some of the rooms are small and can feel a little claustrophobic if there are two of you with luggage.

The flip side of that is that not all the rooms are small. I've stayed here several times recently on business and have shared the rooms with my wife on each occasion, if you get a larger room, they are absolutely fine.
The hotel is very clean, well decorated, the bathrooms are well equipped and supplies refreshed daily and the beds are large and comfortable.

The front desk staff area very friendly and helpful and check in is pretty quick,although there can be queues at busy times ( just like any other city hotel)

You could not be closer to Paddington station and the tube station, although I have never heard a train whilst I've been here, and there are loads of restaurants of all different types and price ranges within 5-10 minutes walk of the front door. If you take some time to get past Burger King and Garfunkels there are some quite nice eateries and pubs to be found nearby.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank johnpears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Paddington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear johnpears,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are very grateful for your positive comments regarding our hospitality, cleanliness and excellent location.

We look forward to welcoming you back on many future occasions.

Kindest regards,

Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

678 - 684 of 1,511 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed here for 1 night. Checking in went slow. Staff is really dedicated and busy, but it just takes a long time. Surprise was the room, It was really small. More a shoebox with a bed. Almost no room to walk around the bed. Small desk.
Shower was not nice. Very low water pressure.
Rooms next door were pretty loud and good hear that very well.
Luckily the window was closed and you cannot hear the noise from the street.
Biggest plus was that it is around the corner of Paddington Station.
DO NOT GO TO THE RESTAURANT NEXT DOOR ! Pure nightmare !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hans E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Paddington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Hans E,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Our rooms vary in size from small doubles to king executive. The small doubles are compact indeed, however our guests prefer them as they are value for money.

I hope you will not judge us solely on this experience and you will be inclined to use us again.

Kindest regards,

Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is my first time stay in Mercure Paddington. I have stayed in the executive room and the room is great! The room is spacious and there are free drinks (including water) provided on daily basis. The room is clean and the towels are very nice.

Only minor concerns arethe room service food I've ordered was abit cold when it reached my room. And the Bath Gel size is too small - always not enough for one shower. Also cannot turn up the heat in the room.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank dkmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Paddington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear dkmen,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to read that your enjoyed your stay and you found our executive room and the complimentary drinks great.

Shower gels and other bathroom amenities come in a standard size and we allocate 1 bottle per person, however should a guest require additional items, they can always contact reception and we will deliver them to the room.

Kindest regards,

Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel with a friend. My friend paid £20 per night for an upgraded room, for 7 nights. Many problems with the room: air conditioning not working properly, sheets not always changed/cleaned, TV not working, room wasn't cleaned until 4pm, even though we left the room at 8am and hung the "make up room" sign on the door knob...Front office staff were next to useless. Only saying "we'd look into it and would you like a 25% discount on the upgrade fee?". Upon checkout, the discount wasn't applied to the final bill and the FO staff said, the manager would email us. No such email received. For the price paid, much better to stay at the Hilton and gain reward points. I stay over 80 nights a year in hotels. Never again at this one.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HikingPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The hotel could not be closer to Paddington station. I stayed in an executive room that was clean and pleasant. Sleep was fine just strange that I had to phone down to change the room temperature. I would definitely stay again, really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_Budapest_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Paddington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Mark_Budapest_3,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and you will definitely stay again.

We look forward to welcoming you back.


Kindest regards,

Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank mazzarama
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Paddington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We chose this hotel for its proximity to Paddington Station - less than a minutes walk. We had read the reviews about the room sizes but the small double is just that. Very tiny, wouldn't have wanted to spend any more than one night. The room had it all but space. It was clean and modern and I forgot to tell reception that the strip light above the bed flickered all night! It was fairly noisy quite early on with other guests moving out, presumably, so we did not feel that we had a very good nights sleep. We did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the breakfast. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The price was probably about right for a central London Hotel but better offers became available after we had booked both at this hotel and others nearby so we probably would not have stayed here had we realised.

Room Tip: Choose a twin rather than a double and upgrade if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thebushes35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Paddington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear thebushes35,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

Our rooms vary in size from small doubles to king executive. Our small doubles are very compavy indeed, however most of our guests prefer them as they are value for money and within a central location.

We are grateful for your comments regarding our staff.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kindest regards,

Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#407 of 1,076 in London
4,001 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#205 of 1,076 in London
1,092 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Best Western Plus Delmere Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Paddington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Paddington Hotel

Address: 144 Praed Street | Paddington, London W2 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#318 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £124 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Paddington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Paddington is perfectly situated for anyone visiting London for business or pleasure. Only being a few strides from the Heathrow Express at Paddington Station and 3 London Underground lines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure London Paddington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn London
Quality Crown Hotel Paddington
Quality Crown London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing