We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Ranked #479 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

This is a nice hotel in a great location, just yards from Paddington station. The rooms are rather small but have everything you need. Everything was spotlessly clean and the beds/pillows were a good standard and extremely comfortable. Breakfast is served in the adjacent restaurant with waitress service which makes a change from the usual buffet. The reception/bar staff were extremely friendly - as it was my birthday our room was upgraded (with free soft drinks/snacks) and we were given a free half bottle of champagne! Definately one to use for a one night stay.

Room Tip: As always in London, get a room as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turnstat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Paddington Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guests,

Please accept a massive thank you from my team and me for your recent stay and review on our hotel. It really does mean so much to our team to know they are appreciated.

We do hope you consider using our hotel again next time you are in London.

Kind regards

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    610
    300
    100
    76
See reviews for
199
429
216
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I selected this hotel based on its proximity to Paddington station. The location is great, especially for an early departure with the Heathrow express or any other train as it takes 3 minutes to walk.

The reception staff just do their job, nothing more, nothing less. A smile or a more service oriented attitude would not go amiss.

I was given an upgrade to the executive floor and a larger room. The bigger room was the size of a postage stamp. I hate to think what a small room looks like. The room itself was OK for one night. The dark furnishing and carpet does not make it very welcoming.
According to the escape plan on the door, rooms 401 and 408 are the smallest. 412, 406 and 403 the largest.

Complimentary Wi-Fi works well.

Room Tip: Select a larger room ending in..03...06...12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliviauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Paddington Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guests

Please accept our sincere thanks for your recent review. We were surprised you found your executive upgraded bedroom small as we only normally get good comments on these.

We do hope you consider using our hotel again in the future should you be visiting London.

Kind regards

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Can't complain much about our stay.
But won't recommend for late nights as there are people who sleeps on the street right next to the hotel.
Really rough. Don't know why the management can't escalate this issue with the local council.
We won't stay again here due to this.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eddie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Paddington Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guests,

Please accept our sincere thanks for your recent review on our hotel and we would like to assure you we are doing everything in our power along with the police to move the undesirables away from the area.

Again we do apologise again for this and do hope to see you again.

Kind regards

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed at the hotel last week, good location but the rooms were small. I felt very claustrophobic. I stayed there for 5 nights and by the 4 the night I was only replenished with minimal toiletries compared to the other 3 days. The female staff were not helpful. They did not understand the English language and on a number of occasions ignored me whilst I waited to be assisted on a couple of tours.
Very noisy location if you are expecting a nice quiet night sleep.
I thought that under the Accor hotel banner they would have higher customer service but was very disappointed. Will never stay here again

Room Tip: Bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Paddington Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Teresa

Please accept our sincere thanks for writing a review and informing us about your recent stay.

We do apologies that you found your room smaller than expected and that you found our normally excellent staff unwelcoming. Please be assured we will be looking further into this matter.

We do hope you give us the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future.

Kind regards

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Rooms are small but clean and tidy. Staff were friendly. Location is fantastic only a few steps from Paddinton station, close to small shops, pubs and walking distance to many places. London sightseeing bus only across the road. A great place to be central to all you need. Lifts are included which is great for luggage. Perfect when travelling from the Airport on the Heathrow Express as Paddington is on the line and very easy to get a around at.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaylynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Paddington Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest

Please accept a massive thank you from my team and me for your recent review on our hotel.

We really were pleased you love the hotel and location and do hope to see you again should you be visiting from Australia.

Kind regards

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I stayed here for a week for business. While the hotel is really at the awesome location and has great connection to the Heathrow airport, the standard rooms feel a bit claustrophobic. I didn't have the bfast included, but the restaurant in the ground floor is pretty good and if I remember well, they offer some buffet deals for dinner.
Sleeping was ok, not too noisy but not super quite either.
Overall, it was ok and I would probably go again, except for one fact. - The shower gel they provided was probably expired, as I got an incredible rush immediately after applying it. Had to visit the nearby ER and got some cream and meds to apply for a week. Nothing dangerous, but uncomfortable at the business trip. Advice to the management - double check your cosmetic products. Apart from that, everything was ok.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saleworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Paddington Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your recent review on our hotel. Please do accept our apology that you had a reaction to our standard Mercure bathroom toiletries. I can assure you that all Mercure toiletries are fully hypoallergenic. But again please do accept our sincere apologies.

We do hope you consider using our hotel again should you be visiting London.

Kind regards

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#406 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
BEST WESTERN PLUS Delmere Hotel
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#398 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Paddington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Paddington Hotel

Property: Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Address: 144 Praed Street | Paddington, London W2 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#316 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Paddington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Paddington is perfectly situated for anyone visiting London for business or pleasure. Only being a few strides from the Heathrow Express at Paddington Station and 3 London Underground lines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure London Paddington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn London
Quality Crown Hotel Paddington
Quality Crown London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing