We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel in the heart of London!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Ranked #218 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in the heart of London!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Marriott County Hall in London for 4 nights in mid-September and we couldn't have been happier! They had a weekend special for the room rate which we thought was very reasonable for London. The room was big, very clean and beautifully decorated. The king size bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was a good size and clean. We had a great view of the Thames River, the London Eye and Big Ben! The location is great, 5 minute walk you are at the Waterloo train station/Waterloo Tube. Or 5 minutes over the Westminster Bridge to Westminster Abbey, Big Ben etc & Westmister Tube station. The red double decker bus are directly in front of the hotel. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and most helpful! A must see... is the lounge/dining room... it is beautiful! A very nice spot to go for a drink after a long day of sightseeing. We had dinner one night in the dining room the food was excellent and the service was outstanding. We did have room service for breakfast one morning which was very reasonable in price and the service again was outstanding! Very polite, professional! We cannot say enough nice things about this hotel. This is where we will being staying any time we are in London!

Room Tip: Try asking for a river view, it is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ptm39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,230
    689
    269
    115
    69
See reviews for
802
742
78
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

We stayed in this hotel while visiting London for our 1 year anniversary. Fortunately my parents had enough points to cover a 2 night stay, otherwise we probably would NOT have been able to afford it. It used to be an old government building, which they have done a great job turning into a classy upscale hotel. It's right on the thames, and the room we had was very spacious (no balcony unfortunately) RIGHT under the London eye! Amazing. We were a little frustrated when the girl (who didn't seem to busy) obviously forgot to tell us that our room was ready after we told her we were desperately needing a nap (we had just gotten off the plane). But that, and the price of drinks at the hotel, we really our only two complaints. We were right across the bridge from the underground, and it was a wonderful location to all London had to offer!

Room Tip: Knowing how small London hotel rooms can be, I don't think you can go wrong with this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

My wife and I spent 5 nights at the Marriott County Hall in London in mid-september and could not have been happier with our stay.

Location: The County has is perfectly located in the wesminster borough of london connected to the jubalee garden/london eye and accross the westminster bridge (long bridge) from the houses of parliment. it is a great starting point to walk to many of the cities attractions. Although this area is a bit quieter in the evening.

Room: We wanted a river view room but as we were staying on points received a room with partial river views facing the jubalee garden/london eye. Note: As with everything in london, this hotel is quite expensive, but i believe they had somewhat reasonable weekend rates. The rates during the week are high due to its close proximity to parliment, (when in session).The room was quite large for london standards including a huge soaking tub desk area table and chairs as well as a separate closet/vanity area for getting ready. The beds were up to marriott quality and turndown service was a nice tough. These rooms are a bit of a walk as this is a large building but we never felt annoyed by it as other posters have commented.

Executive Lounge: We stayed on the executive lounge floor (4) and had daily access (which i believe can also be purchased for 12.50/day. This had a nice assortment of breakfast items but more importantly had water and coffee available all day to take along to the sites. In the evening there were snacks including beer/wine till about 9:30.

Food: We at once at the hotel in the rotunda lounge (lunch/light dinner) and ate room service once evening. Both were up to the standard you would expect for a marriott. Know that behind the hotel (if you take the back entance out of the lobby, there are 3 or 4 quick options for food as well as a convenience store with liqour. This is convenient as the marriott does not have a gift shop/store for small necessities.

Consierge: During our 5 night stay, the consierge was quite helpful. They are able to book tickets to various attractions and shows so you dont need to wait in line. They remembered what we had booked and as we left one evening even said, "have fun at the show" remembering what we had booked earlier. They are very professional and I would definitely use them.

Other notes: There is no ATM on the property, but there is one in the Hospital just accross the street. We had no troubles upon check in as it was a tuesday, but this is a large hotel and i can understand there being a long long if it was busy. Also note, the hotel can book car service back to Heathrow and charge it to your room. It was 60 pounds which is a bit expensive, but was a nice BMW and vs. a cab was preferred.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaringMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
157 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

We booked a double room - two queen size beds - at the County Hall Marriott for a week in June 2010. The room was big and very clean and well decorated. We paid a little extra for a river view room and were just thrilled with our view of Big Ben! The Eye was just outside our window, and I had worried a bit about the noise, but it was no problem at all. Breakfast was included and was always plentiful and hot. The staff was nice and attentive, but not intrusive. The only problem we had was with the AC, but they fixed it quickly, so it was fine. They did offer a different room at first, but it was smaller, so we declined. One thing to keep in mind, is that since this is a hotel built into a remodeled government building, the room sizes vary quite a bit, and the halls are not all the same. I loved that sense of history and age, but if you want modern, this isn't the best choice. One thing about the location - just walk across the bridge and you're right in the heart of London. The Westminster Tube stop is just at the end of the bridge, but Westminster Abbey and St. James Park are within easy walking distance. It was just perfect. Oh, and you can catch a boat just down stairs to take you out to the Royal Observatory, or just to do a Thames tour. If we ever get back to London, the Marriott County Hall will definitely be our home.

Room Tip: Spring for a Big Ben view room if you possibly can. It was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanwithagoodbook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Great central London location. Hotel is lovely inside, and we got a river facing room with a great view. Rooms were clean and well appointed.

Now for the relatively minor gripes. We arrived early and tried to get our room - long queue at reception to find out the room wasn't ready. Came back an hour later and still had the long queue, but room was available. When checking out, there was a long queue at reception. There were about 3 doormen everytime we came into the hotel. Despite traveling with a small baby and a buggy, got no help in getting up the steps. Disappointing for a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: River views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arranblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

This was my first visit to London and this property came highly recommended and I am ever so grateful that it was. Our room had a view of Big Ben. The London Eye and the Aquarium are right there. We had a junior suite which was an ideal setup for as, a family of 5. The promised rollaway bed was never delivered, but we were able to make due without it.

Our room was on the club floor and included access to the lounge. This was very convenient for coffee and pastries in the morning before heading our, and for a light snack in the late afternoon, when we returned to the hotel for a little downtime before heading out to dinner. Sometimes the afternoon snacks were in short supply, but drinks were always plentiful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brinagu3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Excellent central location in London with the London Eye and Big Ben just outside your window. We have stayed here on several occasions including during Wimbledon in late June. We are a family of 5 and during previous visits, we would get the Big Ben Executive room with 2 double beds and a rollaway. They didn't have a room with 2 double beds available during our most recent visit and so management upgraded us to a suite with a king bed which had enough space for 3 rollaway beds (at no extra charge). A very nice upgrade. Service throughout has always been generally excellent. Indoor pool is a big reason we like this hotel as it is always a hit with the kids. This one's a keeper.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romazicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#100 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel County Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Property: London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Address: Westminster Bridge Road | London County Hall, London SE1 7PB, England (Formerly Marriott London County Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#165 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Romantic Hotel in London
#230 Family Hotel in London
#243 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel County Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Painted with a signature backdrop, the historic London Marriott Hotel County Hall is in close proximity to our city's main attractions. With views of Big Ben, the banks of the River Thames and overlooked by the London Eye, landmarks are a short stroll away from our hotel's doors. Our hotel boasts distinctive venues that can accommodate for every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your London Marriott Hotel County Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London County Hall Hotel London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing