We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel, Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Ranked #163 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, England
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel, Great Location!”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I stayed with my wife for 2 nights in Early January.

Time for me to disclose.....I like Marriott hotels, the rooms, the food, and the comfy beds.

I'm pleased to confirm that the County Hall did not disappoint.

Check in was simple and straight forward, and we were given room 414. The room was large by London standards, and had two comfy chairs as well as a couple of desks, a table, and of course the comfy bed. The room was spotless. We had a view of the Thames and also the London Eye.

We only had breakfast to eat in the hotel, which was nice and of good quality. Beware though, if you are not on a bed and breakfast rate, it costs £22!! It's not worth that price, and I would recommend a number of pubs nearby doing a full English for £8.

Without exception, all the staff we spoke with were really friendly and eager to please.

We'd love to go back there, though the price of the rooms means its only for very special occasions.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joolsleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,353
    714
    276
    116
    72
See reviews for
852
793
83
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (683)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, California
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I used points and paid a 40 pound upgrade for a river view room. After being shown three different small oddly shaped rooms I slipped the bellman a fiver and was suddenly offered a large room with four poster king size bed room number 344. My advice is don't settle for the first room they offer and don't be shy about providing a small gratuity. It's an old hotel converted from a public building so it seems to have more than a normal share of goofy rooms.
Room 344 has a great bath which fills in minutes but they keep the water scalding hot so be careful! The concierge lounge served a decent breakfast but I don't think they know how to make scrambled eggs which were pretty marginal. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, UK
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed here on xmas eve and the night before as we were in London for the 2 days. Check-in was a breeze & we were told that our room was in a "quiet are" of the hotel. What that actually meant was a very long walk to the other side of the hotel but I can't complain as the room made it worthwhile. Lovely room with entrance area, bathroom, "lounge"-type area with desk & 2 armchairs, large bed and dressing room with wardrobe & drink-making facilities. The view out of the window was towards the Thames along Southbank and overlooking part of the London Eye and a temporary ice-rink.

Had bar snacks in the bar once we'd settled in and saw the menu for the restaurant xmas dinner so asked to book a table on xmas eve only to be told it was fully booked however the staff were amazing an managed to get us in at 18:30 so long as we could vacate the table by 20:00 which wasn't a problem for us. The meal itself was absolutely fabulous - being a vegetarian I am used to veggie meals being an "afterthought" but this wasn't and even my meat-eating husband was impressed!

After dinner we retired to the executive lounge which was nice but it seemed to stop serving alcohol awfully early compared to other Marriot hotels such as the Heathrow Renaissance. On return to the room for a final night's sleep we found a red stocking on the bed filled with hotel goodies which was an unexpected but delightful touch and put huge smiles on our faces! :-)

Check-out was easy the following day and we were able to get away easily as we'd been able to keep our car directly outside the hotel as the valet service started at 7am but we'd needed our car an hour before that on both days.

All in all a great stay and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. There are facilities there such as a pool and sauna but unfortunately we didn't have time to try them out but will make it a priority next time!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purplepixii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 917 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Had booked a suite. When I arrived (well past check in) it was not ready but I was offered a downgraded room. I declined. Jet lagged, I waited for some hours past check in and finally the room was made available. Everything else was decidedly average but the attitude of the staff was what one would expect at a poorly run 2 star property. Great location, yes but I will never consider staying here again. If you require excellent service, check that, acceptable service, London has many vastly superior options.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Drewmc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Fantastic location right at the base of the London Eye. The history of the building is amazing, and the architecture is stunning. Rooms of fairly large by UK standards and walls of stone make it feel like you're staying in a castle.

Main driveway and entrance has been used in various films, you'll recognize it, easy drop off and pick up for taxis although a bit tight for limo buses or shuttles.

Checkin desk is surpriseingly small, but very effecient.

Restaurant and onsite bar offer tons of selection. Room service is exceptional and I typically don't order room service, but was glad I did one night. Speedy and well presented and very hot.

I've stayed here a few times, and should mention that one of the times I had to share the room with a very large mouse/rat. He barely fit under the door, but would come and go all night, and he seemed to think that there was food in my garbage, but there wasn't. I think he had my room confused with another one. Due to the age and location of this hotel, I wasn't surprised to see a mouse/rat being right on the banks of the Thames and in an extremely old area. Hotel staff were nice enough to give me a roll pillow to place at the buttom of the door.

This hotel is very appropriate for solo or business travel with easy access to Underground and sightseeing. This hotel is also very approrpriate for family vacation as well.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DowntownCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

This was the second time we have stayed here just before Xmas and ideal for 2 adults and 2 children with their large 2 double beds. Our view was straight over the Thames and the Houses of Parliament. Check in was a breeze and I love the way the Hotel has its own street leading to reception. Our luggage was delivered swiftly to our room. The staff attended our every need and at breakfast bent over backwards to satisfy our kids with pancakes, soft boiled eggs and hot chocolate. At about 5pm every night in the lobby they served mulled wine, mince pies and Stollen to drink and eat there or take away. Nice touch. What I particularly like about this Hotel is that they make you feel special, nothing is to much trouble. The location is fabulous, surrounded by history and for those that like a walk, head off down the Thames path and you have the Tate Modern and the Globe theatre.

Room Tip: High floor for the views and make sure you close the curtains properly as County Hall is lit up all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickandjo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Pleased with this hotel's location and ambience. If you like historic style hotels, this one boasts one as former city hall with plenty of wood paneling and traditional European decor. Extremely convenient location to see many top London attractions and walk to Piccadilly Cicus, Leicester Square and Park Place. Service staff all very courteous. House keeping was hit or miss in some ways even though very clean for the basics (turn down service sporadic, pile of discarded packaging and papers left right beside desk side rubbish bin were not collected for two days, snack plates not cleared). Gym is GREAT which includes spa, indoor heated pool, life fitness equipment, power plates, and full range of weights, mats, and other contraptions. Room service was delicious and reasonably priced, breakfast was basic western fare at consistent good quality. Nice outdoor terrace to watch the London fog rise off the River Thames in the early morning; peaceful view of Big Ben and London Eye at night. For London prices, solid value for location, room, and services.

Room Tip: Choose River View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilyChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#115 of 1,069 in London
4,639 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#52 of 1,069 in London
3,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel County Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Property: London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Address: Westminster Bridge Road | Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7PB, England (Formerly Marriott London County Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#131 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Romantic Hotel in London
#230 Family Hotel in London
#243 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel County Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Painted with a signature backdrop, the historic London Marriott Hotel County Hall offers proximity to our city's main attractions. With views of Big Ben, the banks of the River Thames and overlooked by the London Eye, landmarks are a short stroll away from the front doors of our hotel in London, England. Stay with us and hold your events here, as we feature distinctive venues that can accommodate every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your London Marriott Hotel County Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London County Hall Hotel London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing