We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, excellent service and an amazing hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Ranked #156 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here for our 4 year anniversary. Having booked the room two months in advance, we managed to get it for a lot cheaper than it would’ve been on the actual day if booked just a few days in advance.

Upon arrival at The Marriott County Hall, we were greeted by the most nicest receptionist and concierge. Check-in couldn’t have been smoother and it was nice to know that our room had been upgraded for free, to a ‘Big Ben’ view room. I had spoken to the Guest Relations manager, Perina a few weeks ago to advise of our stay, who had obviously paid great attention to detail in making our visit special. Once in the room I was surprised to see a tray of their finest macaroons and sweets and a card reading, Happy Anniversary – we knew we were going to be looked after here and this made our visit even more special.

The room was simply beautiful. Spacious, clean and as always it had the classic Marriott Décor. The bed was huge and comfortable and the bathroom was lovely and clean also. Of course, to have a view of the London eye, River Thames and the Big Ben all in one sighting was just too good to be true. We pretty much watched the sun go down behind the Westminster abbey/Big Ben and even managed to take some breathtaking photographs from our own bedroom window!

The concierge were extremely helpful in providing information about local restaurants and bars also. We ended up visiting The Mint Leaf Lounge for dinner that evening, (Indian about 10 minutes away from hotel). That was also lush!

My husband and I agree that there were no negatives about this hotel at all, having visited numerous Marriott Hotels on numerous occasions around the country we have to say this was one of the best. We cannot wait to return – hopefully soon!

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sham11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,916 - 1,922 of 2,615 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2012

Stayed here with my husband for a long weekend in April. Hotel was completely booked, as it was the week before the Royal Wedding and the week of the London Marathon. Despite the crowds, no issues at all with service, cleanliness or space in the lounge. Beautiful room with a park view.

Location is perfect. Right on the Thames, view of Big Ben, next to the Eye.

Downsides:

Long queue at the front desk. I am platinum and used to a special line, but the desk staff was allowing anyone in the Gold/Platinum line. We were placed in a room that felt like it was a full mile from the elevator. I recommend you request a room closer to the elevator, as the long walk got tedious after a few days.

Despite great location, tube station entrance was closed, so we had to walk farther than we planned to get onto the tube. Not a huge deal, but some kind of notice upon checkin would have helped, as we spent significant time looking for an open entrance (as out-of-towners).

Overall a fantastic stay. I would recommend for business and pleasure. I am returning in June 2012 with my family, as this is one of the only Marriott properties in London that can accommodate 4 in a room.

Room Tip: Request a room close to the elevator, or try (I was unsuccessful) to get a room with a view of Big B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoPlaceLikeHome66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

On face value it has the potential of being an awesome hotel... But it just didn't work on so many levels. Bathroom light flickered, shower and taps were inefficient, executive breakfast was poorly staffed and serviced. Huge charges for Internet - £15 for 24 hours! Executive rooms were extremely expensive @ £300+ per night. We moved after 3 nights to the Marriott at the Airport and it was far superior to this hotel. All in all we were quite disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Stayed here at the weekend when it seemed mostly empty. Fascinating building with long oak pannelled corridors. We had a room facing over the river with a great view over the Thames and with the London Eye to one side.

Pleasant traditional rooms with the usual comfy marriott bed. Lovely friendly staff. The bar and restaurant are big grand rooms looking out over the river. Breakfast was excellent with a big buffet choice and they were happy to cater for my wife who is gluten intolerant.

Decent sized swimming pool on an upper floor (all inside no river view from here).

Room Tip: See if you can get a river view room - costs extra or needs an upgrade (we got one ;¬) ) £18 for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Chose this hotel for a girls NYE trip to London and Paris. The location was perfect if you're a first-timer or into all of the touristy activities in London! All of the major attractions are in walking distance or a short tube ride away and there is a bus stop right outside of the hotel. The staff is very helpful, including the concierge with lots of suggestions for activities, the bell staff, and even housekeeping stopping by nightly to offer turn down service. Spectacular view of the London Eye and wonderful staff make for a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoloStarJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I was there for New Year's and this place is THE place to stay. Amazing views of the Thames and it's 30 seconds from The London Eye. The Underground station is a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solotraveler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I stayed with my wife for 2 nights in Early January.

Time for me to disclose.....I like Marriott hotels, the rooms, the food, and the comfy beds.

I'm pleased to confirm that the County Hall did not disappoint.

Check in was simple and straight forward, and we were given room 414. The room was large by London standards, and had two comfy chairs as well as a couple of desks, a table, and of course the comfy bed. The room was spotless. We had a view of the Thames and also the London Eye.

We only had breakfast to eat in the hotel, which was nice and of good quality. Beware though, if you are not on a bed and breakfast rate, it costs £22!! It's not worth that price, and I would recommend a number of pubs nearby doing a full English for £8.

Without exception, all the staff we spoke with were really friendly and eager to please.

We'd love to go back there, though the price of the rooms means its only for very special occasions.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joolsleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#116 of 1,076 in London
4,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel County Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Address: Westminster Bridge Road | Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7PB, England (Formerly Marriott London County Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#127 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Romantic Hotel in London
#230 Family Hotel in London
#243 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £206 - £509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel County Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Painted with a signature backdrop, the historic London Marriott Hotel County Hall offers proximity to our city's main attractions. With views of Big Ben, the banks of the River Thames and overlooked by the London Eye, landmarks are a short stroll away from the front doors of our hotel in London, England. Stay with us and hold your events here, as we feature distinctive venues that can accommodate every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your London Marriott Hotel County Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London County Hall Hotel London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing