We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Ranked #189 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is a great hotel - I've stayed there 4 times (each time I've been to London). The things I love about it? The location is great - if you ride the hop on/hop off bus, it picks up right outside the hotel (which is very convenient). The rooms are large. The staff is friendly and willing to help. It is right next to the London Eye. The only draw back to this hotel? Every time I've stayed there I've had a very long walk to my hotel room. Even when I requested to be near an elevator, I was still put way out in no man's land. We probably walked for a good 6 minutes to get to our room. Some would say that was a draw back - some wouldn't care. But, for us, we have already walked so much in this town, that the thing we would like is to go to our hotel room & just be there (without so long of a walk).
With that said, I would just like to say that even with that draw back, I continue to stay at this hotel because it's upscale, great service, clean, & great location.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdr4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,294
    701
    271
    116
    70
See reviews for
818
776
81
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

good location, as it is walking distance to many of the main attractions. Good service, and the rooms are large, and updated. We had a room facing Big Ben... beautiful!
Was very disappointed with the concierge club, was expecting much more from such a large (and expensive!) hotel. It was a small cramped room, not much variety for afternoon/ evening snacks.

Room Tip: request room facing river/ big ben
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nycgal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

The hotel is nicely situated on the Southbank of the Thames right behind the London Eye. We used the Underground exclusively. The easy station is called Westminster, which is just over the bridge. Get an Oyster card when you arrive at the airport. The weekly tour pass is the best option. It is 39 pounds an allows unlimited travel within Zone 1 and 2. It includes the both the "tube" and all bus services. The Underground is awesome and alternative transportation is not necessary. You can get everywhere riding the public transportation. The weekly pass also allowed us to ride from Heathrow into the city and back again. If you take the tube, take the Picadilly line to Hammersmith. You can change to the district line to your Westminster stop. We had quite a bit of luggage and it was no problem navigating the trains and stations with luggage in tow.
The hotel itself is nice enough. We had a great room with a river view. The property was very clean and the staff more than helpful. There is not a lot of restaurants or bars on that southern bank of the river, but you can easily jump on the "tube". You can see both Big Ben and the London eye from the hotel. Westminster Abbey and Buckingham palace are also very close, so the hotel is situated nicely for major tourist sites.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

My husband and I have stayed here on several occasions. The location is wonderful and the staff could not do enough to help. I can't recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

There is no better location for a hotel in London. All the popular tourist attractions are only a few minutes away big ben, london eye, parliament. The staff was very helpful.

After a full day of meetings and traveling this place feels like a heaven. The rooms are very cozy and comfortable. Would love to go back to this hotel again and again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahteram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

My friends and I booked into a spa day at the Marriott London County Hall as a celebration for a special occasion.

The spa was lovely, everyone had a treatment as part of the package which was professional yet relaxing. We also had access to good gym facilities and the pool and sauna. Unfortunately, the jaccuzzi was not working, but they kindly offered us the opportunity to come back another day to get the full experience when the whirlpool would be working.

The only downside to the day was having cream tea and scones in the Leader Bar downstairs in the main hotel. When we arranged the day we booked on a two for one package which included two for one on tea and scones. Everyone got two scones each and was told they could have a pot of tea or an alternative drink with the scones. Unfortunately when it came to it they charged us for three drinks, saying that the pots of tea were for sharing between two people.

We explained that this was not at all clear and that the waitress should have explained it and not accepted an individual drink order from each person, especially as we were very clear we were there as part of a package. The manager came and was really fairly blunt and rude. He made us feel like we were 'just spa customers' and not hotel customers and told us to take it up with the spa if we objected but he could not help and would have to charge us. I tried to point out that if marketed in their hotel then they should help us with our query. In the end we just paid for the drinks rather than pursue it further and ruin our special day.

All in all it was a good day, unfortunately the only down point was the rudeness of the manager. He accepted they made an error and that his staff should have been clearer but did not refund us. I would have thought that a big hotel like the Marriott London would be more appreciative of their customers.

A good day overall but I wouldn't go again as I did not feel like an appreciated customer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Am5562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This hotel couldn't have been in a better location. We faced the Thames, with a great view of Parliament, Big Ben, and the Eye was right outside. The hotel was beautiful, a 4 Star treat. The consierge was always very accommodating, the room extremely comfortable, the underground close by. It was great to come back to this lovely place, after a full day of sightseeing. We were also able to walk to the theatre district, if we wished, though this was a bit of a walk. We requested a refrigerator, and housekeeping was very accommodating. Unfortunately, if you wish to stock the fridge a bit, there are only a couple of tiny, high-priced convenience stores nearby. I guess that you can't have it all.

Room Tip: Ask for a front-facing room, so you can look out at the Thames.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teach1NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,067 in London
2,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel County Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Property: London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Address: Westminster Bridge Road | London County Hall, London SE1 7PB, England (Formerly Marriott London County Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#148 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Romantic Hotel in London
#230 Family Hotel in London
#243 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel County Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Painted with a signature backdrop, the historic London Marriott Hotel County Hall is in close proximity to our city's main attractions. With views of Big Ben, the banks of the River Thames and overlooked by the London Eye, landmarks are a short stroll away from our hotel's doors. Our hotel boasts distinctive venues that can accommodate for every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your London Marriott Hotel County Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London County Hall Hotel London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing