We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Warm Welcome, Lovely Views, Super Stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Ranked #199 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Warm Welcome, Lovely Views, Super Stay!!!”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

On arrival at this beautiful old Hotel, we had a warm welcome, (as always), & a lovely surprise upgrade to a large Exec Room, King Bed, River Thames view. The Restaurant & Bar Lounge have been completely refurbished & new menus, new Head Chef since our previous visit, last year.
Room spotlessly clean. Lovely large windows & view of river. Nice bathroom, with good quality towels, face flannels, bath/shampoo/gels. Tea, coffee, chocolate, drinks & Biscuits, full mini bar in room.
Didn't use wi-fi so can't comment on that.
ALL staff extremely helpful, cheerful, friendly & efficient, with VERY SPECIAL MENTION for Perina Rodrigues in Guest Relations, who welcomed us back, sent a lovely fruit basket to our room, & went out of her way to make our stay such a great experience, (especially when she heard my hubby wasn't well one day, & arranged our
day by day extensions of stay with charm &
efficiency; Mark & all in Reception; Anna & Kamila in the Bar Lounge, who welcomed us back & always
served our snacks & drinks with a smile & cheerful word;
the young man (sorry, didn't get his name) who worked
so hard all evening on Thurs. 6th Sept. in the
Library/Restaurant to make our celebratory meal with
family such a pleasant experience; the Concierges - who
are a mine of useful info & even re-charged my mobile
phone for me, as I'd left my charger at home, dealt with
our luggage, called cabs for us, etc. - always with great courtesy & a smile.
Enjoyed the lovely swimming pool on 6th Floor.
Residents changing facilities etc not ideal - ladies very cramped & could be better. Location of showers not
immediately apparent. We never found the jacuzzi?
We found the new " chefie" trend of having different elements of a main course being put in separate little
dishes often meant that it was difficult to eat, (with the
large cutlery), especially the fish & chips - chips in a
bowl, fish on a board, & often some elements were cold
whilst others piping hot! Not ideal. My hubby had Bar
Snack of Beef slices inside a split Yorkshire Pudding &
a jug of gravy - but how do you pour gravy on it, when
it's served on a wooden board? No logic to that.
However, food was tasty.
Breakfast - only once did we see anyone being given an actual Menu. Just told to help ourselves from cereals,
fruit, etc, & waiting staff asked if we wished hot food
drinks. On Sat. morning, there were casseroles of some hot breakfast food on a table in the restaurant, but, again, no menu provided to enable us (or others) to choose other items, & the food in casseroles NOT really hot enough. The Marriott at Garstang, Preston has much better casseroles with hinged lids - easier to use - & system to keep food much hotter.
The sofa seating in Restaurant too low for tables. Other chairs fine. The return of Bar & Restaurant very nice, but think food needs to be hotter & some presentations should be re-thought - nothing wrong with a nicely presented main course, simply on a plate, not in different containers!!!
Nevertheless, our entire stay was excellent & we will return again, as it is a lovely hotel, great staff, delightful ambience, & superb location for business or touring the city, with Underground & Bus in close proximity, & great for a stroll along the river embankments. Thank you, to all in County Hall, & especially to Perina, Kamila & Anna.

Room Tip: 3rd & 4th Floor Big Ben view rooms are the best, with River view rooms very good, too. The 6th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VETTRIANISTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,265
    694
    270
    115
    69
See reviews for
808
764
79
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brentwood TN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My review title says it all if your trip to London is for leisure. Many of the major attractions are within easy walking distance. My wife and I arrived after a 14-day tall ship cruise and arrived by train from Southampton into the Waterloo Station, located only a block way and simply walked to the hotel. The staff is very friendly and anticipatory. Every detail of our room was perfect. We loved our view of the Thames, Big Ben and the London skyline. Room service was fast and top notch. Reception had fast answers for every question we had from money changing to transportation. Hotel GM Theresa Maw obviously runs a "tight ship". This hotel will now be our hotel in London!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, request one of the very few rooms the hotel features with a balcony facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The Marriott county hall is as good a location as one can get if you are looking for the most popular tourist sites. That said the hotel was not up to the typical Marriott high end property standards.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barnstablerw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This hotel was a perfect stay in London for a family of four. The Service was good, and the Location was perfect. You could look out your window every day, and look directly at Big Ben. The breakfast was definitely not the best I've had, but It was nice and simple, and was included in our stay. The rooms were nice, big, comfortable, and most of all, clean! I would definitely reccomend this hotel, and will be back for another stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Holly, North Carolina
Level Contributor
619 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My wife and I stayed here over the bank holiday weekend and there is no better location for tourist activities. Westminster is in easy walking distance. The London Eye is right next door and the river views are outstanding. We had a wonderful experience from both an eating and service standpoint.
The bed was very comfortable. We are Marriott Platinum members and our room was very good. It was a long walk to the elevators, but other than that, the hotel was outstanding.
We were in London in 2010 and had eyed this hotel then. We were not disappointed. We would highly recommend this hotel. The staff was extremely helpful and attentive. Bravo!

Room Tip: If there is a river view available, that would be what you want. The higher the floor of course the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piseu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Great location but with a little bit of space. Right next to The London Eye, but close to downtown, just across a foot bridge. There are plenty of eateries just down the river walk. Nice variety. Great view of Big Ben and Parliment - loved seeing it - looking just like a postcard. Beautiful Would recommend staying here for families. Breakfast at restaurant was very good. Dinner was okay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lai Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This is a lovely hotel, normally we can't afford to stay here so we look for the special week end rates that they sometimes have.The room was excellent , luxurious in many details , loads of towels, huge arm chairs and a fantastic view of the river.Breakfast was nice but the dining room arrangements need some adjustment-- toaster in a bad place--we had guests for a late breakfast in the bar area and the staff were very obliging.
The restaurant offers a rather old fashioned steak menu after 6.30--had hoped for a more international menu but perhaps this is what the regular guests want. We joined the many Marriot refugees in an Italian restaurant a step a way .Close to many attractions , the eye and the South Bank which is great fun. A fantastic swimming pool.

Room Tip: Pick a riverside room , bring yourpainting stuff if you are a watercolourist
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#100 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel County Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Property: London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Address: Westminster Bridge Road | London County Hall, London SE1 7PB, England (Formerly Marriott London County Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#154 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Romantic Hotel in London
#230 Family Hotel in London
#243 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel County Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Painted with a signature backdrop, the historic London Marriott Hotel County Hall is in close proximity to our city's main attractions. With views of Big Ben, the banks of the River Thames and overlooked by the London Eye, landmarks are a short stroll away from our hotel's doors. Our hotel boasts distinctive venues that can accommodate for every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your London Marriott Hotel County Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London County Hall Hotel London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing