We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, wonderful service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Ranked #216 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
165 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Location, wonderful service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

This was my first visit to London, and this was a great location for visiting London. It is on the River Thames, right at the Westminster Bridget. It is walking distance to Big Ben, Westminster Abby, the London Eye and Churchill's War Room. It is a large hotel, so ask for a room near the elevator if you don't want to do a lot of walking. The staff was very good, and the concierge was fantastic. My room was completely updated, and was a nice size for a London hotel. My only complaint is that there are no clock radios in the rooms. Maybe it's an American thing, but it was inconvenient. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for room close to elevator - it is a very large hotel and can be a very, very long walk from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WJ2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,231
    690
    269
    115
    69
See reviews for
803
743
78
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (653)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

Booked in with friends and told them it was my 50th birthday stay. Rooms not ready until 4pm then friend given someone else's room - person in the shower at the time! I walked into my room and my friends clothes were there. They had lost my clothes and it took them an hour and a half to find them. When finally in my room it only had the mirror in the bathroom so maintenance brought me an extension lead, plugged in at the other side of the room, to plug my hair dryer in in the bathroom so that I could use that mirror - isnt that a health and safety issue? For my very special birthday I had a view of the plumbing and walls at the rear of the building. As a result I was half an hour late for a special meal where other friends and family were waiting. At first we were offered a 20% reduction but finally cleared the bill and apologised. Appalling!

Room Tip: A river view is better than that of plumbing and brick walls at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 224Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

Stayed for 3 nights with my family during half term break in London. Im afraid its looking and feeling old and tired and in dire need of a complete refresh. In general the staff try hard and are very pleasant but I'm afraid they lack the professionalism needed for a 4/5 star hotel to compete in central London. The beds are still very comfortable but they need something else to spice it up and bring it up to date and back to life. Will stay over the road next time as much better vfm in my opinion

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Will-I-am_Wetherby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

This was my third stay in this hotel and although there were a couple of hiccups the view from the room is worth it - the lit view of the Houses of Parliament and Westminster Bridge through the hotel room window at night is hard to beat.We have stayed once without a river view and although the hotel is lovely I feel it is the river views that make it so special.
It is a great location close to Waterloo giving you the freedom of tube travel as well as being close to buses and river transport links. Directly over Westminster Bridge is the Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey.Obviously right outside is the London Eye and the riverside walk past the Southbank Centre and onwards towards the Globe Theatre & Tower Bridge.
Apart from the location and river view, the hotel itself is a fairly typical Marriott although with the period features the old County Hall provides.
There is a pool and spa - although we didn't use these facilities the pool looked a good size. There are a number of lounges with various views - the Library was a very pleasant place to sit and chat while taking advantage of the complimentary tea and coffee. Breakfast was a very nice buffet style and although the choice wasn't as wide as some of the other Marriotts we've stayed in the quality and service were both good.
We had an evening meal in an italian restaurant just around the corner from the hotel called Locale on the Belvedere Road - really good value and really tasty food.
We had lots of plans but ended up spending a lot of time in the hotel room just looking at the view and chilling out in the bar - I'd recommend this for a sightseeing break or a romantic weekend.

Room Tip: If you can get an upgrade to a river view room it is definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laroche12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bad homburg
Level Contributor
111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

unfortunally the player hotel of the atp masters in the O2 arena, so no way to get away from this hotel. yesterday forgot my key, after running miles to the reception, they gave another key not working, so running to room, running back, not really nice
no fresh orange juice at breakfast, and even worst, saying that the orange juice is fresh, so after claiming saying, its 90 percent fresh, you ever was 90 percent pregnant?
reception whenever i needed only one person serving, means always need to wait long time, in fact this person is not really trying to speed up
food medium good, breakfast even outsite the missing fresch juice medium, just overpriced and without the fact its tournament hotel would never book it private,
bad , the window is not good to open
bad , the room service comes sometimes at 4 to clean the room
good thing , the beds are nice to sleep

Room Tip: close to elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misterxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Was booked to celebrate a birthday and we got confirmation that it was in the Library. this like the other review here was messed up by the hotel.

The tea selection is good with plenty of water top ups, the cakes and scones tasty as are the sandwiches. The view is of the river and as its great.

Recommended.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Azardamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

Loved our hotel room - paid extra for a river view and worth every penny as could lie on bed watching the London eye go round. The view of Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament was magical - especially at night. The staff were friendly and helpful. All in all a great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bullies65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#99 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel County Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Property: London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Address: Westminster Bridge Road | London County Hall, London SE1 7PB, England (Formerly Marriott London County Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Romantic Hotel in London
#230 Family Hotel in London
#243 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel County Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Painted with a signature backdrop, the historic London Marriott Hotel County Hall is in close proximity to our city's main attractions. With views of Big Ben, the banks of the River Thames and overlooked by the London Eye, landmarks are a short stroll away from our hotel's doors. Our hotel boasts distinctive venues that can accommodate for every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your London Marriott Hotel County Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London County Hall Hotel London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing