We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Ranked #156 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This was a birthday treat from my husband, and this hotel certainly gave the weekend a special something. The hotel staff were extremely pleasant, nothing appeared too much trouble. The room was well appointed, the bed large and very comfortable. We were asked if we wanted to upgrade to a river view, but given our limited time in London declined. However the room was on the east side of the building, with a partial view of the river and right by the side of the London Eye which we were very pleased with. The breaksfast was plentiful and the view from the restaurant window was of the River Thames. The hotel is within walking distance of a number of attractions and close to an extremely quaint tea room, which did a very nice lunch. The hike from the lifts to a number of rooms is considerable, but all in all a very, very nice hotel.

Room Tip: The further from the lift the longer the walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank exhaustedFareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,721 - 1,727 of 2,615 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

I stayed in this hotel for one night after a function in the centre of London. I chose it for its convenience to the function (which was on a boat on the river) and its views. I booked a river view room.
The room was an excellent size with extremely comfortable bed, linen etc (Ritz Carlton standard here). The views were excellent both at night and during the morning. The bedroom furniture was very dated and needs a re-furb. The TV is flat screen but too small for the room- I speculate that it was an expensive flat screen when it was installed but now appears pathetic.
The bar is in an excellent location overlooking the river with a great view of Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament (great when lit up at night).
Breakfast was very disappointing/poor. The room is poorly laid out and equipped and the selection of food was very poor compared to other less expensive Marriotts that I have stayed in. The toaster looked like it belonged in a domestic kitchen rather than a very large hotel. The plates for hot food were cold- there is no heater for keeping plates warm. The hot dishes were laid out in a rather makeshift manner in Le Creuset dishes (ice-age) on dining tables that had been moved to one side for the purpose. The continetal buffet is on a counter that is too high for children and people in wheel chairs (there was a lady in a wheel chair who clearly could not really access the cold buffet without help) and of inadequate selection anyway. Poor selection of breads, pastries, cereals, fresh fruit.
Staffing in the restaurant and bar while friendly was thin on the ground. I wonder what American visitors (who typically are used to being asked every 2 minutes if they would like more coffee or orange juice) felt when they could not spot a waiter/waitress for many minutes.
The public rooms all need a refurbishment. The entrance is tired- carpet needs replacing- the corridors are tired as well.

Room Tip: Book a river view room and keep the curtains open
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

You must try this Hotel!,so central for visiting London. Westminster Bridge, Houses of Parliament etc.

For a special treat have a steak in Gilray's Restaurant at the hotel, afternoon tea as also something else!!!! Well worth it.

A River Thames Cruise to Canary Wharf is also a must so much to seek from the River.

Must be a first for central London ....a super swimming pool helps relax your muscles after all your visits.
Following a Theatre visit and a meal near Soho it was back to our sumptuous room which overlooked the Thames and the London eye.

A real WOW of a breakfast, and it was a train journey home, what fantastic long weekend it was too!

Room Tip: Try for one that overlooks the Thames and the London eye there is so much going on to see!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franb941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

This was my first visit to London, and this was a great location for visiting London. It is on the River Thames, right at the Westminster Bridget. It is walking distance to Big Ben, Westminster Abby, the London Eye and Churchill's War Room. It is a large hotel, so ask for a room near the elevator if you don't want to do a lot of walking. The staff was very good, and the concierge was fantastic. My room was completely updated, and was a nice size for a London hotel. My only complaint is that there are no clock radios in the rooms. Maybe it's an American thing, but it was inconvenient. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for room close to elevator - it is a very large hotel and can be a very, very long walk from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WJ2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Booked in with friends and told them it was my 50th birthday stay. Rooms not ready until 4pm then friend given someone else's room - person in the shower at the time! I walked into my room and my friends clothes were there. They had lost my clothes and it took them an hour and a half to find them. When finally in my room it only had the mirror in the bathroom so maintenance brought me an extension lead, plugged in at the other side of the room, to plug my hair dryer in in the bathroom so that I could use that mirror - isnt that a health and safety issue? For my very special birthday I had a view of the plumbing and walls at the rear of the building. As a result I was half an hour late for a special meal where other friends and family were waiting. At first we were offered a 20% reduction but finally cleared the bill and apologised. Appalling!

Room Tip: A river view is better than that of plumbing and brick walls at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 224Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Stayed for 3 nights with my family during half term break in London. Im afraid its looking and feeling old and tired and in dire need of a complete refresh. In general the staff try hard and are very pleasant but I'm afraid they lack the professionalism needed for a 4/5 star hotel to compete in central London. The beds are still very comfortable but they need something else to spice it up and bring it up to date and back to life. Will stay over the road next time as much better vfm in my opinion

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Will-I-am_Wetherby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This was my third stay in this hotel and although there were a couple of hiccups the view from the room is worth it - the lit view of the Houses of Parliament and Westminster Bridge through the hotel room window at night is hard to beat.We have stayed once without a river view and although the hotel is lovely I feel it is the river views that make it so special.
It is a great location close to Waterloo giving you the freedom of tube travel as well as being close to buses and river transport links. Directly over Westminster Bridge is the Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey.Obviously right outside is the London Eye and the riverside walk past the Southbank Centre and onwards towards the Globe Theatre & Tower Bridge.
Apart from the location and river view, the hotel itself is a fairly typical Marriott although with the period features the old County Hall provides.
There is a pool and spa - although we didn't use these facilities the pool looked a good size. There are a number of lounges with various views - the Library was a very pleasant place to sit and chat while taking advantage of the complimentary tea and coffee. Breakfast was a very nice buffet style and although the choice wasn't as wide as some of the other Marriotts we've stayed in the quality and service were both good.
We had an evening meal in an italian restaurant just around the corner from the hotel called Locale on the Belvedere Road - really good value and really tasty food.
We had lots of plans but ended up spending a lot of time in the hotel room just looking at the view and chilling out in the bar - I'd recommend this for a sightseeing break or a romantic weekend.

Room Tip: If you can get an upgrade to a river view room it is definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laroche12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#116 of 1,076 in London
4,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel County Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Address: Westminster Bridge Road | Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7PB, England (Formerly Marriott London County Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#127 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Romantic Hotel in London
#230 Family Hotel in London
#243 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £206 - £509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel County Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Painted with a signature backdrop, the historic London Marriott Hotel County Hall offers proximity to our city's main attractions. With views of Big Ben, the banks of the River Thames and overlooked by the London Eye, landmarks are a short stroll away from the front doors of our hotel in London, England. Stay with us and hold your events here, as we feature distinctive venues that can accommodate every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your London Marriott Hotel County Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London County Hall Hotel London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing