We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing View and Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Ranked #163 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Clermont FL
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing View and Great Location”
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We spent our last evening in London here. It gave us great opportunity to experience this area of London. We were lucky enough to get a room with a view of the River Thames and Big Ben. We walked across the bridge to the Westminster Tube, very convenient. We did not dine at the hotel, the restaurants were a little out of our price range, but there is a variety of dining options close by. The concierge was kind enough to walk us through the hotel to a side street that opened onto the restaurant area. The hotel is historic and architecture is outstanding, marble and wood, large fireplaces and beautifuly flowers in the lobby areas. Of all the hotels we visited during this stay, this was the only one where I did not have to dry my hair at the desk. They had this little vanity area with mirror and hair dryer, loved it. The staff is knowledgeable and extremely helpful, the hotel is older but I thought everything was in very good condition. Room and furnishings were classic, clean and not worn. We would definitely stay here again if the opportunity would fit in our travel budget. This was an exceptional experience during our October visit to London.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackpearl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,353
    714
    276
    116
    72
See reviews for
852
793
83
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (683)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the location and the amazing view we had out the window of Big Ben, Westminister and the Thames. Its stunning and unbeatable. Personally I don't like hotels this big because I find them a bit impersonal, but it was a high standard and very comfortable. We did not eat in the hotel as we had other plans made. I stayed here in late 2009, not Dec 2011.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirofitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Having stayed here previously on a number of occasions we decided to book this hotel for a family treat for my daughter and grandchildren. At the time of arrival we were greeted to be told we had been upgraded only to find out it was infact the rooms we had already booked and what we expected ( 2 rooms with 2x doubles with a river view).On a positive note the hotel was extremely clean and excellent welcome from concierge and reception staff. However, the rooms we felt were very dated and tired no bedside table on one side of the bed, wardrobes not sliding ( were in fact broken) the beds were not comfortable and the air conditioning noisy. Not wanting to go on but these were just some of the issues. Now to breakfast ...an adjoining guest asked for some bacon as there was a problem with supplying a steady continuity of food ( this appeared to be a problem for the staff to keep this replenished) the staff member was unaware of the difference between sausage and bacon and pointed to the pan of sausages only to be told by the guest that it was bacon he would like not sausages! There was little choice of bread and we had to toast this ourselves amongst a queue of guests and beside a table of diners being jostled and knocked as other guests were accessing their food. Is this really a 5 star hotel? Could continue but don't want to be seen as completely negative but sure I will not be returning here despite being in such an excellent location. Needs a revamp in all areas! Just disappointing when it was a supposed to be a special treat!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This was a birthday treat from my husband, and this hotel certainly gave the weekend a special something. The hotel staff were extremely pleasant, nothing appeared too much trouble. The room was well appointed, the bed large and very comfortable. We were asked if we wanted to upgrade to a river view, but given our limited time in London declined. However the room was on the east side of the building, with a partial view of the river and right by the side of the London Eye which we were very pleased with. The breaksfast was plentiful and the view from the restaurant window was of the River Thames. The hotel is within walking distance of a number of attractions and close to an extremely quaint tea room, which did a very nice lunch. The hike from the lifts to a number of rooms is considerable, but all in all a very, very nice hotel.

Room Tip: The further from the lift the longer the walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exhaustedFareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I stayed in this hotel for one night after a function in the centre of London. I chose it for its convenience to the function (which was on a boat on the river) and its views. I booked a river view room.
The room was an excellent size with extremely comfortable bed, linen etc (Ritz Carlton standard here). The views were excellent both at night and during the morning. The bedroom furniture was very dated and needs a re-furb. The TV is flat screen but too small for the room- I speculate that it was an expensive flat screen when it was installed but now appears pathetic.
The bar is in an excellent location overlooking the river with a great view of Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament (great when lit up at night).
Breakfast was very disappointing/poor. The room is poorly laid out and equipped and the selection of food was very poor compared to other less expensive Marriotts that I have stayed in. The toaster looked like it belonged in a domestic kitchen rather than a very large hotel. The plates for hot food were cold- there is no heater for keeping plates warm. The hot dishes were laid out in a rather makeshift manner in Le Creuset dishes (ice-age) on dining tables that had been moved to one side for the purpose. The continetal buffet is on a counter that is too high for children and people in wheel chairs (there was a lady in a wheel chair who clearly could not really access the cold buffet without help) and of inadequate selection anyway. Poor selection of breads, pastries, cereals, fresh fruit.
Staffing in the restaurant and bar while friendly was thin on the ground. I wonder what American visitors (who typically are used to being asked every 2 minutes if they would like more coffee or orange juice) felt when they could not spot a waiter/waitress for many minutes.
The public rooms all need a refurbishment. The entrance is tired- carpet needs replacing- the corridors are tired as well.

Room Tip: Book a river view room and keep the curtains open
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

You must try this Hotel!,so central for visiting London. Westminster Bridge, Houses of Parliament etc.

For a special treat have a steak in Gilray's Restaurant at the hotel, afternoon tea as also something else!!!! Well worth it.

A River Thames Cruise to Canary Wharf is also a must so much to seek from the River.

Must be a first for central London ....a super swimming pool helps relax your muscles after all your visits.
Following a Theatre visit and a meal near Soho it was back to our sumptuous room which overlooked the Thames and the London eye.

A real WOW of a breakfast, and it was a train journey home, what fantastic long weekend it was too!

Room Tip: Try for one that overlooks the Thames and the London eye there is so much going on to see!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franb941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

This was my first visit to London, and this was a great location for visiting London. It is on the River Thames, right at the Westminster Bridget. It is walking distance to Big Ben, Westminster Abby, the London Eye and Churchill's War Room. It is a large hotel, so ask for a room near the elevator if you don't want to do a lot of walking. The staff was very good, and the concierge was fantastic. My room was completely updated, and was a nice size for a London hotel. My only complaint is that there are no clock radios in the rooms. Maybe it's an American thing, but it was inconvenient. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for room close to elevator - it is a very large hotel and can be a very, very long walk from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WJ2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#115 of 1,069 in London
4,639 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#52 of 1,069 in London
3,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel County Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Property: London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Address: Westminster Bridge Road | Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7PB, England (Formerly Marriott London County Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#131 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Romantic Hotel in London
#230 Family Hotel in London
#243 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel County Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Painted with a signature backdrop, the historic London Marriott Hotel County Hall offers proximity to our city's main attractions. With views of Big Ben, the banks of the River Thames and overlooked by the London Eye, landmarks are a short stroll away from the front doors of our hotel in London, England. Stay with us and hold your events here, as we feature distinctive venues that can accommodate every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Superbreak UK, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your London Marriott Hotel County Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London County Hall Hotel London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing