We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Ranked #223 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We booked a one night stay at the hotel for Saturday 14th December . We had visited London before and stayed normally at the Park Plaza County Hall Hotel which we have always enjoyed but wanted a change so tried the marriott.

The decor is what you would expect of a 5 Star hotel and felt relaxing as soon as walking in from the very busy Westminster Bridge. The reception staff were helpful and here we encountered our only negative points. Firstly we had booked a King Size bed but there were non available so had a room (342), with two doubles and we received no explanation why. Then secondly we had booked a package where the evening meal was included and when we asked if we needed to reserve a table yes was the answer and when the lady on reception phoned through we were given the times of 1700hrs or 2100 hrs (it was 1640 at the time), in fairness to her she managed to get us a sitting at 1900hrs but we felt this tarnished the first few moments.

The room itself no complaints lovely view of Westminster and the QE2 clock tower, beds were comfortable room was clean bright and enough room to allow one to move around. Bathroom well equipped and everything worked as it should. The decor was tasteful. The lifts corridors were also clean and bright and the staff were courteous.

The restaurant were we had our meal was again decorated nicely and is situated through the bar. Wine list is extensive and the food I had Porterhouse steak which was cooked to perfection but the starter of Yorkshire with melted cheese was delicious as never had this before. The waiting staff were very helpful and relaxed which made the dining experience very homely.

Overall from a short visit and the quick experience taking away the little issue that we had to start off would recommend a stay in this hotel is worth while. Would we choose here again or Park Plaza that at this stage is hard to call but the Park Plaza rates are more competitive but if your budget can be pushed it would be worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taking35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,208
    686
    266
    115
    69
See reviews for
789
736
78
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

we stayed here for 1 weeks for shopping and everything was perfect from the beginning to the end. the room was exactly as i have expected. Good location for visit and shopping in london.
We had room service almost every night as the service was really quick and the food very tasty.

really nice hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank santiago p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

This review is just for the spa at the Marriott County Hall.

This spa was very disappointing. The jacuzzi was out of order which was not mentioned when booking or just before entering the facilities. The guide who showed us around casually mentioned it had been out of service for 7 months so this obviously was not just a short-term temporary problem.

The swimming pool water was cloudy, a sign it hasn't been replaced and cleaned in a few days. The facilities were quite dated and could do with a revamp.

The gym looked newer and not very busy so perfect for anyone wanting a quiet workout. The views are nice of Big Ben and the London Eye.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noybwyltk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kobe, Japan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

I went to the hotel for afternoon tea. From our seat we could see Thames river, that day was not sunny so I cannot say " It was very nice view" however, if you go to the sunny day it will be great. The mood of the restaurant was very good, because we could listen to the nice relaxing music and the staff were polite. The cakes and sandwiches were nice, and also tea was great. If I have a chance I would like to go again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimiko d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucan, Ireland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

This is a level 9 Marriott, their top rating. That must be based on the location, which is spectacular, right next to the Eye, with views of Big Ben. The service at the reception desk was not welcoming, in fact it was cold. The food was average, and not as good as other Marriotts (e.g. Chicago's Magnificent Mile).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellengloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We had a delightful 4 night stay at the County Hall Marriott. Beautiful view from our 4th floor room of the Thames and Big Ben. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a great lunch one day in the restaurant and enjoyed the afternoon tea to celebrate our Thanksgiving in London. The tea is typically in the library, but was served in the restaurant due to a private event. It would have been nice if the hotel had communicated this prior to; as the ambiance is quite different in the library where it is typically held and the price per person is $52 US. Our room was very comfortable and clean; we enjoyed the Executive Lounge access for a snack or hot beverage when returning from sightseeing in the afternoon and the daily breakfast in the library was ample. Bus Tours right outside and quick access to the tube or a cab.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sindydc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
148 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I chose to stay at county hall on our visit to London, to go to the ballet and Xmas shopping.
As always, its so easy just to arrive by car, drive into the forecourt, and leave the car and baggage with the staff to organise.

We had a lovely room overlooking the river and Westminster, always immaculate and staff willing to help in every way.

We have stayed here many times now, and I've never had a bad experience, this is one of the few 5* hotels that live up to its grade in London, and would recommend it to anyone looking for a fantastically well located hotel in the heart of London.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bruce180852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#91 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel County Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Property: London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Address: Westminster Bridge Road | London County Hall, London SE1 7PB, England (Formerly Marriott London County Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#168 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Romantic Hotel in London
#230 Family Hotel in London
#243 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel County Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Painted with a signature backdrop, the historic London Marriott Hotel County Hall is in close proximity to our city's main attractions. With views of Big Ben, the banks of the River Thames and overlooked by the London Eye, landmarks are a short stroll away from our hotel's doors. Our hotel boasts distinctive venues that can accommodate for every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your London Marriott Hotel County Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London County Hall Hotel London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing