We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot, Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Ranked #178 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Montpelier, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Spot, Good Stay”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed three nights in mid-December, something of a last minute couples visit to London. The location is of course magnificent, putting you right on the river and across from the Houses of Parliament. We had a king room overlooking the river (though most of what we saw was the structure of the London Eye). Upon arrival, the staff was very welcoming, giving us personal attention and a glass of mulled wine to boot. Our room was better than your average Marriott room, with a very comfortable bed and a variety of amenities that I wouldn't expect from a Marriott in the States. The hotel has an odd layout; the lifts were not centrally located and we had quite a walk from them to our room. Beyond that, a false fire alarm woke us up early on a Saturday morning and as we were exploring a part of the hotel that we had been invited to explore a staff member followed us around and acted as if we were trespassers. Still, we're willing to look past those inconveniences to appreciate the positives of this historic property and the lovely memories that we have of it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,326
    707
    273
    116
    73
See reviews for
837
784
82
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (675)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We booked two rooms at the County Hall Marriott, and we're given adjoining and inward facing rooms as requested. The stay was excellent, the staff very helpful, the accommodation up to usual Marriott standards and the breakfast very well cooked. A delightful place to stay with the children

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Soutanglie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duren, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We were fortunate to stay here prior to Christmas and in a Big Ben Thames View room. Views were great and I think this really provided a wow factor to our room, especially during the evening.

Compared with other Marriott hotels the room was quite small, and I had been upgraded due to initial room selected and then the gold member card. It makes me wonder how a standard room would be.

The service on checkin was slick, and the valet parking and assistance with bags faultless. I didn't consider the £40.00 per night for parking too excessive and the car was kept at the front door which was convenient.

We stayed on a DBB rate and so were able to sample the dinner which was of a high standard. Breakfast was equally good both in the main dining room and the library (which doubled as a kind of executive lounge).

Overall very pleased with our stay as access to all major sites perfect and the standard of room and food good. If I am being critical I would only state that whilst the staff are friendly and accommodating, I felt not quite the level of care you may have received at others in the Marriott group. Perhaps it was the length of stay that provided this perception.

I would go back immediately if exploring central London, and it was a special occasion. I have stayed at the Premier Inn in the same locality "around the back of the building" and if it's no thrills your looking for without the views....

Room Tip: Big Ben Views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccozens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

What a classic elegant hotel. It was in the perfect location for anyone wanting to spend the New Years in London and experience the amazing fireworks. The front desk staff were decent, but where the hotel really shines is in their concierge desk and the staff in Gilray's restaurant. My husband and I spent the New Year holiday there and in advance requested for a booking for the New Year's Eve Gala in Gilrays. The staff corresponded via email and we were able to have friends join us for dinner at a great table with the best view of the London Eye and Big Ben. The Concierge was also so helpful in getting us last minute tickets to one of the shows and it was incredible! The only unfortunate thing is our room felt like it was in the bowels of the Titanic. My husband is a Platinum Elite and we were able to book the rooms with points so I'm not sure if that affected the type of room the hotel gave us since it was for free. We asked if there were any upgrades, but were told that nothing was available. The room was very nice and we had a great view, but it was quite a walk and really felt like we were in the dungeon, albeit an elegant one. Overall though, I would recommend the hotel because of its location which is just behind the London eye and across the bridge from Big Ben and there are two tube stations that are very close and if you want to spend New Years Eve in London this was the absolutely best location!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors and near to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The hard part of this review is knowing where to begin! The staff at this location is terrific, each and every member we encountered greeted us warmly and offered help. They were personable and helpful, going out of their way to make guests comfortable. Natalie and Jonathan are especially terrific, so very kind and thoughtful. Our suite had a post card view across the Thames, the location of this hotel is perfect for walking the city. Afternoon Tea was sumptuous, everything was delicious and the Library (overlooking the Thames) felt like a movie set. We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GOarmywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Great location next to the eye, Big Ben, and access to everything. Classic afternoon teas provided with a view of Big Ben, best at dusk. World class workout room and front desk / concierge service. A former government building, ask for a room near the elevators or you'll have a long walk!

Room Tip: Get a room near an elevator unless you like long walks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff_S_Bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

The 6 of us stayed at the London Marriott County Hall in April. We had adjoining rooms with a king & 2 queen beds. The Hotel is in a fantastic position but is very old & stuffy and even a bit spooky.
Two nights in a row we awoke to find a hotel staff member in our room (the same person both times). We spoke to the Manager on Duty, the Hotel Manager & eventually the London police. All of whom did nothing. We checked out early, concerned for our safety & belongings and still to this day have not had so much as an apology. We have always stayed in Marriotts worldwide and have never experienced service like this. I DO NOT recommend to stay here!

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank LoveVacays11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,068 in London
3,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel County Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Property: London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Address: Westminster Bridge Road | London County Hall, London SE1 7PB, England (Formerly Marriott London County Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#141 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Romantic Hotel in London
#230 Family Hotel in London
#243 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel County Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Painted with a signature backdrop, the historic London Marriott Hotel County Hall offers proximity to our city's main attractions. With views of Big Ben, the banks of the River Thames and overlooked by the London Eye, landmarks are a short stroll away from the front doors of our hotel in London, England. Stay with us and hold your events here, as we feature distinctive venues that can accommodate every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Superbreak UK, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your London Marriott Hotel County Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London County Hall Hotel London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing