We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Ranked #222 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Very nice hotel with very large rooms. Fitness center well above average. Executive lounge has great daily sorted. Location is perfect, next to he Eye and across the river from parliament. Great place if can get a decent rate.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,206
    686
    266
    115
    69
See reviews for
788
735
78
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

My partner and I have just recently spent a weekend in London and stayed at this hotel. It is an impressive hotel. The room that we go had a nice view, but sadly, not Big Ben and Houses of Parliament, we did get London Eye though. For London, it was a very spacious room.

The room was very clean and the pressure of the water was most impressive, keeping in mind this is an old building.

We do have access to the Executive Lounge - it was a bit of a let down; the nibbles were nice enough, though sparse. The breakfast was ok, the scrambled eggs were very nice and so were the sausages, but the offer of meats and cheeses was limited.

The biggest let down of the whole affair was SOME of the staff - while most were pleasant and attentive, there does appear to be a number of staff at this hotel that seems to think that they are entitled to "look down" and be patronizing to guests. It came to some surprise by the gentleman in reception that indeed 2 men, in the 21st Century in London would be sharing one bed. We have been to far less cosmopolitan places and this has never occurred before! It also was rather peculiar to notice that the valet and some of his chums did appear to have a habit to judge the guests rather thoroughly (with their eyes) as guests came in and out. I have used many Marriott hotels in the past years and never I have felt judged - I cannot say the same about this specific one. While it did really not bother me, I find it peculiar that some people are so quick to judge others by what they were wearing - which by the way, was just smart casual clothing anyway - maybe not the right brand for some staff members at this establishment.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geopt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Placed at best London right next to London Eye , Big Ben ,Houses of Parliament and Westminster Abbey. Ideal for international tourists who want to see the best London has to offer.
The hospitality os superb and food is delicious. It offers a very cozy and ambient atmosphere besides relaxing spa,swimming pool and large fully equipped gymnasium. One can dine in watching river cruises on Thames sitting next to window in Gillray's restaurant.
Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AjayBadhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
410 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Few places in the World allow you the comfort, location, quality and service like County Hall Marriott. You are within walking distance to many of London's finest sights. The Hotel is secure, peaceful, and memorable.

Walk outside to The London Eye, Big Ben, The London Dungeon, Westminster Abbey, Churchill War Museum, Buckingham Palace, and more. You can do all that knowing you have a hotel room nearby should you need to relax for awhile, or just call it a day.

The Concierge staff it superb, they will arrange to have you picked up at the airport for around the same price as a taxi.

This is truly a beautiful experience, and I just hope your family, loved ones, business associates enjoy!

Room Tip: Bring your walking shoes, you will enjoy the sights, outside the doors of this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerrycoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Although the hotel is quite old, it is very well maintained and clean. The location could not be better for a touristic visit: directly in front of the London Eye (could almost reach it from the window), Big Ben, etc. The staff was amazing, especially Justina (breakfast) and Pawel (night concierge) were very helpful, exceeding their work obligations.

Room Tip: Rooms with London eye view are really worth it: you will be overooking Big Ben & the London eye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PerpetuumM0bile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north shields
Level Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

booked this hotel for 2 nights 2 x rooms not worth the price this should be a 3 star hotel and i would be happy with it but when booking 4 star i would expect it to be that little bit better. breakfast was very poor at 9am all they had left was scraps and it was cold would not stay there again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharp66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel County Hall, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay here at the London Marriott County Hall. It is regrettable that your expectations were not met and would like to sincerely apologise for the poor breakfast you and your family experienced. At Marriott we are proud to deliver a brilliant hosting culture, for which I hope you will reconsider returning to the hotel on a future occasion, allowing us to demonstrate a true memorable experience.

Kind regards,
Theresa Maw, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

I am so glad we splurged on this hotel in London! I had a reservation at a lower priced hotel 15 minutes away, but my husband was staying here on business and my kids (7 and 5) and myself were meeting him for 3 nights. After he sent pictures of the spacious room and said the location was excellent, I cancelled the other reservation. The hotel room was comparable to those in the US, and also had 2 double beds, which is rare in London as well as a sitting area, which was great for eating in the room.

The location was superb- we could walk to the major sites and South Bank has plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. We could walk over the bridge to the Tube as well as to Trafalgar Square to hop on our bus tour. The kids loved seeing all of the sights from the hotel and watching the London Eye and boats on the Thames. And if you have a River Cruise as part of your tour, the Westminster Pier is literally across from the hotel.

The hotel pool was a plus for the kids!

We only ordered room service one night which was good; we did have tea and hot chocolate early evening at the hotel bar overlooking Big Ben and the Thames! Gorgeous views! We saved on breakfast by buying baked goods at a nearby Tesco supermarket and bringing back to hotel.

Highly recommend this hotel - it's pricey, but worth it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AROD1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#91 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel County Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Property: London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Address: Westminster Bridge Road | London County Hall, London SE1 7PB, England (Formerly Marriott London County Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#167 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Romantic Hotel in London
#230 Family Hotel in London
#243 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel County Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Painted with a signature backdrop, the historic London Marriott Hotel County Hall is in close proximity to our city's main attractions. With views of Big Ben, the banks of the River Thames and overlooked by the London Eye, landmarks are a short stroll away from our hotel's doors. Our hotel boasts distinctive venues that can accommodate for every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your London Marriott Hotel County Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London County Hall Hotel London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing