We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Location in Central London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Ranked #158 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This large hotel complex is located at the end of Westminster Bridge and diagonally across from the Houses of Parliament and Big Ben. It is only meters from London's Eye attraction and as such is ideally located, only a few minutes walk from Waterloo Station. It was originally the home for London's governing Council with its offices now turned into hotel rooms. The hotel is very grand with large rooms, high ceilings and wide corridors. The location is incomparable with its views over the Thames towards Westminster Abbey and the Houses of Parliament.
Staff are friendly and efficient and room sizes generous. Our bed and pillows were excellent ensuring a good sleep but for excessive noise in the corridor and banging of various doors. Whilst the walls and thick and the windows double-glazed the internal hotel noises are not in keeping with the quality of the hotel. The view from our room, overlooking the Thames, made up somewhat for the internal noises. Coffee and tea facilities are available but limited in amount, you are rationed in your allocated amount with little room for 2nd cups and the top-up supply we found to be variable. The bathroom is of generous size with very nice toiletries. The bar fridge is one of those that registers stock if you lift any components so be wary less you are charged inadvertently. Internet (wireless) is available but very costly, something annoying given the cost of the rooms in this prestigious hotel. In this day and age free wireless Internet should be available.
Overall, costly, but a fine experience and it's convenient location makes up for some of the shortcomings.

Room Tip: Try to obtain a view of Big Ben and Westminster Bridge, some rooms, given the curvature of the compl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilthetravellerXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,366 - 1,372 of 2,659 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

The concierge were very helpful. Christina, the breakfast concierge was outstanding. She remembered us from morning to morning, even brought us double cream for our coffee.
We had excellent suggestions for fish and chips and an Indian restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adelawb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed at the County Hall Marriott the last week of March, and found it to be very nice. We loved the breakfast in the Gilray room. The Gilray bar was fantastic with the best service and bartenders! We had afternoon tea in the Library Room, with a great view... highly recommend. If you couldn't leave the hotel for any reason, you would still have a great stay in London. The service was great, top notch. When you called to the front desk for something, it was sent up right away. The hotel is also a great location to just about everything, just a quick jaunt across the bridge and everything is right there! The room itself was lovely. We upgraded to the river/Big Ben view, and it was quite nice. Although the windows are smaller, so really you had to be standing right at the window looking to the left to see the view of Big Ben, so not sure that I would recommend the cost of upgrading to anyone. The only downfall of the hotel (which isn't a downfall at all) is that the hallways are the longest in the WORLD! Our room was at the very end of the hallway and it took 2 mins walk to get to it (we timed it!). So don't forget anything in your room (which I, of course, did).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marian60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Having just returned from a 5 day visit to London, I had to write a review of the Marriott London County Hall. The hotel is located in an amazing location situated right outside entrance to the London Eye and just on the other side of the bridge from Big Ben and House of Parliament. Our room (334 and 335) had the most amazing views of both. In addition to the amazing location and room, the staff of the hotel are amazing as well (kudos to the management!). The trip started on a slightly bumpy note with a call from the management the day before our visit to inform us that they had double booked our suite and therefore would need to make other arrangements for us at the hotel. While I was initially unhappy, the hotel went above and beyond to compensate for the double booking and more than redeemed themselves for the error. Again, staff upon arrival were amazing and attentive and remained so for the entire trip. The hotel lounge with it's amazing variety of gin was the icing on the cake for me. Situated on the Thames, the ambience in the lounge was perfect. Very rarely does one get to go away and have a flawless experience. Thank you Marriott County Hall for an AMAZING visit to London. Cheers!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a river view room. You will pay more but it is so well worth it. We ended up ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

........ in a perfect location. The staff, without exception were brilliant, friendly and providing first class service. The hotel is stunning and the rooms comfortable and clean and have great views, but we did have one disappointment. We visited the hotel to celebrate our anniversary and everything went according to plan, even the weather, until we went for our swim, sauna and Jacuzzi - what a disaster that was. The pool was freezing and on a different floor level to the saunas, so not only do you have to move between levels (the gents is on an even higher floor), the men and ladies have to use separate saunas - very romantic - NOT!!. The Jacuzzis in both changing rooms weren't working either, so our leisurely afternoon lasted less than 10 minutes. I checked all literature boasting about the leisure centre and nowhere does it mention separate facilities. Great arrangement for all types of diverse reasons but terrible for a romantic break.
The bar and restaurant are great though.

Room Tip: Choose a riverside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The hotel is perfectly located for tourists. London Eye is right next to it and Big Ben and Parliament are right across the river Thames. The main entrance is located at the end of a small courtyard diminishing the level of noise coming from the street. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Every recommendation provided by the concierge was very helpful and on-point. The restaurant located in the hotel was very good as well.

Room Tip: Ask for the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miamian2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed here while celebrating my husbands 50th ... We were upgraded to a fantastic room with the most fabulous view looking over the Thames with big ben smiling and the london eye . We were welcomed with a cake and champagne . Such a special weekend..a quick swim in the pool then Drinks in the elegant bar watching london at night! The staff were lovely and breakfast just as you would expect! Location perfect for sightseeing and of course .. Shopping. Thankyou Marriott County Hall .

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel County Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Address: Westminster Bridge Road | Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7PB, England (Formerly Marriott London County Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#124 Luxury Hotel in London
#131 Family Hotel in London
#206 Romantic Hotel in London
#243 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £203 - £516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel County Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Painted with a signature backdrop, the historic London Marriott Hotel County Hall offers proximity to our city's main attractions. With views of Big Ben, the banks of the River Thames and overlooked by the London Eye, landmarks are a short stroll away from the front doors of our hotel in London, England. Stay with us and hold your events here, as we feature distinctive venues that can accommodate every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your London Marriott Hotel County Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London County Hall Hotel London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing