We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand hotel with great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Ranked #151 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Location is one of its strongest points. Although, it has more to its sleeve than just the location. First let's review the location: the hotel is located in the midst of most of the attraction that London has to offer. My view offered stunning panorama of the River Thames and Big Ben. The London Eye is also located on the hotel's doorstep. Across the bridge near Big Ben is Westminster Abbey. A few blocks of walking then you'll be in Trafalgar Square with Buckingham Palace a short walk. The location also offers numerous restaurants in the area including a ramen place *gasp* in one of the County Halls nooks and crannies. And did I mention that it is walking distance from this big train station that my uncultured memory has come to escape its name.

The architecture is quintessentially London. One of the most definitive places to stay in London in a great location at which a Burberry sales associate commented "Oh that is a very nice area." I will definitely be back here as my hotel of choice when staying in London.

Room Tip: You will not regret booking a Thames River view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aldendoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,449 - 1,455 of 2,758 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

yes, it's a big aged as a building but the staff does a nice job of keeping it clean and operating nicely. it's located on the Thames and right across from Westminster station. Our room was a river view and Big Ben across the river. Nice executive lounge w/ a decent breakfast offering and then complimentary beer and treats in the late afternoon. the staff was exceptional and extremely helpful as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Dined here with friends at lunch-time. Quality of food and presentation very good, and service absolutely top class. Very professional, unobtrusive, well dressed, and polite staff. The only downside - hence my allocation of 4 stars instead of 5, concerns the price of drinks, for which you need a bank loan to fund. £4.00 for a glass of orange-juice; £3.50 for a small tonic water, and £11.50 for a gin and tonic, are on the high side, even taking into account the quality of the furnishings and number of serving staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

The historic building of County Hall is stunning and the loction amongst the best you can get in London with amazing views over the Thames.
However the hotel rooms are aged and not up to standard any more for this price class.
The Pool and Sauna area is large but also aged and can not compete with standards in this price class any more. A makeover is overdue!
Another minus for the pool: it is completely over chlorinated. Breathing in the pool room is hardly possible...
Another disappointment was the afternoon tea. Served in the beautiful library with amazing views I was really looking forward to this experience. Just to be turned away at the entrance as I had no reservation.... So hotel guest have NO preference over outside guests. No effort by the staff was made to get me a table at a later time. Very dissappointing.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Joika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel County Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your constructive review and I am glad you enjoyed our fantastic location.

There is no valid explanation for the lack of attentiveness or indeed the levels of chlorine in our pool, which are checked continuously. Our sincere apologies for these.

The hotel enhancements and revamp are at the forefront of our attention and we are committed to deliver the plans we have in progress.

In the meantime, we will continue to heighten our focus to exceed our guest’s expectations.

Kind regards,
T Maw, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Fabulous stay in a studio suite with a balcony overlooking Big Ben and the London Eye .. Probably the best view from a hotel on earth !

Great steak in Gillrays restaurant and fabulous staff

My favourite hotel, restaurant and a bar

Thanks guys !

Room Tip: It's a big hotel so close to the lifts is a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart_T_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed here last night , in a " standard room"
Certainly not the cheapest , but flawless service from valet parking to check out
Room was lovely and spacious
Dinner was excellent , all staff attentive and friendly
We will be back

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilsor01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed here numerous times over the years. Always in a suite on the 6th floor.Everything that has been mentioned in reviews both good and bad are fairly accurate. But I would like to point out to everyone that uses this hotel that there are SECURITY ISSUES. On Saturday 5th April @approx 8am IN THE MORNING I was on the balcony having a drink and admiring the wonderful view when all of a sudden my wife shouted for me. Apon arriving back into the suite I found my wife in a very distressed state. Once she calmed down she explained to me that on getting out of bed and walking towards the bathroom (she didn't have much on!!!) the front door to the suite opened and a member of staff was about to walk in. NO KNOCK!!! Seeing this my wife screeched at them and they hastily made their exit. Once I got it out of her I naturally went outside to the corridor to remonstrate with the individual but alas no-one in site.
By this time I was bubbling and went straight down to reception to speak to someone. As usual I spoke with a very nice American Lady who as usual told me they would investigate and get back to me. The one point I would like to STRESS to everyone that reads this is simple-;
I paid a hell of a lot of money for my stay in this hotel and choose a suite for its PRIVACY!! Not much to ask is it??? Are you telling me that THE MARRIOTT GROUP have not got systems in place to see who's check-out or not??? So if they have then why do staff just take it apon themselves to go into rooms unannounced . Maybe for other reasons??????
Needless to say I won't be staying at this hotel again and will now use another hotel when in the capital. It will be interesting to see if I get a reply from their GUEST RELATIONS DEPT!!!!
You have been warned.

Room Tip: Obviously try and ask for a river-view room. May charge you more but it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel County Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear JohnD,

Your review is extremely important and I thank you for your views, which we take most seriously. I was greatly dissapointed to learn that your concern was not responded in a more timely manner.

We have a full and thorough investigation report and statement from the lady maid who attempted to enter your room.

I would very much appreciate the opportunity to communicating to you personally, so that we can address every point you raised.

Kind regards,
T Maw,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel County Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Address: Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7PB, England (Formerly Marriott London County Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#122 Luxury Hotel in London
#131 Family Hotel in London
#205 Romantic Hotel in London
#241 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £216 - £511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel County Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Painted with a signature backdrop, the historic London Marriott Hotel County Hall offers proximity to our city's main attractions. With views of Big Ben, the banks of the River Thames and overlooked by the London Eye, landmarks are a short stroll away from the front doors of our hotel in London, England. Stay with us and hold your events here, as we feature distinctive venues that can accommodate every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your London Marriott Hotel County Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London County Hall Hotel London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing