We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Ranked #157 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A stunning hotel, in a brilliant location. We stayed for two nights in the big ben suite and had a really lovely weekend. Breakfast was the best Ive had, such a huge choice and the staff were always willing to go that extra mile. The executive lounge was brilliant, lovely wine, various food each evening.
Honestly cannot fault this hotel (apart from minibar prices in the room)

Room Tip: The big ben suite looked out over the thames. We had an excellent view of the river, big ben, houses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honestinjun015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,338 - 1,344 of 2,639 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

We booked this hotel because of its location, and we were not disappointed. The Marriott is located just over the Westminster Bridge on the South Bank. Two underground stations are only a short walk away (Westminster and Waterloo). The London Eye, the London Dungeon and the Aquarium are right there so the area is always bustling with activity. However you enter the hotel from Westminster Bridge Road into a quiet courtyard which seems far away from the crowds. Our room was quite large, very clean with two comfortable queen beds and a large bathroom. We were on the fourth floor and had a view of the London Eye, the Thames and Jubilee Park. Even with all the activity below, our room was very quiet since the windows are double glazed. Other rooms face Big Ben and Parliament, and that view, especially at night, is quite spectacular. One great bonus for us was the American electrical outlets. The public rooms are clean and well maintained. I cannot say enough good things about the staff. They are professional, courteous and extremely helpful. We also felt very safe in and around the hotel. Our London stay was wonderful in every respect. We would not hesitate to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellover5717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A friend and I went to the Spa at the Marriott for a day spa. The treatments that we had were excellent, and the beauty therapists were lovely. However the rest of the spa facilities are not great. There is no whirlpool or jacuzzi, which at a day spa isn't really good enough (there used to be a whirlpool but no longer in use). There is nowhere to get any food or drink other than water (the only option is to get dressed and go to the hotel restaurant) which again isn't really acceptable for a whole day spa. We ended up leaving at 1pm to get lunch on the Southbank and never went back. Gym was good. Signage is awful (got lost on a number of occasions). Clearly a spa/fitness centre set up for a hotel - would be good for this, but not sure they should be offering day packages as really not up to scratch for a whole day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maryg80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloKUK1, Manager at London Marriott Hotel County Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Mary,

We value your comments and would like to thank you for your great review of the Spa treatments and beauty therapists during your visit. Food and drinks in our hotel facilities offer a variety of menus with friendly service and a fantastic view of the river Thames. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Marriott County Hall’s iconic building.

With kindest regards,

J Bernardi, Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Anyone reading this knows about the location and the Thames view rooms, but you don't really understand how wonderful that is until you've actually experienced it as I am right now. It makes you feel you're not wasting a bit of R&R in the room when you can watch London unfolding right in front of you. The staff has all been wonderful,, going out of their way to recognize our special anniversary. The food & beverage offerings in the executive lounge and library for breakfast are varied & tasty, gratis for Gold/Platinum members. So you have to walk a bit to the lifts-it's a drop in the bucket compared to the walking you'll be able to do to the sites that are so close by.

Room Tip: High floor Thames view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaEncinitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel County Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear L Encinitas,

My sincere thanks for your great review of the London Marriott County Hall. It is greatly appreciated to learn that we fulfiled your expectations and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best wishes
T Maw, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great location great view of the river thames, big ben and the london eye. Set in a very historic building with a grand entrance but thats where the good points of these hotel sadly ends.

The rooms are average at best with electrical sockets hanging of the wall. Bits of the bathroom are missing. In the corridors spotlights are hanging of the sockets with wires showing. The main thing that went wrong with this stay was that we got delivered an easter egg with the name SUSAN writen on it and neither of us are called susan. We thought this was an easter gift from the hotel but was obviously meant for someone else. We did return the egg to reception but didnt hear anymore or get a replacement gift?????

In short great location and great views but its not worth being one of marriot's category 9 hotel which is 5 star in london.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Abby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel County Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear AbbyT,

Thank you for your review and our sincerest apologies for the concerns you encountered. We have investigated with our director of Engineering and immediately corrected any faults.

We hope to be able to contact you directly to assure you of our commitment to maintain and indeed improve our usual high Marriott standards.
Kind regards, T Maw, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Location is one of its strongest points. Although, it has more to its sleeve than just the location. First let's review the location: the hotel is located in the midst of most of the attraction that London has to offer. My view offered stunning panorama of the River Thames and Big Ben. The London Eye is also located on the hotel's doorstep. Across the bridge near Big Ben is Westminster Abbey. A few blocks of walking then you'll be in Trafalgar Square with Buckingham Palace a short walk. The location also offers numerous restaurants in the area including a ramen place *gasp* in one of the County Halls nooks and crannies. And did I mention that it is walking distance from this big train station that my uncultured memory has come to escape its name.

The architecture is quintessentially London. One of the most definitive places to stay in London in a great location at which a Burberry sales associate commented "Oh that is a very nice area." I will definitely be back here as my hotel of choice when staying in London.

Room Tip: You will not regret booking a Thames River view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aldendoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

yes, it's a big aged as a building but the staff does a nice job of keeping it clean and operating nicely. it's located on the Thames and right across from Westminster station. Our room was a river view and Big Ben across the river. Nice executive lounge w/ a decent breakfast offering and then complimentary beer and treats in the late afternoon. the staff was exceptional and extremely helpful as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel County Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Address: Westminster Bridge Road | Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7PB, England (Formerly Marriott London County Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#124 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Romantic Hotel in London
#230 Family Hotel in London
#243 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £207 - £509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel County Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Painted with a signature backdrop, the historic London Marriott Hotel County Hall offers proximity to our city's main attractions. With views of Big Ben, the banks of the River Thames and overlooked by the London Eye, landmarks are a short stroll away from the front doors of our hotel in London, England. Stay with us and hold your events here, as we feature distinctive venues that can accommodate every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your London Marriott Hotel County Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London County Hall Hotel London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing