We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position, brilliant view, superb staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Ranked #158 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Booked in the family (Mom, Dad, + 6 and 5 year olds) on the 15/16 April, and found the room to be spacious, spotless and superb! Top floor overlooking the river, with Big Ben and the Palace of Westminster across the water, plus the London Eye right outside the room - the kids were spellbound - which is just what I wanted.
We arrived by train from Waterloo and walked up Jubilee Gardens (great view of the Eye that way) and then negotiated the crowds and bustle by the river until you arrive at the peace and quiet of reception.
I must mention the front of house staff (in particular Jess - what a star!) who were without fail courteous and engaging without being over the top. Everyone we met was helpful and attentive, a real credit to the company.
It can be a long walk from the lift to the rooms as some reviewers have mentioned, but really, for us this was not a problem and frankly the view is entirely worth it.
The pool is lovely, a decent size and spotlessly clean. My only gripe is that it was pretty cold and the kids and I found this a bit limiting. Also the bubble pools in the changing rooms have been out of order for a long time and that was a shame, but this is really only a minor irritation.
Overall, a fabulous and memorable stay for all the right reasons. Thank you!

Room Tip: sixth floor rooms have lovely, compact balconies with London Eye right outside, we didn't have a...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ade F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,592)
There are newer reviews for London Marriott Hotel County Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,291 - 1,297 of 2,592 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I had a wonderful stay with my wife in London at the Marriott County Hall. The staff at the hotel were most kind, helpful and professional at all times with a focus on providing exceptional customer service. The Marriott is well-located for those who enjoy walking to see and explore this great city. We enjoyed a relaxing and very nice breakfast each morning overlooking the river before setting off on our daily adventure. We enjoyed the special attention we received during our stay and plan to return to the Marriott County Hall on our next trip to London.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank paulr12342015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at this Marriot for 5 nights. My husband and I are walkers, so this location was perfect. A quick walk over the Westminster Bridge, and Westminster Abbey was in full view. Stay the course on the South Bank, and you can either cross the Jubilee Bridge to a delightful handful of pubs, or continue on the South Bank and you can walk right to the Globe Theatre and on to the Marketplace. We are in our 60s, and always felt safe walking, even late at night, to the pubs.
Our room was very comfortable, with a lovely sitting area. We could look out our window and almost touch the London Eye.The hotel had their executive breakfast lounge in the library. The evening beer and wine bar with appetizers was upstairs. Both offered a wonderful variety of food.
Perfect location for all sights.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandemuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Great location right in front of all main landmarks of the city, the usual great service that Marriott is known for. Only put off is that the have only one restaurant, which is good, but would have like a little more variety, since on my first night the restaurant was closed for a private event and the food offering at the library was very scarce.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RolandoAlfonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A stunning hotel, in a brilliant location. We stayed for two nights in the big ben suite and had a really lovely weekend. Breakfast was the best Ive had, such a huge choice and the staff were always willing to go that extra mile. The executive lounge was brilliant, lovely wine, various food each evening.
Honestly cannot fault this hotel (apart from minibar prices in the room)

Room Tip: The big ben suite looked out over the thames. We had an excellent view of the river, big ben, houses...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honestinjun015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We booked this hotel because of its location, and we were not disappointed. The Marriott is located just over the Westminster Bridge on the South Bank. Two underground stations are only a short walk away (Westminster and Waterloo). The London Eye, the London Dungeon and the Aquarium are right there so the area is always bustling with activity. However you enter the hotel from Westminster Bridge Road into a quiet courtyard which seems far away from the crowds. Our room was quite large, very clean with two comfortable queen beds and a large bathroom. We were on the fourth floor and had a view of the London Eye, the Thames and Jubilee Park. Even with all the activity below, our room was very quiet since the windows are double glazed. Other rooms face Big Ben and Parliament, and that view, especially at night, is quite spectacular. One great bonus for us was the American electrical outlets. The public rooms are clean and well maintained. I cannot say enough good things about the staff. They are professional, courteous and extremely helpful. We also felt very safe in and around the hotel. Our London stay was wonderful in every respect. We would not hesitate to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellover5717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A friend and I went to the Spa at the Marriott for a day spa. The treatments that we had were excellent, and the beauty therapists were lovely. However the rest of the spa facilities are not great. There is no whirlpool or jacuzzi, which at a day spa isn't really good enough (there used to be a whirlpool but no longer in use). There is nowhere to get any food or drink other than water (the only option is to get dressed and go to the hotel restaurant) which again isn't really acceptable for a whole day spa. We ended up leaving at 1pm to get lunch on the Southbank and never went back. Gym was good. Signage is awful (got lost on a number of occasions). Clearly a spa/fitness centre set up for a hotel - would be good for this, but not sure they should be offering day packages as really not up to scratch for a whole day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maryg80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloKUK1, Manager at London Marriott Hotel County Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Mary,

We value your comments and would like to thank you for your great review of the Spa treatments and beauty therapists during your visit. Food and drinks in our hotel facilities offer a variety of menus with friendly service and a fantastic view of the river Thames. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Marriott County Hall’s iconic building.

With kindest regards,

J Bernardi, Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#114 of 1,072 in London
4,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel County Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Address: Westminster Bridge Road | Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7PB, England (Formerly Marriott London County Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Romantic Hotel in London
#230 Family Hotel in London
#243 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £223 - £532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel County Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Painted with a signature backdrop, the historic London Marriott Hotel County Hall offers proximity to our city's main attractions. With views of Big Ben, the banks of the River Thames and overlooked by the London Eye, landmarks are a short stroll away from the front doors of our hotel in London, England. Stay with us and hold your events here, as we feature distinctive venues that can accommodate every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Expedia, Marriott, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your London Marriott Hotel County Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London County Hall Hotel London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing