We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old & Garcious -Good Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Ranked #155 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This hotel has a great location off Westminster Bridge. It is old and has retained its historical roots. The rooms are large but average quality but th3e staff are very friendly and willing to help.
The Executive Lounge is small and the food just OK but done with a smile. A good hotel in London

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking The Eye and the Thames
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,581)
There are newer reviews for London Marriott Hotel County Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,273 - 1,279 of 2,582 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

We booked the Marriott as the hotels we usually use were fully booked. The entrance and buildings are impressive. The staff were helpful and the room clean and well appointed. We had booked a triple room with two doubles . Unfortunately they only had a room with a single kingsized bed despite knowing there were 3 of us with a sixteen year old child but they did offer to put in a fold up bed. This was in place when we got back late but with no bedding other than a blanket. The biggest issue was the ageing window howled and whistled in the wind all night . It was windy but the noise was surprisingly loud and distracting. Unfortunately didn't get an opportunity to try any of the facilities or restaurant.

Room Tip: River view rooms may only mean a glimpse at an angle and the presumably listed nature of the buildin...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel County Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Jonathan,

Thank you kindly for your review and comments with regards to our helpful staff. We regret sincerely that the room type allocated was not to your initial request and apologise for the concerns you encountered, which I have now instructed to be corrected immediately.

I hope we may have the pleasure to demonstrate a true Marriott experience on your next stay with us.

With kindest regards,
T Maw, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The property is about a 3-star in my book; but the location is so good that is compensates. Hotel is within easy walking distance of almost half o the major attractions I was hoping to share with my guests. The food is good and staff are helpful. I would certainly stay again!

Room Tip: River view is worth it.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BienVago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We have learned on our trip to London that the Brits use the word Brilliant to describe something truly excellent. The Marriott London County Hall deserves to be described as brilliant in every way.

Located in a massive, old building, the hotel beautiful and beautifully kept. It is exceptionally clean and we found it well maintained (the carpet in the lifts (elevators) was a bit worn, but it gets a lot of traffic). Understand that this is an old building.....and massive. It holds an aquarium, offices for the London Eye, several restaurants, another hotel, and more. There are several steps to enter the hotel (I am not sure if they have a lift for the handicapped) and the decor is in keeping with the original building.

I could be knit-picky and tell you all of the minor complaints. Our room was a very long walk from the elevator (just because of the size of the building). Since it is an old building, the plumbing is older (but works quite well for an older building). However, any small inconveniences are overtaken by the property overall and mostly the OUTSTANDING staff.

Our room was an Executive "suite" (two rooms) with a decent view of the London Eye and north. The room was beautifully decorated, excessively clean, and QUIET. Just what you would hope for in a Marriott.

Since I am a Lifetime Platinum member, we were served a lovely (another English word!!) breakfast every morning in the Library, and all day drinks and snacks in the Executive Lounge. The staff in both were fantastic (a hallmark of this hotel).

I read another review on TripAdvisor from a reviewer that said he was a Platinum member,felt that this hotel was not up to Marriott's standards, and didn't believe it deserved its rating by the Marriott chain. Of course, I can't know what caused his experience, but ours was totally different. I have stayed in Marriotts all over the U.S. and internationally, and this was one of the best I have experienced.

Now to the staff. One of the best, if not THE best, I have ever experienced in ANY hotel. When we arrived (early in the day) our room wasn't quite ready. The young lady at the front desk made sure we were comfortable in the Executive Lounge and then personally delivered our room key when our room was ready a short time later.....and the service just kept getting better from there. Excellent concierge staff. They made great suggestions and made sure we were able to see everything we wanted to see....they didn't try to just send us to the most popular places but were interested in what WE wanted to see. The front door and bell staff were very friendly and attentive. Obviously, the management of this hotel is doing a GREAT job.

We would definitely return to this hotel on a future trip to London. I could go on and on, but if you are looking for a great hotel, fantastic staff, great location in London, this is it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

A hotell with great service and location, we had a view over Big Ben and London Eye from our room. The only downside was that one of the beds where a bit hard and one of the mornings there where almost no hot water in the shower, I guess many people where showering at the same time at the hotell. But overall a great stay. Try the coktail Hanky-Panky in the bar, its great.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Had 2 nights in this lovely hotel..the staff are great very helpful and polite nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in a suite with a balcony overlooking the Thames and the London eye it was magical.
The room was spotless and well stocked the swimming pool and gym were very nice ... Brilliant location ... Wonderful food all in all can't fault it.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank cayenne1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights - 5 & 6 April 2014. While the view from the window was spectacular, the room itself left much to be desired. We had requested a King bed but were given 2 Double/ Queen beds. This made the room seem very small with not much room to move around. The shower did not work but was fixed after we complained. The airconditioning was rather noisy. We visited the swimming pool which was rather cool and didn't feel like it was heated at all. My key card did not work on the second day and had to be replaced twice. Overall a very disappointing and overpriced experience!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank DDAASouthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel County Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your kind feedback and I am pleased to read you enjoyed the spectacular location and view here at the London Marriott County Hall, though saddened to learn of your experience with your room and the pool temperature, which is controlled daily. We hope we may have the opportunity to demonstrate to you our usual brilliant Marriott experience upon your return.

With kindest regards,
Theresa Maw, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#115 of 1,072 in London
4,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel County Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Address: Westminster Bridge Road | Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7PB, England (Formerly Marriott London County Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#127 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Romantic Hotel in London
#230 Family Hotel in London
#243 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £222 - £518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel County Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Painted with a signature backdrop, the historic London Marriott Hotel County Hall offers proximity to our city's main attractions. With views of Big Ben, the banks of the River Thames and overlooked by the London Eye, landmarks are a short stroll away from the front doors of our hotel in London, England. Stay with us and hold your events here, as we feature distinctive venues that can accommodate every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Superbreak UK, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your London Marriott Hotel County Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London County Hall Hotel London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing