We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, fabulous views, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Ranked #224 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, fabulous views, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 5 nights with my husband and we just loved it! We had a very spacious room with a fabulous view of the River Thames, Big Ben and Parliament. In a historic building, the hotel has beautiful public spaces with lots of wood paneling, lovely furniture, fresh flowers.
Everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful. We did have a small glitch with our luggage when checking in as the doorman never put our room number on our luggage ticket so I had to go on a bit of a search to locate it. The front desk was extremely apologetic and even sent us a fruit tray and a note as an apology. Anyone can make a mistake and it is so appreciated when a mistake is acknowledged and a kind gesture is made to make amends. Well done Marriott.
Our room was very large with 2 high back chairs, small table, desk and chair, dresser, 2 side tables and a king size bed and my very favorite, a small table, chair and mirror (outside of the bathroom) where you could do your hair and make-up. Even with all that and a spacious closet there was plenty of floor space. The mattress was not great and we asked housekeeping to take a look. I think they flipped it and added a new thick mattress pad which did help some.
As Marriott Gold members we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast every morning and had our choice of either having it in the Library or in the restaurant. Both were excellent. The Library is cozy and comfortable and has great views of the Thames. The food selection was fantastic and everything was delicious. We enjoyed great views in the restaurant also and there were a few more breakfast items to choose from--again, everything fresh and delicious.
The hotel is in a great location and we walked almost everywhere to see the parks, museums and historic sights in London. It's also very close to a Tube station--just across Westminster Bridge.
Evening Concierge Lounge was nice (Marriott Gold member). Not a huge space but they had a nice selections of drinks, snacks and hors d'oeuvres. Such a bonus to have this free option after a long day of sight-seeing--especially with London prices.
Will definitely try to return to this hotel the next time we are in London.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,206
    686
    266
    115
    69
See reviews for
788
735
78
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We booked with our air miles and, I have to say, if I'd paid full price for the room I'd have been disappointed. The room itself was fine, clean and spacious if a little outdated. We had been allocated a disabled room with a wet room and a separate toilet. Which in itself wasn't a problem at all - except that the floor tiles were uneven and when we showered the room nearly flooded. The floor was still wet when we returned 7 hours later. In addition, the floor was lethally slippery when wet - I wouldn't like to think what could happen if a disabled/elderly person actually used the shower and slipped. The floor tiles were also a bit loose and needed re-grouting. having some personal experience of wet rooms for disabled people - this was definitely not up to scratch.
Room aside - I cannot fault the rest of our experience. The reception staff were very polite and efficient and the restaurant staff couldn't do enough to ensure we had everything we needed - certainly the best hotel restaurant service I've experienced in a long while.

Room Tip: not room 437!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 312Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel County Hall, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

I was pleased to learn of your fabulous review, apart from the bathroom, during your stay with us. Your comments are very important to us and your views have been taken seriously. I can confirm that the issues you encountered have been rectified. Please accept our apologies for not demonstrating the usual high standards we are proud to provide.

We thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed our Restaurant.

Thank you again and trust we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Theresa Maw- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Just a one night stopover on business. Very helpful staff on reception and at the door. Beautiful room with view over the London Eye, everything worked really well. I was in room 202 - I know I need all the exercise I can get, but the distance from the lifts to the end of the corridor (ie room 202 on the second floor) is absolutely ridiculous. I'm not sure there is much the hotel can do about that, but do check when you check in ...

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BristolDanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stopped here for two nights last weekend for a treat for my mum who was 70. The hotel could not have done enough to ensure she had a fabulous visit and nothing was too much trouble, right from checking in the luggage with the concierge on arrival to checking out with them at the end of our break. Perfectly located for all that central London has to offer and we certainly packed a lot in over 3 days!
Could not fault the hotel in ANY way..... thank you all ;-)

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the higher floors and near the elevator. For sure pay the extra and book a tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Staff very polite and helpful. Fantastic location and views of London are lovely too. Thoroughly enjoyed our second visit. The hotel holds it's original charm of wood panelling on the ground floor with the continuation into the original lifts. The quirky curved walls of its original use as council offices still charming. The breakfast was well presented and very good value and overlooking the Thames. Would definitely return again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights and loved it. Breakfast in the concierge lounge was fantastic overlooking the Thames. The room was a good size and clean although our view was not great. The service was extremely friendly and helpful. The gym was one of the best gyms I have been to at a Marriott. Loved the location. Walking distance to london eye, big Ben etc.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank paul k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We were upgraded on arrival to a room with a view of the London Eye (just outside our window!) and the Houses of Parliament.
Comfortable bed and pillows. The room was well soundproofed and we heard nothing from the corridor or the room next door which was occupied.
Really liked the location with just a short walk across the bridge to Westminster tube station.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank butterfly63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#92 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel County Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Property: London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Address: Westminster Bridge Road | London County Hall, London SE1 7PB, England (Formerly Marriott London County Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#168 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Romantic Hotel in London
#230 Family Hotel in London
#243 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel County Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Painted with a signature backdrop, the historic London Marriott Hotel County Hall is in close proximity to our city's main attractions. With views of Big Ben, the banks of the River Thames and overlooked by the London Eye, landmarks are a short stroll away from our hotel's doors. Our hotel boasts distinctive venues that can accommodate for every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your London Marriott Hotel County Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London County Hall Hotel London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing