We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Ranked #155 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel has a great location. But, having stayed on several occasions I still can't escape the feeling that it's previous use has left behind. That being a former office block. The corridors and rooms just can't shake it off. It however does give one of the best views in London (London eye, Westminster etc.) The bar and breakfast room is lovely and the service good. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but still feel like offices. Other hotels that have been converted from other uses have done a much better job!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,750)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,341 - 1,347 of 2,750 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here a few times and this time upgraded to a Balcony suite overlooking Westminster.
Best hotel location in London. Cocktail bar has a varied selection of drinks with great views of Big Ben . Large indoor pool. Normally 4 stars but the upgrade and a late night drink on the balcony with the best views of London makes it a 5 star stay.

Room Tip: Pick a river view well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank NewburyKav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Excellent location. Great service and very friendly staff. Clean and well maintained. Had an excellent breakfast buffet and the night time lounge was always well stocked and had good,snacks. Concierge was very helpful.

Room Tip: Our room had a great view of the Thames, Big Bend, and parliament
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dawright02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We contacted concierge to arrange for a car to pick us up at the airport. Our driver, Raj, was waiting for us as we exited baggage claim, our name in large print on his iPad. He was fabulous and in fact we hired him for the remainder of our London airport shuttle needs (3 more times). He took us on a mini tour cruising by and pointing out many landmarks on the way to the hotel including Buckingham Palace, Harrod's and more. This was a really great way to start off our stay in London.

The hotel is a historic property which I loved. Our room looked out on the river Thames and the London Eye! The room was an adequate size, two double size beds, safe, 1 dresser, desk with 110 outlet, pants press?(must be a UK thing cause there was one in our 2nd UK Marriott), closet was smallish but we were only there 4 nights. Bathroom had ample counter space but the only plug in there is for a shaver. Tub/shower combo is a deep tub that for my 5'3" clumsy self is a bit of a challenge to climb in and out of but probably a nice soaker had I had the time. There is a tiny vanity in the room with one drawer that has a blow dryer (didn't like cause you have to hold down button to keep it on), you need to use the hair dryer and any other hair tools at the vanity. I am happy we brought a little surge protector for extra sockets and plug adaptors as I need lots of hair tools.

Other reviews commenting on the Executive lounge are true in that there are no windows but we only used to get bottled water, drinks, snacks and head back to the fabulous view from our room. We do not generally hang out in the executive lounge so this was not an issue for us. My husband is a Platinum member with Marriott and that allowed us FREE access to the lounge and its bottled waters, sodas, munchies, cookies and beer/wine and appetizers in the evening, also breakfast in the library which does have fabulous views of the river Thames, Big Ben, the London Eye and more. Breakfast included scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, cheeses, breads, fresh fruits, danish, coffee, tea & juices.

We did look at the pool, spa and gym areas. My husband used the gym which was a really good size just make sure you bring your bottled water as they only had a fountain without cups. Pool & spa looked nice but no time to use.

Location is Fabulous! You can easily walk to the London Eye, Buckingham Palace, the Tate Museum, tons of restaurants and so much more. Westminster pier is across the bridge and from there you can take a river cruise on the Thames and/or catch one of the red double decker buses.

Marriott employees at front desk, concierge and all were friendly, attentive & helpful. Overall a very nice stay and would use again. I would have preferred a suite but that was way more $$$ and for the amount of time we spent in the room not worth it according to my husband. The value was rated average only because there is no option for good value it is not a cheap date but nothing in London is so I think this is a good value.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Shining star this Marriott property is in the heart of Londons tourist destinations like the Big Ben and the House of Commons not to mention the London Eye

rooms are nice and large quite spacious, breakfast and dinning options are good, naturally since the property is an old building there are some issues but none that make it worth not coming again and again

one of my Favorite Marriott's in London....

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Syedarehman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The location is great. Right near the Parliment/Big Ben/London Eye and boat cruises. The tour buses (Big, Original and Night) all stop in front of the hotel.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Reberta,Jason and even the waitess provided us knowledge of the statues.

Their breakfast are excellent (besides the views of the Parliment and Big Ben).

Room was big and clean. Pool is very nice as well. Executive Louge is great to go after a long day of sightseeing to refresh.

Only slight negative was our room did not have a view of Big Ben...

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AWorldtraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Excellent staff. Always use Nick @ concierge desk. His knowledge of local attractions is excellent as well as his service. Gillray's restaurant a little pricey but we enjoyed a great meal and good service. Hotel location is perfect for touring Westminster or hopping the trains or bus tours.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel County Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Address: Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7PB, England (Formerly Marriott London County Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#123 Luxury Hotel in London
#131 Family Hotel in London
#205 Romantic Hotel in London
#242 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £214 - £510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel County Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Painted with a signature backdrop, the historic London Marriott Hotel County Hall offers proximity to our city's main attractions. With views of Big Ben, the banks of the River Thames and overlooked by the London Eye, landmarks are a short stroll away from the front doors of our hotel in London, England. Stay with us and hold your events here, as we feature distinctive venues that can accommodate every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your London Marriott Hotel County Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London County Hall Hotel London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing