We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Sure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Ranked #185 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
surrey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not Sure”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Not sure what to make of this Hotel was a strange experience, arrived on Friday afternoon for a two day stay, arrived early at 1pm and was told they would call me on mobile when room ready so took a stroll down the Southbank, it was near 3pm so returned to be told room still not ready and could we wait a further 20 minutes so we decided to visit the executive lounge a very small dark room with no windows not very exciting at all and felt more like a waiting room for people going home or waiting for their room and not a place you would go to otherwise..

finally we had been allocated a room and was ready for us seemed quite clean and spacious bathroom was very basic but was okay not sure it's 5 star standard though shower very weak seen better bathrooms at much lower star rating.

View was okay but not great was on second floor so was not high up could see Big Ben from one angle and London Eye was just outside and could see left side of wheel.

visited the Opal bar near the Embankment which had awful and rude staff behind the Bar, so went back to Hotel and had an early night in the morning we went to the Library for breakfast as we were told to go to when we were given our key card for the room we sat down looking forward to the breakfast which was included that we paid for to find only a very small buffet and the English breakfast was only scrambled egg, bacon and sausages there were no mushrooms, beans or tomatoes it was a very dry breakfast and was not enjoyable.

The next day Saturday we decided to go shopping we were out for nearly 6 hours and were tired when we returned at 3pm to find our room had still not been done so could not just lay down on the bed and relax knowing they might come in at any time to clean room, I phoned reception to be told the room can take up to 5pm to be cleaned which I found unacceptable and asked for it to be done ASAP someone arrived 30 minutes later.

I then decided to have a chat with the duty Manager and told him of my complaints, he did not try and be defensive and responded well to my complaints and sent us up two glasses of prosecco.

The next morning when we went for our breakfast at the library we were advised that we had to go to the restaurant for our breakfast which would be all inclusive, of we went and were sat down and I thought was is going on two different breakfast rooms with completely different type of buffet this one had all the normal food you would have at a big hotel, when I booked I did not see two options for breakfast we paid £40 per night extra to include breakfast so do not understand why we were directed to the Library which is not a full breakfast, I thought how strange it was that a large Hotel had such a limited breakfast, I wish someone could explain the two different breakfast formats.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrenou843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloKUK1, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel County Hall, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Reviewer:

Thank you for your constructive comments on Trip Advisor. We would like to sincerely apologise for the food quality and service faults you encountered. These are not indicative of our usual Marriott high standards. Your delayed check in and the breakfast comments have been shared with our Resident Manager and Director of Food and Beverage and teams to stop any recurrence. We do offer a continental breakfast in our Library for our Executive Lounge guests and it is genuinely regrettable that this was not communicated to you upon your arrival.

We trust you will consider returning to the London Marriott County Hall when I am sure we will provide a true brilliant memorable stay.

Kind regards,
Theresa Maw-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,297
    701
    271
    116
    70
See reviews for
820
777
81
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Very nice hotel in a fantastic location. Lovely big clean rooms with great customer service and very courteous staff. Only downside is to keep curtain s closed as the London Eye riders look straight in to the room. Beautiful old and historic hotel.

Room Tip: Pay for a water front view. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb4217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The location of this hotel is convenient to sites and a 10 min walk to the Waterloo station which was very convenient for some of the day trips we took. It is also an easy walk to St. James Park. The Big Bus tour bus stop is also right outside of the hotel. The rooms were clean and I thought a good size and the view of Big Ben and the river was very nice. In our room we also had two plugs near the desk to be able to charge our phones that didn't need adapters which I didn't expect. The hotel staff were all very friendly and went out of their way. The concierge was very helpful with information and reservations. Gillray's was good for both breakfast and dinner with great views again of the river and Big Ben. Everyone goes out of their way to make sure you are taken care of. We also went to tea in the library and the food and service was also very good. After busy days it was also nice to be able to sit in the bar area and enjoy a snack and tea or drinks and enjoy the view and relax. The only problem we had was during check-in it took too long and they were aware I was checking in early. I understand it is busy this time of year but they were a little unorganized. Aside from that, the staff goes out of their way to be friendly and helpful.
In the evening you can walk across the river and have a great view of the hotel and the eye with all the lights for a great picture. We enjoyed staying at this hotel with all the iconic sites of London right outside our window. You know you are in London!

Room Tip: We had a river view room and did not have a long walk others have complained about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CC4travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Marriott for the first leg of my birthday extravaganza! BF was kind and generous enough to take me to London and Paris for my bday gift! The location was fantastic, we could see right out to the Thames and the Eye from our room. The hotel is old. It's decorated traditionally. When we arrived via tube (not recommended with suitcases) there was no one out front. We had to carry our own 50lb bags up the stairs. A serious deficiency. Check in was 15 mins or so. Free wifi in the lobby. We were lucky that BF is a platinum member and we were able to enjoy the executive lounge. Room was dated, bathroom tub has very tall sides, lounge was good. Location was amazing! When we walked through the corridor to the hotel from the street all the noise disappeared. It's peaceful. Big Ben is just across the bridge. The tube and many great London sites are near by. Bed was just ok. If we hadn't stayed at the Grosvenor, another marriott spot in London, I probably would give this place a full 4 stars or circles. But Grosvenor was a 10, see separate review. I don't think we would stay here again. To be honest tube wasn't that far from Grosvenor I would rather stay there.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dillsmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

friendly nothing to much trouble stayed there twice last time 2 weeks ago room with view of the eye , close to most tourist attractions,we stayed there as was going on to Poland for a weeks vacation visiting various places of world interest .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IHEARU44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here several times in the last couple of years, and it offers a consistently excellent experience for what is sensible money, given the average price of a London hotel.

The rooms are enormous. For our most recent stay we had a room with balcony that overlooked the London Eye and Big Ben. Also worth of note is Gilrays restaurant that is a significant improvement on the previous restaurant.

Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. They have everything to hand you could conceivably ask for, especially if you're travelling with kids, e.g. cot beds.

The hotel is in a great location right by the river. It's a five min walk to the Houses of Parliament and the nearest tube station. Taxi's are never more than a moment away and easily called by the concierge. The location also makes it quieter than a lot of London hotels. County Hall itself is a grand setting for a hotel and there's a real sense of history when strolling around the many different public areas.

This is the first hotel we check for availability when staying in London due to the consistently good experiences we've had there.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Brumjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennett
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed 3 night post cruise at this hotel. Cruise ended in Southampton England . Took the train from Southampton to Waterloo station which is very close to the hotel ( this was an easy way to get to London post cruise ) . Location was the best feature of this hotel if your visiting sites such as Parliament , Buckingham Palace, St Paul Cathedral , Piccadilly Circus - all about 1 mile or less. Hotel ok but an older hotel/ maybe a need to update soon? Bar area had great views of Big Ben and Parliament , but the seating in the bar was very uncomfortable , so we didn't stay long. Took their car service to Heathrow which worked well. There is a night ( open top ) bus tour of London that leaves right outside of hotel that we did enjoy on our last night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#50 of 1,067 in London
2,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel County Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Property: London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Address: Westminster Bridge Road | London County Hall, London SE1 7PB, England (Formerly Marriott London County Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#145 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Romantic Hotel in London
#230 Family Hotel in London
#243 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel County Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Painted with a signature backdrop, the historic London Marriott Hotel County Hall is in close proximity to our city's main attractions. With views of Big Ben, the banks of the River Thames and overlooked by the London Eye, landmarks are a short stroll away from our hotel's doors. Our hotel boasts distinctive venues that can accommodate for every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your London Marriott Hotel County Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London County Hall Hotel London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing