We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful Marriott” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Ranked #223 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Indian in london
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A wonderful Marriott”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

Great location, great bar. Very close to all the London attractions. Easily reachable from Heathrow by train+ tube

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mad.nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,208
    686
    266
    115
    69
See reviews for
789
736
78
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

Following an unpleasant train journey - electrical problems caused it to be hot and stuffy - followed by a hectic taxi journey from Euston Station it was bliss to cross Westminster Bridge and turn into the Marriott. It was another world away from hectic central London Peaceful, relaxing and cool. Our luggage vanished from the taxi and arrived in our room via a cheerful but polite employee. Check in was quick and efficient.
Our room had a view of the Houses of Parliament, and it must be said a possible view in from the 'eye' outside, so watch the curtains, along with an efficient heating and cooling system. Spacious and clean, it was exceptionally quiet the only disturbances - minor ones at that - were caused by other room doors being allowed to bang shut by guests.
All was fine in the room with the only odd point being a non flat screen television, hardly a worry to us or probably to anyone else. Water was hot and bath filled very quickly. Along with a powerful shower it met both my wifes and my requirements. However it must be said that on one occasion an empty water bottle was not cleared away during cleaning, very minor but that is how picky I have to be to find fault with this fine hotel.
The executive lounge, to which we had access, was a godsend with soft drinks available all day along with snacks at certain times. Internet available in this lounge.
Breakfast was fine with a good range of items available but expensive if not included in your costs.
Overall we found the hotel slightly expensive but well worth the cost due to its high quality friendly staff and its calming influences after central London. Will always stay at the Marriott when in London and have given it a maximum rating only dropping one star due to its relatively high cost.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
153 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

Perfect location, which I guess for some may justify plenty of arrogance and attitude, small rooms, and a hefty price tag. Stayed there for our last night in London (and my birthday). Huge let down! Don't make the same mistake we did, when you can stay next door for about 1/2 the price and enjoy similar amenities w/o the major attitude.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocSnarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2009

First I'll admit a huge mistake, I thought I booked the room for $230, not 230 POUNDS. We picked the hotel for location and pool. We arrived in London with kids (8 and 5) at 7am, and had been told they could accomodate early check-in. Our room was ready at 3pm.

The hotel has an unbeatable location, and outside view is amazing. However for the price you get decades old room, 19inch tv no cable, good (not excellent) service.

After our first day I walked across street to Park Plaza County Hall, and got a room for half the price, with amazing clean and new rooms, same convenient location, excellent service, that was much more kid friendly. We also realized we would have never used the pool b/c we were too busy all day roaming London.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SGPMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

My best friend and I stayed at County Hall June 1-6, 2009; our reservation was on Marriott Rewards. Please note we regularly stay at Marriott on nearly all of our travels. We arrived in London on the EuroStar after 5 nights in Paris/Disneyland Paris. We took the Tube to Westminster Station, but didn't know there we no elevators to ground level. Hauling the luggage up the steps and across Westminster Bridge nearly did us in!

The bellman met us at the door, seeing how we were struggling with the luggage and heat. He took the bags and we proceeded to registration. The woman at registration was from ?Romania? and certainly did not find our American sense of humor funny. Luckily our room was ready when we arrived at 2pm. We were offered the upgrade to the Executive Lounge for 50 pounds per night (!), but lucky from reading these reviews, I knew to pass it by. That evening as soon as we returned housekeeping brought foam pillows I'd pre-requested on the reservation (& had forgotten), but the gentleman had horrible body odor.

We immediately proceeded to our room #419. It was a bit of a walk from the lift, but not bad. Our hotel at Disney Paris (Sequoia Lodge) was far less than expected and certainly below the US Disney hotels. We walked into our room and was happy to see a typical Marriott room! The room was T-shaped - coming in the door, the bathroom was immediately on the right, then the desk/work area was further up on the right and the beds were around a quick corner to the left. The area between the desk and chest of drawers/tea service was quite large and perfect for our bursting luggage!

The bathroom had the nice curved shower curtain bar. The showerhead was somewhat like a rainshower and wasn't really adjustable. It was incredibly high, so no worries about bumping your head. There was a regular blowdryer attached to the wall, a magnifying mirror, a scale, telephone, and speaker connected to the TV (in front of the beds). The vanity was nice and large, as was the mirror. There were also two robes for our convenience. There was only one outlet in the bathroom and it was for razors only.

The work/desk area had both direct internet cable and access to Wi-Fi. We brought a netbook with BlackBerry (to serve as a Wi-Fi modem), so we didn't have to use or pay for the internet through the hotel. We also nearly jumped for joy to see US electrical outlets! The desk chair however, was incredibly uncomfortable, too low for the desk, and struggled to roll on its wheels.

There was also a short chest of drawers and on the top was the ice bucket, biscuits, and complete tea service (to the joy of my best friend). Our room overlooked an internal "courtyard", which was nothing more than a storage and loading/unloading area. Noise from this area was regular around late morning with all of the towels carts.

The TV received only about 8 channels and the only US station was CNN World. After the first night we never turned on the TV again; our in-room entertainment would be a show or movie on the netbook or reading. The light between the beds was nice as it had an internal light divider, so I could stay up and read later than friend.

The beds were great compared compared to what we'd just come from, but realized they really weren't what was expected from Marriott. The pillow top was separate and wasn't attached to the bed. It was lovely. However, underneath was just a generic mattress. (I know this, as I check all beds for bedbugs. Don't worry; there weren't any.) I was pretty disappointed with the mattress, especially near the end of the trip.

Under the TV was the minibar that was fully stocked. If you touched anything you were charged, so we just relied on the ice bucket to keep things cold all week. There was an empty cabinet next to the mini-bar, which we used to store our breakfast items and snacks; we referred to this as the pantry.

My favorite area was probably the closet. It had two mirrored sliding doors, ironing board, iron, umbrella, and motion-detecting light. Now I believe every closet should have a motion-detecting light!

We did not use the pool, fitness center, or restaurant. Our room was on the Executive Lounge floor, but the selections didn't seem worthwhile. We never saw any sort of gift or snack shop in the hotel, which was disappointing. We found a 24 minimart a block or so out the back exit of the hotel instead. We HIGHLY recommend everyone investigate the back entrance/exit to the hotel. Although there is a McDonalds at the front of County Hall, right across from the back are a Subway, Starbucks, upper-scale Italian, general restaurant, and Chinese dining. Nice lower cost dining right across the closed drive/street on the rear of the building!

Out the back of the hotel, another street back, and a few blocks to the left is Waterloo Station. Be careful here, as there is more than one entrance and exit. The only time we got lost was coming out of Waterloo one evening. Waterloo is also a regional train station, which we used to get to Windsor. (Our ticket-to-departure took about 3 minutes!) Also right at Waterloo is the huge IMAX Theatre, which we visited, as we needed an "American" day.

The only time we used the Concierge was to get to Heathrow. We originally planned to take a bus from Victoria Station, but after the luggage issue at Westminster, we were ready to return to our regular traveling style. So we booked a private car back to Heathrow, which was charged directly to our hotel account for 60 pounds ($100). It was well worth the cost, as we were quickly whisked directly to the airport in a Lexus.

Because we were on Marriott Rewards, I was happy with the hotel. If I was paying for the room, it would have been completely overpriced. The only thing that substantiates the pricing of this hotel is the location, because the amenities and services were surely lacking. No matter how we were dressed, I always felt looked-down upon by the staff as we were coming and going (probably because of my Subway sandwich sack)!

As one of the elite Category 8 Marriott hotels, I was fully underwhelmed. The Marriott Harbour Beach in Ft. Lauderdale, FL FAR FAR exceeded County Hall. If you want an unparalleled location in London, this is it! If you want to enjoy a top, luxury hotel, you might want to take a look at other options.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GuardMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2009

We stayed at County Hall on Tuesday 7 July 2009 and wish we could have stayed longer. First impressions on arriving at this wonderful hotel is how welcoming the staff are and also how very efficient. It was raining so the Concierge met us with an umbrella and then unloaded the car for us whilst we checked in. We used their parking services and it was great. The check in receptionist was charming. We had a minor hiccup here in that we had requested an early check-in at noon but unfortunately our room was not ready until 3 pm which is the normal check in time. I could have easily got really stressed here as we were attending the Royal Garden Party and needed to leave by 2 30 latest but the receptionist advised us that our Exec room included the use of the Exec Lounge so we stayed there whilst waiting for our room and enjoyed a nice cup of coffee and free internet access. It cost £50 for the upgrade and is well worth it as they provide Continental breakfast until 11am in the morning and Canapés early evening as well as soft drinks and snacks all in the Exec Lounge on 4th floor. Our room was great overlooking the London Eye and River Thames and was so quiet that you could not believe we were in London. There is an umbrella provided in each room which unfortunately we needed. Overall I would summarise our stay as a fantastic experience and would definitely recommend it to everyone. The hotel was busy with overseas visitors and the staff were so patient with everyone helping them as much as they could.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank specialevents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

My mother, my eight year old son and I stayed in room 433 from 27th June to 29th. We were celebrating my son's birthday with a trip to London. We told Reception that it was my son's birthday and when we arrived at the room there were balloons, cookies, milk and fruit waiting for us! My son was really pleased and felt very special. The room was fabulous, there were two double beds, a very comfy sitting area, a huge dressing room and a lovely large bathroom with separate bath and shower. We had a great view of the Thames and Big Ben. We had access to the Executive Lounge where they served a delicious continental breakfast, afternoon tea and pre dinner canapes. The food was superb. Room service was very good and all the staff without exception were excellent, they were discreet but always happy to help and very friendly.
We have stayed at many 5 star London Hotels and the Marriott County Hall is probably our favourite. Some 5 star hotels can be too 'over the top' ,the Marriott is just right. I would highly recommend this hotel for its location, service and comfort and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#91 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel County Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Property: London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Address: Westminster Bridge Road | London County Hall, London SE1 7PB, England (Formerly Marriott London County Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#168 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Romantic Hotel in London
#230 Family Hotel in London
#243 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel County Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Painted with a signature backdrop, the historic London Marriott Hotel County Hall is in close proximity to our city's main attractions. With views of Big Ben, the banks of the River Thames and overlooked by the London Eye, landmarks are a short stroll away from our hotel's doors. Our hotel boasts distinctive venues that can accommodate for every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your London Marriott Hotel County Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London County Hall Hotel London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing