We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good and bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Ranked #199 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“good and bad”
Reviewed 12 April 2010

The good : the staff are unfailingly helpful, courteous and knowledgeable; the rooms are kept very clean; the location on the Thames just behind the London Eye and across from the Houses of Parliament is one of the best in London, and the food is very good.
The bad : the layout is the worst of any hotel I've visited, and inexcusable for a Marriott. For starters, there are two entrances through the County Hall building which are under the control of other organisations which employ your average rent-a-guard type to sit at a desk. Less of an issue if these entrances didn't allow access to the Marriott itself at certain times, but they do : one at the back of the sitting area, one from the embankment. Yes, there is video surveillance throughout the hotel, but so what ? Second, and just as crucial, if you get a low-numbered room (say 501), regardless of floor, you're in for a long walk. I specifically asked for a room near an elevator for my mother who had trouble walking long distances. I got two rooms side by side at the back of the hotel, which entailed a trek along four long corridors. The staff were good enough to change this when I asked, but be aware, if you have mobility problems - specifically a heart condition - insist on a room near the elevators. The downside is that you may well end up with a view of the solid centre of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voronUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,265
    694
    270
    115
    69
See reviews for
808
764
79
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake, Utah
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

An expensive hotel, but that's to be expected in London. The rooms were tasteful, the beds were comfortable, and the location was perfect. Next to the London Eye and a very short walk to Big Ben, Houses of Parliament, and Westminster Abbey. The tour buses also have a stop right next to the hotel and the Westminster underground station is just a short distance away, too. If looking for a nice hotel with an amazing location this one is recommended. Pricey, but it's London and the location was phenomenal.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juanereeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

I took my little sisters to London a few year ago and stayed here. It's a perfect location with spacious, comfortable, clean rooms. We didn't do much other than sleep at the hotel as we spent all of our time sightseeing. They were very picky eaters so it was nive to have a McDonalds close by that they could eat at. The view from our room was spectacular - Parliment and the London eye were right there. The tube was across the street so we only had to use a taxi to and from the airport.
Sorry for the late review but we are returning and I want to "save" the information about this hotel on my TA account :)

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chelseagrrlx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

We stayed here for one night and I had the best nights sleep ever in any hotel in the world. The room was extremely comfortable with a fab view of the london eye and big ben... staff very friendly and helpful. Food and drink was first class and no more expensive then bars in town, The service from check in to check out was definatley 5 star and felt very smug to be staying at such a wonderful hotel. Will look forward to returning for christmas shopping.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marnad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

We moved here from another hotel where we had to splurge to get a room with a view. We had stayed here before in 2003 and were happy. So we decided to splurge here for a studio room with a balcony. The room was on the top floor with a wonderful view right out at the Eye, the Thames, Big Pen, Parliament, Defense. The small balcony with a table and 2 chairs was perfect. Wow! Bed and bedding were very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sactrav8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLCHESTER
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2010

I was treated by my partner for a weekend away at this beautiful hotel.

Brilliant view of the London Eye from our bedroom window.

The hotel was very clean, service very good and set in brilliant location for seeing the sights!

Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAVEALOVELYTIME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

We had an amazing balcony suite facing the River Thames, Big Ben and I could almost touch the London Eye, need I say more? The classic design gave the hotel charm and coziness I seek in a grand hotel.

This hotel is on the pricey end but absolutely worth it! I hope my husband takes me back again:)

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derekjeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#100 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel County Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Property: London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Address: Westminster Bridge Road | London County Hall, London SE1 7PB, England (Formerly Marriott London County Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#154 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Romantic Hotel in London
#230 Family Hotel in London
#243 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel County Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Painted with a signature backdrop, the historic London Marriott Hotel County Hall is in close proximity to our city's main attractions. With views of Big Ben, the banks of the River Thames and overlooked by the London Eye, landmarks are a short stroll away from our hotel's doors. Our hotel boasts distinctive venues that can accommodate for every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your London Marriott Hotel County Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London County Hall Hotel London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing