We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”
Review of London Town Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
London Town Hotel
Ranked #532 of 1,069 Hotels in London
wombwell
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Except for the location I have nothing particularly nice to say about this hotel. The breakfast was bland, what happened to the good old English breakfast! No tea facilities in the room and the bathrooms were really cold and basic.No sound proofing between rooms we were constantly woken by banging doors. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bern c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonTownHotel, Manager at London Town Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Dear Bern c,
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.
The hotel offers a continental buffet breakfast and the full menu is listed on our website. The breakfast menu is as follows: Muesli Cereal, Cornflakes, Weetabix, Seasonal Fresh Fruit, Preserved Fruit, Fruit Yoghurt, Cheese, Boiled Eggs, Croissants, Pastries, Hot Toast, Tea, Herbal Tea selection, Coffee, Hot Chocolate, Juices and Condiments. We do not advertise anywhere that we offer an English breakfast.
We offer all of our guests free tea and coffee in the hotel lounge. We do not advertise Tea/Coffee making facilities in the guest rooms
As we do not offer the facilities which you were felt were lacking, we feel your comments are unfair to the hotel as you are judging us on services that we do not offer.
We encourage all guests to check our website for the facilities offered before booking.
Kind Regards,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    222
    105
    21
    15
See reviews for
110
111
95
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I was a little apprehensive after reading a few of the reviews on this hotel on tripadvisor. I am so glad that I did NOT change my reservation. Charming small hotel! All employees that we met were extremely friendly. Our room was small, but so were the rooms in places we stayed outside of London prior to arriving at London Town Hotel. I think small rooms are just a fact of life in the UK (unless you want to pay a fortune). The room was clean, the bed linens were fresh, and our room was extremely quiet. The location was great, close to the Underground, and several good places to eat close by.

One note - if reading the other reviews and notice the negative ones, take into consideration the LOW number of negative ones....... the positive comments FAR outweigh any negative comments.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marken76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonTownHotel, Manager at London Town Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Dear Marken76,
Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to give us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the London Town Hotel soon. Kind Regards, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

This is a value hotel and room sizes reflect that. It is well located near the underground and buses. A decent buffett beakfast is included. The free wi-fi can be erratic during the day but early in the morning or late at night the internet connection is adequate. The staff are friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masoudismagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonTownHotel, Manager at London Town Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Dear Masoudismagic, Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to give us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the London Town Hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ski, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

This hotel turned out to be better than we expected. We booked a double room, but was given a room for four, so we had lots of space. The hall and room was quite narrow, but I have learnt that is to be expected at London hotels.
It is situated in a quiet street just around the corner from the underground, so perfect location. From that underground, it was easy access to the largest attractions in London without even changing the tube.
At first glance, the hotel seemed a bit suspicious and cheap, with it's blue sign welcoming us at the door (they would be better of without it, to give a better first impression), but it turned out alright.
The staff was pleasant and helpful, and we didn't experience any problems during our stay here.
The breakfast was a disappointment, as all they had was warmed up croissants, cheese, eggs, jam and some cereals, and served toast at the table. Me and my mother decided to buy crackerbread to bring, as we are used to more fiber and nutrition for the first meal of the day. But either way, it was very welcoming to receive food at the hotel, so we didn't have to rush out each morning to get something to eat.
It's a nice area, with several shops and pubs as well.
The walls were a bit thin, so one could hear if anyone walked the hallway or were talking in the reception, but that didn't bother us as we brought earplugs.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MimiSandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonTownHotel, Manager at London Town Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear MimiSandal, Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to give us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the London Town Hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire - England
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

If you need to stay around Earls Court, this is one of the best hotels to stay in. I have stayed in a number of the hotels around Earls Court and this is just about the quietest. Far enough from the tube to be quiet but close enough to walk to, about 3 minutes. The rooms are small but comfortable and the continental breakfast is fine. If you are expecting luxury and cordon bleu, this is not for you. If you want a good place to rest your head for a night or two, this is the place for you. Nice residents' lounge for tea and coffee and a multitude of eating places within a two minute walk. Stayed here three times now and will do so again. Do not stay in a hotel on the other side of Penywern Road unless you are a train spotter.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImmigrantTyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonTownHotel, Manager at London Town Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear ImmigrantTyke, Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to give us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the London Town Hotel soon.
Kind Regards, Manager ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We had a night here during our London stay. The rooms were very clean & the bedding was comfortable.
We picked a triple room & it was a good size.
The service was fantastic. The gentleman on reception was very pleasant.
The location was great - just around the corner from the underground station.
There was a laundromat nearby (a huge plus). This was just a short walk from the hotel.
The walls are a little thin (we could hear everything from the rooms all around us), but do not let this deter you from staying here. Once 10pm came around, it was very peaceful and quiet.
We would definitely consider staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flutterbybecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonTownHotel, Manager at London Town Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
Dear Flutterbybecs, Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to give us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the London Town Hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed 4 nights the location was fantasic just around the corner from the tube station. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much of trouble, the rooms are small but spotless and as we were sightseeing all day this was not a problem. Breakfast was very good and there was plenty of it. I cannot recommed this Hotel highly enough and will be staying there again when we visit London again..

Col & Jill Mt. Warrigal n.s.w. Australia

Room Tip: We were facing the main road on the 6th floor and had no problem with traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jillnorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonTownHotel, Manager at London Town Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
Dear Jillnorris, Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to give us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the London Town Hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#386 of 1,069 in London
171 reviews
Earls Court
Mowbray Court Hotel
Mowbray Court Hotel
#465 of 1,069 in London
304 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#708 of 1,069 in London
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Best Western The Boltons
Best Western The Boltons
#504 of 1,069 in London
1,029 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#665 of 1,069 in London
298 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#851 of 1,069 in London
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Town Hotel

Property: London Town Hotel
Address: 15 Penywern Road, London SW5 9TY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #532 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — London Town Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The London Town Hotel is situated in the tree lined Penywern Road, in the heart of Earls Court (in the Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea), minutes away from the Earls Court London Underground Station. The hotel is located close to the Olympia Exhibition Centre. With excellent transport links, the London Town Hotel is the ideal base for exploring & visiting London's tourist attractions, theatre shows, restaurants, shopping, or to do business. Our rooms provide a comfortable space to relax, work and sleep, making it the perfect place for your visit to London. They all have en suite facilities (shower & toilet), free WiFi, freeview digital TV, direct dial telephones, room safes, hairdryers and our rooms are non-smoking. Our spacious guest's lounge has complimentary tea & coffee making facilities, free WiFi connection and a public internet station. The lounge leads on to our terrace overlooking the garden. Our friendly, helpful staff look forward to welcoming you at the London Town Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your London Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing