We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location”
Review of London Town Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
London Town Hotel
Ranked #559 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights at the beginning of our vacation and we returned for three nights at the end of our vacation. I chose this hotel based on the price, its reviews on Tripadvisor, and its proximity to the Tube.

The hotel is very, very close to the Earl's Court tube stop, but on a quiet side street which is great. There are many other hotels on the street but London Town was one of the lower priced options. The room décor is outdated and lacks any character. The walls have dings in them and the bathroom ceiling fan had A LOT of dust in it. The shower itself was extremely small. I couldn't bend in it without hitting the wall and I am not a large person. The water pressure and temperature was good. We had a bit of trouble getting the Wi-Fi to work upon arrival but had no problems with it once we were connected. I was not a fan of the breakfast so we only went down to the basement to have it one morning.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a decent place to stay while exploring London. My husband and I are not the types of travelers who hang out and relax in hotel rooms - we'd rather be out and about. If you are looking for something more than a convenient place to stay, you may want to look into other options. That being said, the price is probably the best you will find for a small hotel close to a main Tube stop in London.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kedelano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonTownHotel, Manager at London Town Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear kedalano,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you found the room décor outdated and without character. Our rooms are decorated simply whilst facilitating the budget conscious traveller’s needs. Our price point reflects this as you have correctly mentioned. I have informed the cleaning staff to be more aware of ceiling fans during their daily cleaning.
I am glad that you would be happy to recommend the hotel further.
Kind Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had a very pleasant weekend at the end of September at this hotel.
The Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Having Tea making facilities in the lounge was great.
Breakfast was adequate although a bit of Brown Bread would have been appreciated.
Rooms were warm and bed comfortable. En-suite was small but served the purpose.
Everything was spotlessly clean.
It was near the Tube and was in walking distance of Museums and Kensington Palace.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eric Stevenson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonTownHotel, Manager at London Town Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Ecky_10,
Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to give us your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we met your expectations. I am also very happy to inform you that we now offer our guests a choice of white or brown bread at breakfast. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The London Town Hotel is situated just a two minute walk from Earl's Court Underground station, making it very easy to get out and about. The reception staff were very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful, unfortunately it was the quality of the room that let this hotel down.
We had booked a triple room, but it was located down a pokey little side corridor only wide enough for one person. When we checked in... this corridor was filled with dirty bed sheets as they were changing the other rooms over... so we had to clamber over that.

The room itself was very small (considering it was a triple room) and quite dingy, decorated with dark green carpet, curtains and bed covers, and a VERY low watt light bulb which took ages to light the room up. There was a small cupboard for hanging things, but if you had this open, you blocked the door to the bathroom. The bathroom was also on the very small side, with the toilet squished into an impossibly tight corner.

The room got hot very quickly, and had no air conditioning, so we had to open very old sash windows, which would only be safely locked if you remembered to screw them shut.

As a place to just crash at night, it was just about OK... but could I relax in the room? No.
Don't think I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonTownHotel, Manager at London Town Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Dear Jon T,
I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay.
You checked in before the check-in time of 2pm which was why housekeeping were still cleaning in the area. Despite this, housekeeping moved the bags to enable you to pass through and settle in your room ahead of time.
Our triple rooms consist of one double bed and one single bed. For three grown men, had you booked a room with 3 separate beds, this would have provided more space for each of you in the room. All our rooms are decorated in the same style which can clearly be seen in the pictures on our website ahead of booking.
The bathroom is of a standard size suitable for one person to use at a time.
We do not advertise air-conditioning in any of our rooms. The hotel is converted Victorian town house with period sash windows. This is an original feature.
Regards,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

London Town Hotel is in a wonderful location to be able to see all the sights of London. The accommodation is very clean, comfortable, with excellent and helpful staff. Restaurants only around the corner, as is the tube station. It was all so easy.

Yvette and Hugo
Australia

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonTownHotel, Manager at London Town Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Yvette H,
Thank you for kind comments. I am happy to hear that you found the hotel clean and well suited to your needs during your stay in London. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This was our first hotel experience in Europe and I was expecting a small room and bathroom and I was not disappointed. The beds were extremely uncomfortable and the street noise was pretty significant since we had to leave our windows open due to the heat. But....all of the front desk receptionists were very helpful and friendly and the location was wonderful. I can't compare our room to similar London hotels, but all in all I think we got a good value - which was what we were looking for. I would recommend this hotel for a budget conscience traveler looking for a clean, safe, friendly small hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyinAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonTownHotel, Manager at London Town Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear EmilyinAustin,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Room sizes in London are much smaller then those found in America. I am sorry that you found the beds uncomfortable and were disturbed by street noise. We have checked the mattress and it has been flipped as recommended by our supplier every 3 months. While the hotel benefits from being situated on a quiet residential street we are unable to control street noise that may occur from time to time. I am happy to hear that the staff were able to assist you and that you felt you received good value for money during your stay with us. We hope to be able to accommodate you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed 1 night at the London Town Hotel, it was clean, friendly receptionist, could check in ahead of time, location excellent. Earls Court station 2 min walk away, so easy to get to all the sights. Lots of pubs/cafes/restaurants within a short walk. Even though the hotel was in such a busy area the hotel itself was quiet. Room was clean and spacious, breakfast was ok, limited choice , but all tasted good. I all an ideal budget hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonTownHotel, Manager at London Town Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear June C
Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to give us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the London Town Hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The best part of the hotel is its location - just two blocks from the Earl's Court Station on the Picadilly Line. This made it a breeze to get to the hotel from Heathrow, and it is a great station for getting around the city. People have mentioned that the rooms are small, and this is correct, but there are many similar hotels in this area and I bet they are all the same. We stayed in a "family" room, which was one queen and two full size beds. The room had space for the beds, two small nightstands and small desk and wardrobe, and not much more. The bathroom was similarly very small, but serviceable. Our room was clean, and made up each day very well. The continental breakfast is basic. It was good for getting a quick bite and a drink, and then we would often go out and grab a quick breakfast. There are lots of fine places to eat on Earls Court Road, literally just up the block. For breakfast, try Pascucci (spelling?), a couple of blocks to the south on Earls Court Road. Good food and great coffee!! There are many lunch and dinner options in this area. We stayed at the London Town Hotel mostly for its price and location, and in this regard we were not disappointed. Lastly, I want to mention that the WiFi worked great in all areas of the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a family room (not the loft room) that was three beds - a queen and two fulls. This worked f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LBtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonTownHotel, Manager at London Town Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear LBtravelers,
Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to give us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the London Town Hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Mowbray Court Hotel
Mowbray Court Hotel
#458 of 1,077 in London
381 reviews
Earls Court
City Continental London Kensington
Earls Court
Garden View Hotel
Garden View Hotel
#574 of 1,077 in London
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Amsterdam Hotel
Amsterdam Hotel
#655 of 1,077 in London
665 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#643 of 1,077 in London
347 reviews
South Kensington
The Villa Kensington
The Villa Kensington
#493 of 1,077 in London
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Town Hotel

Address: 15 Penywern Road | Earls Court, London SW5 9TY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #559 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £67 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — London Town Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The London Town Hotel is situated in the tree lined Penywern Road, in the heart of Earls Court (in the Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea), minutes away from the Earls Court London Underground Station. The hotel is located close to the Olympia Exhibition Centre. With excellent transport links, the London Town Hotel is the ideal base for exploring & visiting London's tourist attractions, theatre shows, restaurants, shopping, or to do business. Our rooms provide a comfortable space to relax, work and sleep, making it the perfect place for your visit to London. They all have en suite facilities (shower & toilet), free WiFi, freeview digital TV, direct dial telephones, room safes, hairdryers and our rooms are non-smoking. Our spacious guest's lounge has complimentary tea & coffee making facilities, free WiFi connection and a public internet station. The lounge leads on to our terrace overlooking the garden. Our friendly, helpful staff look forward to welcoming you at the London Town Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your London Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing