We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blissful Escape” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parkes Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkes Hotel
Ranked #732 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Scotland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Blissful Escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2007

My partner and I have been fortunate enough to have stayed in many hotels over the past 4 months and can absolutely put this one at the top of our list so far.

From the moment that I entered Parke's cozy reception until our very sad departure this place felt like home. A slight glitch in our request for a superior suite was swiftly and smoothly overcome and despite the fact of an early arrival I soon found myself whisked to the top floor and left to discover the beautiful suite that we had been allocated. Looking across the rooftops and chimneys of central London from the large windows is an experience that neither of us shall ever forget and the opportunity to go outside onto the small balcony just added that extra something that is not normally found in other hotels.

The rooms themselves are extremely well appointed. Our suite was approx. 60sq.m in size. More than enough for two people. We felt that we could very comfortably live in this suite forever!.The bedroom had an en-suite shower room, large enough to easily accommodate two people due to the largest showerhead I have ever seen! There was also a separate bathroom with a deep bath which we did not get time to use but was useful in the evenings when the two of us were preparing for the evening/day ahead. Both bathrooms were fitted out with top quality fittings with marble floors and walls. Very luxirious! What you see in the hotel's website's pictures is what you get in this fabulous place. (Why isn't this the number one hotel I ask myself?) Bed is very large and comfortable (although one mattress would be better than the two presently found on the bed). Windows look out onto the lovely gardens at the front of the hotel and the room is quiet despite the fact that the hotel is situated in the busy Knightsbridge area just of the Brompton Road. The living room has a dining area and small kitchenette which is discreetly found behind twin doors and not an intrusion. Encouraged by all of this we decided that we did not want to leave our suite. I sent said partner out to the local corner shop (Harrods) with strict instructions to buy everything that we could need for our two day stay. Returning with everything apart from the special green tea I had requested we settled down and cosseted ourselves in our wonderful suite. We also made use of the Hotel's detailed Takeaway service menu for dinner - much more intimate than sitting in a restaurant with other diners in our opinion - which was swiftly delivered to us (washing-up taken care of by maid service the next morning, this hotel really does provide everything). Requests were almost anticipated and discreetly handled before we could ask; the mark of true service.

We booked this suite through the hotel's website and feel that by doing so we were offered the best rate possible. All in all our stay at the Parkes Hotel was remarkable and we shall certainly consider it again in the future. I must finish this review by saying that special mention should go to each and every member of staff at the Parkes who made our stay such an extra special event.

  • Liked — The isolation that we felt
  • Disliked — Better to have one large mattress than two separate ones.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
21 Thank katiearoundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    7
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
25
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2007

Had a brief but excellent stay at this hotel, waitress was very friendly at breakfast (claire i think was her name).

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ashjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midwestern USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2007

Our travel agent recommended the Parkes Hotel as a perfect spot for our family group of five in London. We had a very comfortable suite of two bedrooms, two full baths and a living room with fold out couch which served as our base of operations for our five days in London. The rooms were freshly decorated and very attractive with large flat screen TV's and modern bathrooms. A delicious daily continental breakfast at the hotel was included in our room rate, but we also had the option of a hot breakfast for a small additional fee. The Parkes' Knightsbridge location is less than two blocks from Harrods and within walking distance of Hyde Park, the Victoria and Albert Museum and several tube stations. With the guidance of the very helpful concierge, we made reservations at a number of restaurants in the area and thoroughly enjoyed the convenience of walking to our appointed dinner spots. Given the horrendous exchange rate and the generally high expense of a vacation in London, we found the the Parkes to be a tremendous value and would definitely stay there again. It is quiet, comfortable and perfectly located.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank myshiphassailed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2007

Stayed one night at this hotel.
Hotel was very well located in great quiet square off knightsbridge. Very well located for tourists to visit the sights, museums, shopping etc.

Staff were very helpful. Property is 'classic' old english design set in converted large London townhouses.

Somewhat tired communal areas. Bedrooms well equipped. Bathrooms very well equipped but TINY. I seriously think the bathroom with sink, shower, toilet was maybe 4ft x 4ft.. it was very well done, clean and cunningly designed but for a longer stay i think would've started to infuriate me.

All in all an ok experience but perhaps rather expensive compared to other hotels very nearby.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank visitorxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2007

I have stayed at this great little hotel from Jan 2006 to May 2007 for a total of 11 business trips (81 days in total) and it became a home away from home for me because of the people, the attitude, and the hotel.

People at the Parkes: Fantastic is all I can say. Friendly and helpful in every matter, and they make you feel like you are part of their family. Always providing great recommenations, and sound advice to get around London.

The hotel itself: Great small hotel, I stayed in a single, double, and a one bedroom suite. the single is great size for European standards, the beds are extremely comfortable. They do not have a restaurant, but they have a room service menu that you can order from a variety of great restaurnts in the vicinity.

Leave your shoes out at night, and they are cleaned and polished every day for you.

Rooms are nicely done and very clean. Great location to Harrods and other dept stores. walking distance to Hyde Park.

They do not have a business centre, but the staff will print , fax things for you. The internet works fine in the rooms, but I had colleagues tell me that they had trouble connecting.

Overall I would say its a great hotel for business travel, but an even great hotel to take that significant other one.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Constant_Traveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2007

Stayed 2 nights with my wife, amazing hotel, fantastic staff and service. Looking forward to staying again.. simply perfect!

  • Liked — great rooms and service
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank jamieettedgui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2007

Stayed two nights with my girlfriend in this hotel and we ended up not wanting to go out. Eventually we stayed most of the weekend in the hotel and just enjoyed the pleasure of living in a perfectly furbished environment with firendly service. If you want to spend the night in - make sure to check out the DVD classic corner in the lobby!

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank ViennaDiplomat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Knightsbridge
Claverley Court Apartments
Claverley Court Apartments
#523 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Knightsbridge
The Beaufort Hotel
The Beaufort Hotel
#198 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Knightsbridge
The Levin
The Levin
#324 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Knightsbridge
Knightsbridge Hotel
Knightsbridge Hotel
#304 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Knightsbridge
Millennium Hotel London Knightsbridge
Knightsbridge
Searcy's Roof Garden Rooms
Searcy's Roof Garden Rooms
#660 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkes Hotel

Property: Parkes Hotel
Address: 41 Beaufort Gardens, London SW3 1PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#383 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury townhouse hotel located on a quiet tree-lined residential cul-de-sac in Knightsbridge, 1 block from Harrods. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parkes Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing