We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location, poor facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Corus Hotel Hyde Park London
Ranked #492 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

The location is very good, the Lancaster gate bus and metro stations as will as Hyde park are on the door step of the hotel. Ten minutes walk and you are on the oxford street. It would be excellent if there are close by convenient stores.

On the other hand, Facilities are old and outdated, the windows cannot be shut firmly which brings all the noise in. The queen bed is not comfortable. The hotel offers you tea and coffe bags but not water, when I asked for the complimentary water they bring me one bottle although the room is twin. And they did not bring new bottle the day after . Most of the Staff are ok, not very cheerful. The complimentary Internet is very poor, and I heard a guest complaining about the paid one.

Regarding the price,Of course if you are in the gulf or Asia you can live in the top luxurious hotel with the same amount, but in london it's different, prices of this hotel are ok compared to other similar hotels.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Mohd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nimo Abdi _, Guest Relations Manager at Corus Hotel Hyde Park London, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Mohd F,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the online travelling community. It was a joy to have you as our guest.

We were pleased to hear that you found the location of the hotel to be a great benefit for you. Regarding the convenient stores, there are many around the hotel, should you returning, our specialised Concierge department can guide you. Please accept our apologies regarding the internet, we are currently upgrading the service, soon we will have a super fast speed internet.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,012 - 2,018 of 4,115 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

London is an awesome city - so rich in history, culture and tradition. London can also be an incredibly expensive city, but there are a few key ways to make it affordable. There's exceptional value to be had at Corus Hyde Park: inexpensive, but still classy (but NOT 4-star). We didn't go for a room upgrade, so our room was cruise-ship-cabin small, but it was also well appointed and comfy. Room service kept our room spotlessly clean, with in-room coffee and tea included. Front desk service was fast & efficient. The location is also great: right across from Lancaster Gate @ Hyde Park, and just a block away from the Tube station & bus stops. Public transit here is a breeze, and only an insane person would rent a car while in London. We had a fantastic time in London, and a comfortable & affordable stay at the Corus was one of the best choices we made.

Room Tip: "Budget" rooms booked through Expedia, Travelocity, etc. will be SMALL. You'll need t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3vilMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nimo Abdi _, Guest Relations Manager at Corus Hotel Hyde Park London, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear 3vilmonkey,

Thank you for sharing your experience of us with the online travelling community.
It was such a delight to read your review, we were so pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Family of four stayed for four nights during May 2014. Have stayed here many times before. It seems to have deteriorated since my last visit. It could do with some refurbishment especially in the Breakfast room which they have moved to the ground floor overlooking the main Bayswater Road. The breakfast room would need new flooring throughout, due to such high volume of customers the white tiles look grubby, the carpeted area looks worn out and the mat at the entrance to the kitchen door would need replaced daily. Lito the manager for this area should be spotting this and at least be cleaning the white tiles daily with a machine. The breakfast room was much better downstairs with the hot buffet breakfast being maintained, topped up and well presented by the chefs when they could stand behind it, unlike now. At present all of the buffet breakfast (hot and cold) is being topped up by staff on the same side of the tables as the customer, which I believe is both inefficient and crowding the room. The breakfast is excellent with a good selection, just the presentation could be better if the room was laid out differently with staff maintaining the presentation from the reverse of the table. Lito would also need to replace the tables and chairs, and also buy more cutlery and crockery. The staff are pleasant but could do with slightly more training to make the service much more slick to ensure all items are on the table before anyone is seated. Customers find items missing on the tables e.g. cups, cutlery, side plate, butter, milk etc. so nick it off another table and so it spirals out of control. The staff at Reception and the Concierges are excellent especially J. The rooms this time were quite small compared to previous visits but were adjacent to one another. They were at the back of the building which I thought would have made it quieter but due to single glassed windows (in this day and age?) made it noisy with the noise starting at about 5am in the morning. This could be easily solved by addition of another window on the inside. The staff that service the bedrooms are excellent and leave the room spotless. I hope the Management take the importance of upgrading the Breakfast room on board and other minor refurbishment to bedrooms as this Hotel is in an excellent location, great views of Hyde Park, very close to Lancaster Gate Underground, easy to get to from Paddington by taxi or by foot and delivers a service to a high volume of customers every year. Hope to return again in the future but hope to see some money spent on refurbishment, if not customers will stop coming back.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first as some are small. Rooms overlooking the main road can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nimo Abdi _, Guest Relations Manager at Corus Hotel Hyde Park London, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Gordon M,

Thank you for sharing your experience of us with the online travelling community. We are grateful for your feedback as it is invaluable to us.
I have forwarded your feedback to the Food and Beverage Manager and actions will be taken to better the service. We are currently refurbishing the hotel. Next time you return, you will not be disappointed.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Close to the Lancaster gate tube stop and across the street from Hyde park are the pluses. The rooms are otherwise small and run down and not four star quality. Beds are uncomfortable. Bathroom is small but clean, shower was nice. Staff hit or miss.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank HuluAllu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nimo Abdi _, Guest Relations Manager at Corus Hotel Hyde Park London, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Parisa M,

Thank you sharing your experience with the online travelling community, we appreciate you taking the time.

It is disappointing to read that the room you stayed in did not meet your expectations. Our room size do vary in within each category in sizes and amenities. Should you be returning, any member of our team would be delighted to discuss your room needs. You can contact us directly at: guestrelations.londonhydepark@corushotels.com

We hope to see you again soon,

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We have visited London several times, but stayed at this hotel for the first time. We had a very good experience staying there for 5 nights.Value for money.The location, breakfast, room size compared to other 4*hotels around that area,was good. Courteous and helpful staff, nice bars and pubs around. Very close to bus stop and the underground. Just opposite Hyde park added to the charm of our stay. Would stay there again during our next visit. Well managed hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor, but the room was decent,comfortable and quiet. The deluxe rooms on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 170,759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nimo Abdi _, Guest Relations Manager at Corus Hotel Hyde Park London, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear 170759,

Thank you for choosing Corus Hotel Hyde Park. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We were delighted to read that your stay was pleasant and that we met your expectations. Thank you for your lovely words about our staff, I will be sure to pass on your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Good location and nice hotel the rooms are small but clean with nice fluffy towels, could do with some soundproofing as you can hear everything from the people next door.
We ate in the bar on the first night food was very good but the piano player was far too loud making it difficult to hold a conversation mentioned this to the bar staff and they immediately adjusted the volume. Breakfast was ok with good choice of hot or cold food.
We found the staff very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Covern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nimo Abdi _, Guest Relations Manager at Corus Hotel Hyde Park London, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Covern,

Thank you for choosing Corus hotel for your visit to London. It was a pleasure to welcome you as our guest. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience of us with the online travelling community. It is a delight to read that you had a lovely weekend and that our staff met your expectations. We have taken your feedback regarding the piano player, we will ensure this issue will not occur again. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

A lovely hotel in Lancaster Gate... if travelling from Paddington its just a short 10 min walk so dont take the tube as thats a long way round. I upgraded the room and it was lovely, well worth it... nice touches like chocolates to welcome you, water and a turn down service. Breakfast was fine, normal sort of buffet thing. The bar staff need to be a bit more attentive and the white wine was warm on two separate occassions, so would suggest you drank elsewhere! On the whole though good hotel and a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob1323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Best Western Mornington Hotel
#408 of 1,077 in London
843 reviews
London Elizabeth Hotel
#748 of 1,077 in London
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#447 of 1,077 in London
2,210 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#160 of 1,077 in London
1,174 reviews
Elysee Hotel
#613 of 1,077 in London
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corus Hotel Hyde Park London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corus Hotel Hyde Park London

Address: 1-7 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#313 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £79 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Corus Hotel Hyde Park London 4*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corus Hyde Park is a 4 star, 389 air conditioned bedroom hotel for business and leisure guests and is in a spacious location overlooking Hyde Park. Corus is 50 metres from Lancaster Gate tube on the central line, only 8 minutes walk to Paddington station and the Heathrow Express and 15 minutes walk to Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill, Albert Hall and so close to all the major attractions including the new Westfield shopping centre and the Paddington Basin. The hotel features 4 meeting rooms up to 90 guests, free powerful WiFi in all areas, a fitness studio, large air conditioned lounge with an all day menu. The hotel has three restaurant concepts - seasonal and quality British dishes, an authentic Malaysian menu and Bel Canto Opera dining where opera students act as waiters and sing a wide range of Operatic classics whilst you dine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Corus Hotel Hyde Park London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corus Hotel London
Corus Hyde Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing