We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location- room spatially challenged!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Corus Hotel Hyde Park London
Ranked #514 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good location- room spatially challenged!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

There was only me staying in my double room and that was good because if there were two people in the room it would have been difficult. There was just enough room to walk around the bed, the bathroom was tiny and at 5ft 4in tall it was almost impossible to shower properly as the wall slanted in over the bath and you either banged your shoulder on the wall or got tangled in the shower curtain. If I'd have been taller or broader taking a shower wouldn't have been feasible. (ROOM 567). Breakfast was ok but the service for tea, etc was a little slow. Stayed at another corus hotel (Burnham Beeches) and really enjoyed my stay. Apart from the location this hotel however was a bit of a disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sams29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    1,486
    1,020
    446
    225
See reviews for
583
1,580
167
737
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (726)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I have stayed in the corus a few times through working with work in London and everytime I dread it. On the first week a fire alarm went off every night at 3am, apparently there was a malfunction but staff did not warn guests or even explain the following day. The rooms have extremely thin walls to the point where you hear your neighbours tv over your own- not very good when you are trying to sleep at 1am and you can hear very clearly someone's tv!! Reception staff is a hit or a miss too, most are very nice and fluent English but a on occasions English has been very poor basic words like Wi-Fi was not understood. Food is ok- it's a Malaysian menu so if you don't like that type of food, you will struggle. Breakfast is ok too, only issue is you need to ask for toast meaning when it eventually comes, your food and toast is cold! I probably wouldn't recommend coming to this hotel as you leave hungry and sleep deprived :(

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sb199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Arrived at the Corus Hotel for 1 night stay in the single room. Room was great except for the smell of damp but didn't feel the need to kick up a fuss.

I had a meal in the resteraunt hotel which was nice. However I had to order a prawn dish as all the chicken and lamb dishes were Halal. Again, no big deal.

The location is ideal to explore London with plenty on your door step.

A in all I got a good deal on the room with expedia and decent nights sleep.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

As the title states, it's a decent hotel while you are out and about. It's located about 8 minutes by foot from Paddington Station so getting there from the Heathrow Express is easy. Underground station is a block away and black cabs are easy to find so getting around is easy.

It's not the smallest hotel room I've seen but not the largest by far. If you are just looking for a convenient located hotel while you run around London this is worth booking.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Marcell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nimo Abdi _, Guest Relations Manager at Corus Hotel Hyde Park London, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Marcell S,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the online travelling community. We appreciate you taking the time. It was a pleasure to know that the location of our hotel was such a benefit for you and that you had a good stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back again soon,

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I'm attending a series of meetings in the City area of London and wanted to avoid silly prices while also seeking good accommodation and service. The Corus ticks all the boxes and there is the luxury of the park for a walk or run. I received an unsolicited upgrade to an Executive Room and this met all my expectations - King Size Bed with numerous pillows and crisp sheets, a well provided bathroom - shower pressure was good and plentiful supply of hot water. All other amenities were excellent including limited (emails & web browsing only) wi-Fi, digital TV and AC.

The Breakfast Menu is comprehensive and the service is attentive - only criticism is the stewed coffee - stick to Tea and you will be fine.

All in all - a good value location for visiting London - as demonstrated by the high number of business travellers and tourists - mostly American. Make sure you haggle when booking - I sense that the staff will offer a good deal.

Room Tip: Top floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nimo Abdi _, Guest Relations Manager at Corus Hotel Hyde Park London, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Richard M,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the online travelling community. It was a pleasure to have your as our guest. We were overjoyed to read that you enjoyed your stay and that we delivered to your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back again soon,

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biel, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I liked it very much. the architecture, the piano players and your people at the bar, on the front desk and the concierge. The location from the hotel to the Hyde park and the nearby underground station is perfect. I will come back, for sure!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bernadette f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nimo Abdi _, Guest Relations Manager at Corus Hotel Hyde Park London, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Bernadette f,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of us at Corus Hotel Hyde Park. It was a pleasure to welcome you as our guest. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found our location beneficial for you. I will be sure to pass on your very kind view to the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Booked the executive family suite (large room 2 double beds) here for 1 night with my husband & 2 young daughters. Upon arrival we were told we had been upgraded. The upgraded room had 1 double bed and 2 wafer thin camp beds. Aftet explaining to the receptionist that I would like to decline the upgrade as the beds were not suitable I was told that the room I had booked wasnt available even though I had booked 4 weeks in advance! I was then given a tour of 2 rooms to choose from, both with 1 single and 1 double bed. We had to accept this as at least the single bed looked comfy and my girls are small enough to share. We then asked for a price difference refund but were told the was no refund as this was an upgrade! After much of our only evening wasted we were eventually given £30 credit to spend in the hotel. For the price I paid for the exec family room I actually got a bog standard travel inn room. Not the exciting luxurious night away my girls were hoping for.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank mmmManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nimo Abdi _, Guest Relations Manager at Corus Hotel Hyde Park London, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear mmmManchester,

Thank you for sharing your experience of us with the online travelling community. We truly appreciate you taking the time.

I was disappointed to hear the upgraded room did not meet your expectations on this occasion. However, I was pleased that you were given £30 credit as a compensation. Should you be returning, please contact me at: guestrelations.londonhydepark@corushotels.com I would be happy to discuss your needs and better allocate you to a room of your preference.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Best Western Mornington Hotel
#420 of 1,069 in London
789 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#399 of 1,069 in London
897 reviews
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#454 of 1,069 in London
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#299 of 1,069 in London
1,963 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#214 of 1,069 in London
1,009 reviews
Lancaster London
#229 of 1,069 in London
3,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corus Hotel Hyde Park London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corus Hotel Hyde Park London

Property: Corus Hotel Hyde Park London
Address: 1-7 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#320 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Corus Hotel Hyde Park London 4*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corus Hyde Park is a 4 star, 389 air conditioned bedroom hotel for business and leisure guests and is in a spacious location overlooking Hyde Park. Corus is 50 metres from Lancaster Gate tube on the central line, only 8 minutes walk to Paddington station and the Heathrow Express and 15 minutes walk to Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill, Albert Hall and so close to all the major attractions including the new Westfield shopping centre and the Paddington Basin. The hotel features 4 meeting rooms up to 90 guests, free powerful WiFi in all areas, a fitness studio, large air conditioned lounge with an all day menu. The hotel has three restaurant concepts - seasonal and quality British dishes, an authentic Malaysian menu and Bel Canto Opera dining where opera students act as waiters and sing a wide range of Operatic classics whilst you dine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Corus Hotel Hyde Park London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corus Hotel London
Corus Hyde Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing