We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Corus Hotel Hyde Park London
Ranked #514 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed for just one night to attend BSt concert. Good location. Public rooms good and clean. Staff can seem distracted.... we checked in to be told the room wasn't ready yet...no problem with this as usual practice. When we returned in the evening we were told their were no records of us....despite us showing the staff the receipt for the payment they had taken when we first arrived! Three staff on desk and all initially ignorded us while they chatted to each other. Eventually they sorted it out, but it took too long and it indicated they didn't have a clearly understood booking process.
Room was fine, clean, comfortable, reasonable size for London, reasonably decorated and had all basics needed. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hatfield_visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    1,391
    964
    432
    217
See reviews for
529
1,475
161
706
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (686)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Whenever you are traveling around Europe, booking a 4 star hotel always "guarantees" you a minimum level of quality of service, location, rooms and overall satisfaction. Corus Hotel Hyde Park is the exception of the rule. The service lacked the quality that was expected, the staff was "ok" but the worst part where the rooms. The size of the room and the quality of the experience is far below of a 4 level experience. The rooms are tiny, noisy and not very practical.
The good thing about the hotel is the location, rather than that it is not worth it to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Piaccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Hotel in a very nice area/clean rooms/nice service but special thanks to Mrs Artemis Stefanaki in the Reception/During our stay she was always very professional and friendly/always there for us !! thank you once more

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 367et_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Just returned from 2 night leisure break in London. Stayed at Corus Hotel Lancaster Gate, Reservation made via Booking.Com.after seeing photo of Standard Double room. The reservation included breakfast but on arrival, was told no standard rooms available, but if I paid a further £25 per night, one would become available. Declined the offer and pointed out that I had already booked a standard double. No joy and was shown to the smallest hotel room we have ever experienced in over 40years of world travel. Double bed with one side pushed against a wall, 4 clothes hangers that refused to hold clothing on a metal frame that jutted out towards the bed. My wife bumped her head. No drawer space whatsoever. Extremely small shower. First night,toilet stopped working had to refill toilet system with water out of kettle...it took 4 kettles full. Complained the next morning, Duty Manager, Vincenzo who was very nice but would not reduce rate, £124 per night, but instead offered us an executive room again not very big as an upgrade for the second night..Snatched his hand off. Had one round of drinks in hotel bar......, two rounds of drinks appeared on my bill. Buffet breakfast adequate but some dishes cold. Will never stay in a Corus Hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask to view the room before agreeing to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robbo2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morges, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel is 100 meters from the Lancaster Gate metro station and 80 meters from the 148 bus line which goes to Victoria station (Gatwick - easyjet). The receptionist was very nice and we were able to have our room at 12:30 which was very convenient.

The room is small but it is a standard in London. However, the bed was a little too small for 2 grown-ups adults. The bathroom is the smallest I ever encountered. It was OK but it wouldn't have been for a bigger person than I am.

The noise from the street is annoying and kept me from having a good night and one green light (bathroom switch) was too bright and I had to cover it up with a towel.

The room was clean, with a TV and free wifi.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecile2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and I have just come back from a lovely weekend in London having stayed for 2 nights at the Corus Hotel. The hotel's location is ideal - a 5 minute walk from Paddington Station, across the road from Hyde Park near the Italian Gardens and a 2 minute walk from Lancaster Gate Tube Station - all ideal as a base to get around London. There are also numerous restaurants locally and a pub about 10 yards from the Bayswater Road entrance. Unfortunately, the hotel is a little tired and needs a bit of TLC. Our room - a Viceroy one was quite small and faced the Bayswater Road which is very busy all night long. The bathroom had both bath and shower but the hot tap only had a dribble of water making the bath unusable and the shower controls were broken making it difficult to get the right temperature for a shower. The room itself was tired looking and in need of a refurbishment - painting and a new carpet at least. Didn't stop us enjoying our stay, but a bit disappointing non the less.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyWB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsclere
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I will say right from the beginning that the staff and management could not have done more to ensure that my wife and I had a successful three day stay at the hotel. We chose the Corus Hyde Park because we had enjoyed a stay at the hotel a few years ago and it was also in the location we wished to be
.
From the moment we entered the hotel the reception staff acknowledged us and although we were early they booked us in and then contacted us as soon as the room was available.
The room met our needs and was clean and well equipped and during our stay we were impressed at the high standard of the housekeeping.

All meals that we had whilst staying at the hotel had sufficient choice and were served well prepared and cooked. As with the rest of the hotel the restaurant and bar staff were attentive and went that extra mile to ensure you enjoyed our dining experience.

During our stay I did not find any member of staff at any level that was not courteous and was not prepared to do all they could to make our stay a success.

Our overall view of the Corus Hyde Park is that it more than exceeded our expectations and that if we are able to repeat the experience then our next visit should not be too far away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnedaKingsclere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#435 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel
#401 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
London Elizabeth Hotel
#655 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#366 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Elysee Hotel
#578 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#297 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corus Hotel Hyde Park London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corus Hotel Hyde Park London

Property: Corus Hotel Hyde Park London
Address: 1-7 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#326 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Corus Hotel Hyde Park London 4*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corus Hyde Park is a 4 star, 389 air conditioned bedroom hotel for business and leisure guests and is in a spacious location overlooking Hyde Park. Corus is 50 metres from Lancaster Gate tube on the central line, only 8 minutes walk to Paddington station and the Heathrow Express and 15 minutes walk to Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill, Albert Hall and so close to all the major attractions including the new Westfield shopping centre and the Paddington Basin. The hotel features 4 meeting rooms up to 90 guests, free powerful WiFi in all areas, a fitness studio, large air conditioned lounge with an all day menu. The hotel has three restaurant concepts - seasonal and quality British dishes, an authentic Malaysian menu and Bel Canto Opera dining where opera students act as waiters and sing a wide range of Operatic classics whilst you dine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Ebookers, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Corus Hotel Hyde Park London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corus Hotel London
Corus Hyde Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing