We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, not great, but OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Corus Hotel Hyde Park London
Ranked #512 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Average, not great, but OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

we stayed here for 3 nights because we got a good deal, but the hotel is pretty average. Luckily we are not too fussy and it served its purpose as it was close to where we need to be. The room was a bit small, but then we were hardly there, so it was fine. The room was very clean and not noisy. Service was good

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    1,404
    975
    435
    218
See reviews for
541
1,494
162
708
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (699)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

The location of the hotel is fantastic for anyone who is travelling around the capital. The staff were fantastic the menu is reasonable the room was really tidy but minimalistic for instance there's no draws or anywhere for storage so I couldn't stay more than one night. The windows are so old and warped (classic sliding wooden frames ) they wouldn't open so could get no fresh air into the room the shower is absolutely tiny and it shelves out so you have to wedge under it I'm only 5'8 and I struggled the bed was pressed against the wall so if my partner needed the toilet I had to move as well and the room was very narrow it's ok but not worth the amount asked but then again it Is London

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leepatton93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Arrived at check-in time (2pm) to be told that neither rooms we had booked were ready. We were then re-allocated one room and told the other room should be ready by the time we got to the floor. This was incorrect and my parents were re-allocated to a room on the same floor as myself an partner.

Rooms were tiny. Bed was even smaller and the bathroom was ridiculously small. If you're 6ft or taller don't book this hotel! The double beds in both rooms were pushed up against the wall allowing access on one side only. Also uncomfortable to sleep on as you can feel the springs underneath. Not suitable for elderly with mobility problems.

The walls are thin, if you have loud neighbours you're in for a bad night!

Overall, not impressed and for the price tag I would have expected more. Reception were only capable of offering complimentary breakfasts for the issues and didn't like the fact that we booked through an alternative website to their own.

Would not stay again!

Room Tip: Request to see your room beforehand and check the floor you have been assigned as double beds seem t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived early and our room was ready which was great so it all started well, this however was pretty much the only positive, we had booked a twin room and were then told that there were no twin rooms available so we had to have a double, we were tired after travelling so didn't put up too much of a fight, however as soon as I saw the room I wish we had! It was tiny, unbelievably tiny! I actually assumed that it was some sort of joke, it pretty much could only just about fit the bed in. It looked clean enough, but wasn't great at all.
We ordered room service when we got in that evening and the man on the phone was abrupt, I had to ring back as he'd put the phone down and not explianed what was happening, when our pizza arrived they had they had firstly added it up wrong, there is a £5 tray charge that I can't see any reason for and the lady brought the card machine upto the room tried to put a larger payment through on my card then voided it so that she had my card details so she could put my card details through the machine downstairs without me being present, she could then clearly put any amount through on my card, to my knowledge doing this is illegal, when we pointed this out to us she became very stroppy and pointed out that most people don't mind so I would suggest that if you have stayed before to check your bank statements! She was incredibly rude and ruined further what was not a good stay. I can only assume that they have awarded themselves the 4 stars as a joke as there is no way that this is a 4 star hotel, I've stayed in nicer youth hostels. My advice os to avoid!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived 7 hours earlier then check in but we're happily given our room . Double was small but not too small for two people , clean and nice large bed. Shower good but a little lacking in power , plenty tea coffee , hairdryer and iron. All in all a decent experience as the location is fabulous for shopping , food , parks , tube is mins away

Helpful?
Thank nic0903
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Hairs littering bathroom on arrival, damp smell in restaurant and tiny room. Noisy single glazing & broken window always open.

Breakfast was distinctly average despite £18.95 price tag. I'd advise going elsewhere.

Cleaners in gents' toilet throughout breakfast period and housekeeping using lifts to transport sheets at peak times in the morning.

Lifts inexplicably stuck on 8th floor.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Edinbugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed the one night on a business trip. My room was a decent size but very tired looking in decor. Fluid stains on the floor, worn carpet, etc. The one plus were that the sheets were clean.

Things got worse in the bathroom. It was so small, there was hardly any room to actually move inside it. But the worst bit was the shower/bath.

For some reason, the bath had been raised, meaning that when I attempted to stand in the bath for a shower, my head would hit the ceiling. I'm only 6'2 - tall but not overly tall.

To compound that, the wall came in at my chest height by around 20-30cm. So I was forced to stand sideways in the shower, whilst crouching down to avoid the ceiling. Due to the curvature in the bath, this was extremely dangerous in my view. Even with a bath mat, I felt very unstable (not to mention uncomfortable).

For £125 this is simply unacceptable. Had I realised the night before, I would've demanded a different room. But at 7 in the morning and just up, what can you do?

I booked through my company and will be advising them of the poor facilities being offered by a supposedly 4 star hotel.

Avoid.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Al_Lindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#435 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel
#397 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#362 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London Elizabeth Hotel
#696 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#203 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Lancaster London
#238 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corus Hotel Hyde Park London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corus Hotel Hyde Park London

Property: Corus Hotel Hyde Park London
Address: 1-7 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#324 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Corus Hotel Hyde Park London 4*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corus Hyde Park is a 4 star, 389 air conditioned bedroom hotel for business and leisure guests and is in a spacious location overlooking Hyde Park. Corus is 50 metres from Lancaster Gate tube on the central line, only 8 minutes walk to Paddington station and the Heathrow Express and 15 minutes walk to Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill, Albert Hall and so close to all the major attractions including the new Westfield shopping centre and the Paddington Basin. The hotel features 4 meeting rooms up to 90 guests, free powerful WiFi in all areas, a fitness studio, large air conditioned lounge with an all day menu. The hotel has three restaurant concepts - seasonal and quality British dishes, an authentic Malaysian menu and Bel Canto Opera dining where opera students act as waiters and sing a wide range of Operatic classics whilst you dine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corus Hotel Hyde Park London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corus Hotel London
Corus Hyde Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing