We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cultural and shopping weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Corus Hotel Hyde Park London
Ranked #513 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Reading
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“cultural and shopping weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is an excellent hotel for quality and service , very easy to check in and rooms were available earley so able to drop off bags and refresh early . plenty of choice of refreshments in the room. Everything was really clean , we were spolit with dressing gowns , slippers and chocolates. Every member of staff was most helpful and accommodating . Great location for theatre , shopping and restaurants , with the added bonus of being a quiet hotel, will definitely be returning and recommending to friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mayReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    1,403
    973
    434
    218
See reviews for
540
1,490
162
708
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (694)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

As a business traveller I get to stay in many hotels, also in London. I rate this as my worst experience for the following reasons:

1. Varying price over 4 days from GBP170 to GBP270

2. For this I got the smallest room I have stayed in London, bed against the wall on one side, ceiling so low when standing in the bath to shower, I had to bend to get my head under the shower. The noise level facing Bay sweater Road was so bad I asked to change my room to the back, no double glazing

3. Breakfast offering barely average, but the dirty cloth covered seats where disgusting, I looked at 3 chairs before selecting the cleanest one. Don't go downstairs, that is like sitting in a cellar and about as much atmosphere

4. Staff is 100% foreigners that I came into contact with and at breakfast I had one that spoke no English, at reception one manages to communicate

In general the hotel appears to be squeezed for every cent by its owners with minute rooms, saving on staff, maintenance and general upkeep. One can see remnants that this must once have been a grand hotel, but now it's a tourist trap for one stay in a lifetime type of customers.
Highly recommend giving this a miss, despite its great location.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
9 Thank Oliver K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, fantastic location 2mins walk to Lancaster gate tube and 5 mins to paddington station. Hotel overlooks Hyde park lovely to stroll there in the morning. Had a room on the 8th floor which considering was a sings was quite spacious. Room was spotlessly clean. Staff friendly concierge staff were particularly helpful. Didn't have breakfast in the hotel as not included in the package and £14:95 was a little steep. Plenty of cafés in the area. Hotel is close to several bars and restaurants. Would stay here again

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had 4 days at the Corus with our friends it is a very average Hotel we had problems checking in apparently they only had record of one double room being booked and not 2 until we showed them the document it took a long time to get booked in which was not impressive,the rooms were ok .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfadik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed there this July, from monday til friday. The room was clean and quiet, and the staff were friendly. It's close to Paddington (for rails), and even closer to Marble Arch (subway station)

The only "drawback" was that the room/bathroom was under average size, at least compared to what we are used to). This might have been reflected on the site (http://www.hotellweb.no) when booking.

We paid 560GBP for four nights, but we were really late to book as well. This was by far the cheapest accommodation around at the time.

All in all we were satisfied with our stay, but if we are to stay there again we will require a larger room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eirikhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Positives - the hotel is located right opposite Hyde park, is near a tube station and the air conditioning worked well in the hot weather.

Negatives - the reception staff were pretty miserable, the food in the restaurant took a long time to arrive, despite in being empty, and was poor. The room was awful - one of the smallest rooms I have ever stayed in, and it felt dirty. The bathroom was mouldy and small, and the decor of the room felt tired and in need of a refurbishment.

The hotel itself seemed confused in who it's customers were - for example it has two very different sections of the menu in the restaurant - Asian and European.

Overall I wouldn't stay in this hotel again - there are much nicer hotels for the asme price range.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I got a deal through Travel Zoo for this hotel and only paid £99 for a double room with breakfast and a glass of wine at the hotel bar. I would hate to think of those who paid more for what we got for the price, as our price was well worth the average state of the hotel.
We had problems checking in, reception staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was on the 5th floor. On first glance at the room it seemed ok, clean, but of course tiny. I have stayed at this hotel before (back in 2005 for my sisters hen do) and i had a single room then and it was TINY. So i guess things haven't improved! We noticed there was no fridge, no drawers, just this silver hanging unit with room for hangers and a small shelf on the top (reminscent of prison style perhaps?!)
There were two cups and a kettle, and a old tatty metal tea jar which contained the teas, coffees and milk containers. It looked like it had come from a second hand shop - no attention to detail there! No biscuits, no water, no frills basically. It felt like a travel lodge even though this is supposed to be 4 star. I've stayed in better basic hotels like Premier Inns and Travel lodges for less! There was a hairdryer and that seemed to be it on the extras in the main room. Going into the bathroom, i knew it would not swing a cat from experience and i was right. The sink tiny, just a few toilettries given, two plastic cups, and no where to put any of your own personal items as there was no room anywhere really. The bath/shower was raised up so if you were really tall you would struggle to get the shower to come up to head height! And as for having a shower, i had more of a standing bath as the plumbing was obviously inept - and would not drain away even when the water was on for a few minutes it filled up, no need for a plug!
The air con unit was pretty poor - add to the fact it was 30 degrees outside it couldn't really cope with the heat wave and was more like a fan at times and not cool enough. We couldnt get the temperature any lower than 16 degrees. The tv worked fine but we really did not want to stay in the hot room long enough to watch it so we headed out as soon as possible.
The next day we hardly got much sleep in the night due to the heat (and the window hardly opening - it really felt like a prison cell as there was just one tiny window pane, the other panes were blocked off my wooden panels - and the window would hardly open and it was so dirty anyway) and the fire alarm went off for about 5 minutes at 7am so that was our wake up call! Luckily false alarm. So we headed down to breakfast about 9am. There was a fair amount of food there so we cant fault this too much, although it wasnt the best i'd ever had - it was decent and you could go back for more if you wanted i imagine.
After that we left at 10.30 am and left our key on the reception counter as we were busy.
Would i stay here again? No. You can get alot more for your money elsewhere. I would recommend you stay at the Nadler Hotel in Kensington - for say £20 more per person you get a gorgeous boutique hotel and it is near to earls court tube and hyde park (i stayed there for a concert at hyde park) and it is so much more value for money than this

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank em7748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#439 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel
#394 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#360 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London Elizabeth Hotel
#690 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#201 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Lancaster London
#238 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corus Hotel Hyde Park London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corus Hotel Hyde Park London

Property: Corus Hotel Hyde Park London
Address: 1-7 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#328 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Corus Hotel Hyde Park London 4*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corus Hyde Park is a 4 star, 389 air conditioned bedroom hotel for business and leisure guests and is in a spacious location overlooking Hyde Park. Corus is 50 metres from Lancaster Gate tube on the central line, only 8 minutes walk to Paddington station and the Heathrow Express and 15 minutes walk to Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill, Albert Hall and so close to all the major attractions including the new Westfield shopping centre and the Paddington Basin. The hotel features 4 meeting rooms up to 90 guests, free powerful WiFi in all areas, a fitness studio, large air conditioned lounge with an all day menu. The hotel has three restaurant concepts - seasonal and quality British dishes, an authentic Malaysian menu and Bel Canto Opera dining where opera students act as waiters and sing a wide range of Operatic classics whilst you dine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Corus Hotel Hyde Park London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corus Hotel London
Corus Hyde Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing