We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Corus Hotel Hyde Park London
Ranked #513 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Poor stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The location was good but that's where it finishes the breakfast food was cold and our friends had to move rooms because the room leaked on their bed in the middle of the night and no recon pence was offered they need no update rooms ours was supposed to be a superior room I would hate to see a normal room

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    1,391
    963
    432
    217
See reviews for
528
1,472
160
706
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
High Peak Derbyshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I stayed on business for one night in June. The hotel reception was quite slick though no information about meals and timings were given during check in. The room was quite small, clean and compact. Bathroom was dated and the shower was quite cramped. The room had an inwards looking view and would be very dull if staying over one night. Food at the restaurant was acceptable if not a little pricey (it is London after all). The live pianist during dinner was a nice touch. I was a little annoyed to be told that the service charge was compulsory when at the restaurant check in a sign clearly stated that it was not. I don't mind giving a tip but, when it is just assumed and put onto your bill without comment then I find that quite bad mannered. Breakfast was good though the service was average. I had to go and find a waiter and ask for coffee rather than being asked when I was seated. Overall it was ok for a one night business trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbdiggerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The location of this hotel is fantastic, a five minute walk to the nearest tube station and across the road from Hyde Park, which is great for a stroll. The rooms are tiny but clean. Breakfast was not fantastic, in a strange room in what seems to be the basement. Our check in was a disaster as there were no rooms available for more than 3 hours after the regular check in time, and we could not even upgrade our room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cl_traveller82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is an excellent hotel for quality and service , very easy to check in and rooms were available earley so able to drop off bags and refresh early . plenty of choice of refreshments in the room. Everything was really clean , we were spolit with dressing gowns , slippers and chocolates. Every member of staff was most helpful and accommodating . Great location for theatre , shopping and restaurants , with the added bonus of being a quiet hotel, will definitely be returning and recommending to friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mayReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

As a business traveller I get to stay in many hotels, also in London. I rate this as my worst experience for the following reasons:

1. Varying price over 4 days from GBP170 to GBP270

2. For this I got the smallest room I have stayed in London, bed against the wall on one side, ceiling so low when standing in the bath to shower, I had to bend to get my head under the shower. The noise level facing Bay sweater Road was so bad I asked to change my room to the back, no double glazing

3. Breakfast offering barely average, but the dirty cloth covered seats where disgusting, I looked at 3 chairs before selecting the cleanest one. Don't go downstairs, that is like sitting in a cellar and about as much atmosphere

4. Staff is 100% foreigners that I came into contact with and at breakfast I had one that spoke no English, at reception one manages to communicate

In general the hotel appears to be squeezed for every cent by its owners with minute rooms, saving on staff, maintenance and general upkeep. One can see remnants that this must once have been a grand hotel, but now it's a tourist trap for one stay in a lifetime type of customers.
Highly recommend giving this a miss, despite its great location.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
9 Thank Oliver K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, fantastic location 2mins walk to Lancaster gate tube and 5 mins to paddington station. Hotel overlooks Hyde park lovely to stroll there in the morning. Had a room on the 8th floor which considering was a sings was quite spacious. Room was spotlessly clean. Staff friendly concierge staff were particularly helpful. Didn't have breakfast in the hotel as not included in the package and £14:95 was a little steep. Plenty of cafés in the area. Hotel is close to several bars and restaurants. Would stay here again

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had 4 days at the Corus with our friends it is a very average Hotel we had problems checking in apparently they only had record of one double room being booked and not 2 until we showed them the document it took a long time to get booked in which was not impressive,the rooms were ok .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfadik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#433 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
London Elizabeth Hotel
#654 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel
#401 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#347 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Elysee Hotel
#577 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corus Hotel Hyde Park London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corus Hotel Hyde Park London

Property: Corus Hotel Hyde Park London
Address: 1-7 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#327 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Corus Hotel Hyde Park London 4*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corus Hyde Park is a 4 star, 389 air conditioned bedroom hotel for business and leisure guests and is in a spacious location overlooking Hyde Park. Corus is 50 metres from Lancaster Gate tube on the central line, only 8 minutes walk to Paddington station and the Heathrow Express and 15 minutes walk to Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill, Albert Hall and so close to all the major attractions including the new Westfield shopping centre and the Paddington Basin. The hotel features 4 meeting rooms up to 90 guests, free powerful WiFi in all areas, a fitness studio, large air conditioned lounge with an all day menu. The hotel has three restaurant concepts - seasonal and quality British dishes, an authentic Malaysian menu and Bel Canto Opera dining where opera students act as waiters and sing a wide range of Operatic classics whilst you dine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Corus Hotel Hyde Park London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corus Hotel London
Corus Hyde Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing