We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your pennies! Very dissappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Corus Hotel Hyde Park London
Ranked #512 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't waste your pennies! Very dissappointing”
Reviewed 7 July 2006

My husband and I booked in for three nights at the beginning of July, during a very hot period in London. The hotel claims to be a four star and is no more than a very shabby three star tourist hotel. Who refurbished this hotel? Clearly someone with a fascination for the early eighties and for man made fibres and blue gingham.
The Executive Double room, whilst a decent large size, has no more than a small double bed (nothing like the normal Kingsize you would expect in other hotels), the sheets are cheap and rough and have seen better days. The television is a tiny old box at the top of a shelf in the corner of the room. We were told that as we were in an Executive room, we were fortunate to have air-conditioning. What a laugh! It didn't work and faintly generated a tiny breeze of tepid air so the room was unbearably hot. The paltry toiletries in the bathroom consisted of squeezable bottle of detergent style handsoap and liquid soap in the shower (no shampoo, no soap bar, no shower cap, no moisturiser, no face washers, and definitely nothing like a sewing or vanity kit etc).
The refurbishment consisted of very cheap office style furniture (alright if you have an itchy back, but otherwise very uncomfortable). There is no minibar in the room (a four star hotel with no mini bar? even many three star hotels have them!) There are no glasses if you bring your own drinks - just a couple of plastic cups in the bathroom.
The room service breakfast is a 'take it or leave it' approach. You can choose between watery tea or coffee and it comes with small boxes of cornflakes and stale bread rolls/croissant. If you want sugar with your tea or coffee at breakfast, make sure you ask for it as it doesn't come automatically!! On the second day, the breakfast was delivered at 6.35am instead of at the ordered time of 7.15-7.30. On redelivery, it was late - more like 7.45.
Clearly, there is also a problem with the level of English comprehension with the staff and an appaling lack of service attitude.
Beware - Lancaster Gate tube station is closed for refurbishment, so the closest operating tube station is Paddington station, which is not on the Central Line, so if you stay here purely for location, check beforehand.
What a dire hotel - I really feel that there is a bit of false advertising. For goodness sake - stay at the Royal Park, it's not that much more expensive and at least they make an effort! There is no minibar there either, but you get free drinks and the rooms are quality!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IHaveABlackDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    1,446
    995
    438
    219
See reviews for
562
1,533
164
722
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 June 2006

once i had booked this hotel i stumbled upon some rather negative comments about the rooms and the staff at the corus, and needless to say i was a little apprehensive.

I shouldn't have worried!!

The staff were excellent, very polite and helpful, the concierge, Benno, was a great guy who just loved to help. The rooms, yes, a little on the small side, but it was clean, and quiet. And come on, you're in London for gods sake, why would you bee overly concerned with how big your room was, its a place to lay your head before another busy day shopping, sightseeing or drinking!!

All in all i loved this hotel and will definitely be staying there again!!!

Beware though, in july Lancaster gate is shutting, temporarily, best to check where nearest tube station is, other than this one for that time, might not be too far, just a point to note.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2006

I stayed here for one night on business and whilst I was hardly bowled over by this hotel it was better than some I have recently stayed in.

The rooms were VERY VERY small and unbearably hot (there was no air conditioning available) but clean and well looked after. Unfortunately as it was so hot in the room I had to sleep with the window open which meant that I was awaken very early in the morning by the sound of traffic rushing past the window (the hotel is located on a busy road opposite Hyde Park and having the window open was unavoidable) I shouldnt imagine this is a problem in the winter but I will certainly be avoiding this hotel again in the summer!!!

The bathroom was small but modern (even more so than in the bedrooms) and would have been too small for two people sharing a room.

Service at check-in and during breakfast was friendly and the staff in the breakfast room were very attentive and friendly. Breakfast also seemed very fresh and plentiful.

Lancaster Gate tube station is a stones throw from the hotel and is located on the Central line so its very easy to get almost anywhere within a short space of time.

I would only stay at this hotel again if I had a limited budget but it will not be my first choice.

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SDLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 June 2006

We stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel is located across from Hyde Park, a few blocks from the Underground Lancaster Gate Terminal.

Our room was very tiny, and had a comfortable queen bed, in-room safe, and a very nice bathroom. The decor was modern, and appealing. Cleaning staff was very friendly and efficient. Our towels and complimentary soaps were stocked daily.

The continental breakfast consisted of cereals, croissants, fresh fruit, tea, coffee, milk and juice. The staff were very attentive and courteous.

We would definately stay here again! We loved the cleanliness and the upgraded amenities in the rooms, as well as the friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2006

We only had 1 night at Corus hotel on a 2 day stopover in London. We found the location great, close to Lancaster Gate station and bus stops. One of the tourist busses stops just around the corner too so this was perfect for us sight seeing.
From the minute we walked in the door we felt welcome and the friendly staff couldn't have been more helpful. The staff told us where to get the tourist bus, where to catch the bus to Notting Hill(and how much to expect to pay), Sightseeing things not to miss out on. We arived early (9am) so our room wasn't ready so we were happy to leave our bags and go sight seeing. We were upgraded for our troubles and the room was lovely. Modern, clean and a good size.
We did find the breakfast the next morning a little dissapointing, I had a killer hang over and needed a coffee but there were no clean cups available, so I asked and was told they wouldn't be long but they only brought out a few at a time so everyone rushed in and I missed out the first 3 lots. They didn't seem to have much of anything and there was still guests arriving for their breakfast.
The hotel was happy to hold our bags till 7pm so we could make the most off our time in London.
We would definately stay here if we were to visit London again.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zekenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2006

We arrived well before check in time, but were pleased to hear that our room was ready. The weather was brilliant, but due to the lack of air conditioning in standard rooms, meant that the room was very stuffy. There was a fan and we did open the window, which helped, but I'm sure the heat would have been too much for some, I did see notices in reception welcoming you to upgrade your room to superior with air conditioning for an extra £30 a night, I think if we'd been staying any longer than two nights we might have had to.
The room was clean, bathroom was on the small size but more than made up for with the brilliant shower. The room was a decent size but the bed was pushed into the corner, maybe not so good if you don't like (like me!) being up against the wall to sleep.
The reception and bar area are lovelly, and the staff friendly and helpful.
The location in brilliant, 2 minutes from Lancaster Gate tube station, and right across the road from Hyde Park, well worth a wander round, especially in the brilliant weather we had.
In all, a great little hotel, especially when you can get a good deal on Lastminute.com like we did. But if I was to stay for longer than a couple of nights I would definetely have to upgrade rooms.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AnohrJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrimack
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2006

May, 2006
Four of us have just returned from a 6 night stay at the Corus Hotel on Hyde Park, London. We were all very pleased with the staff, the rooms, and the breakfast (which was included in the price for the room). The rooms were clean, more spacious then what we expected, and the service was very good. The staff was accomodating and pleasant at all times. During our stay we had many questions for the Concierge staff, all of whom were very helpful and patient. We reserved two rooms, each for 99 British Pounds per night, including a full English breakfast. Breakfast was served on the bottom floor, in a sunny and very clean room, and breakfast was buffet style. We had cold cereals, a few juices, fruit, sausages, bacon, eggs (both scrambled and fried), fried tomatoes, and sliced fried potatoes from which to choose. Once we were seated, the wait staff was immediately at our side to question our preference for coffee or tea and toast. Prior to our visit, I contacted the hotel about my concern for the size of the rooms, due to the height of the men in our party. The person who spoke to me was pleasant, understanding and typed a note into the computer while we were speaking; the rooms we were given accomodated the height of the men. The window opened part way - enough to receive the cool breeze of May and the air conditioning, although not powerful, did help on a couple of nights. There is a small restaurant in the hotel, as well as a bar area where we could order food late in the evening. We have no complaints about this hotel, and if ever in London again, we would certainly go back.

Helpful?
4 Thank Merrimack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#359 of 1,067 in London
885 reviews
Best Western Mornington Hotel
#414 of 1,067 in London
760 reviews
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#435 of 1,067 in London
2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#288 of 1,067 in London
1,929 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#198 of 1,067 in London
921 reviews
London Elizabeth Hotel
#792 of 1,067 in London
1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corus Hotel Hyde Park London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corus Hotel Hyde Park London

Property: Corus Hotel Hyde Park London
Address: 1-7 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#320 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Corus Hotel Hyde Park London 4*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corus Hyde Park is a 4 star, 389 air conditioned bedroom hotel for business and leisure guests and is in a spacious location overlooking Hyde Park. Corus is 50 metres from Lancaster Gate tube on the central line, only 8 minutes walk to Paddington station and the Heathrow Express and 15 minutes walk to Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill, Albert Hall and so close to all the major attractions including the new Westfield shopping centre and the Paddington Basin. The hotel features 4 meeting rooms up to 90 guests, free powerful WiFi in all areas, a fitness studio, large air conditioned lounge with an all day menu. The hotel has three restaurant concepts - seasonal and quality British dishes, an authentic Malaysian menu and Bel Canto Opera dining where opera students act as waiters and sing a wide range of Operatic classics whilst you dine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corus Hotel Hyde Park London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corus Hotel London
Corus Hyde Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing