We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Acceptable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Browns Brasserie & Bar Mayfair

Browns Brasserie & Bar Mayfair
Ranked #1,870 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$19 - US$37
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Mayfair
Description: Browns, Mayfair The Browns building in Mayfair was originally Wells & Co, a high-end gentlemen's outfitters. (We believe that Winston Churchill was once fitted for a suit here). It still retains some fantastic period features and the grand 19th century decor makes it a great venue There are some small private rooms (originally fitting rooms) available for private functions for up to 20 people. Join us for drinks, lunch or dinner after shopping in nearby Regent Street or New Bond Street. It's the perfect place to relax and unwind in this cosmopolitan part of London.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Acceptable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Dined last minute on a Tuesday night. Arrived at 8 and the venue was less than half full.
Waiter was over eager and a little too familiar for my liking.
Cocktail order wrong to begin with so incorrect drinks delivered to our table. Starter of prawn cocktail was perfectly acceptable for the price. The lamb main course however arrived within 90 seconds of our starters having been cleared. There was a film on the gravy so clearly this had all been plated too early and sat under hot lights.
Dessert was nice though more ice cream would have been welcome.
All in all perfectly acceptable but could easily have been better.

Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveller3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Browns_Mayfair, General Manager at Browns Brasserie & Bar Mayfair, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Happytraveller3004
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all constructive comments so that we can learn and improve where necessary.
I do hope to see you again in Browns Mayfair soon.
Regards Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    158
    52
    39
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Virginia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Dining at its Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I will forever remember my dinner experience at Browns. The history and atmosphere of the building is great in itself. The food and service was fantastic. Each course was beautifully prepared and presented. The wine list was exquisite as well. This is one of the first restaurants I would visit if I ever find myself back in London.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Browns_Mayfair, General Manager at Browns Brasserie & Bar Mayfair, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Stephanie C
Thank you very much for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed the food, service and history of our beautiful restaurant.
I hope to see you back in Browns Mayfaior on your next visit to London.
Regards Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We went to Browns on a Monday night, looking for a light dinner, something a little trendy and upscale. We were not disappointed. We had the chicken and leek pie, which was very flavorful, with a lovely light crust. The salad was also light and delicious. Service was very good. We would net hesitate to go back

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank L33333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Browns_Mayfair, Manager at Browns Brasserie & Bar Mayfair, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Georgina, thank you for your kind words, glad you had a great time and enjoyed our food and service. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Many Thanks
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great location good staff nice food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Was taken here for lunch and there was 3 of us. We had not booked but by the time we ordered a drink at the bar a few minutes later a table was found and we were taken to it.

We had the liver parfait and a crab salad. I'm told that the crab salad was nice but would have been nicer if it had any crab in it. The liver parfait was very nice but such a small portion.

I had a ribeye steak that was delicious. The anchovy butter has an acquired taste but still nice.

The other 2 had a chicken dish and all I can say is that it all went the plates were both empty and they were very complimentary.

Overall a loverly lunch, good service. The starters we felt let the meal down either tasteless or very minute!



Helpful?
Thank r50lts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Browns_Mayfair, Manager at Browns Brasserie & Bar Mayfair, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking your time to provide feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed the ambiance and dinning experience at Browns Mayfair, and we will strive to ensure that we serving the correct size and combination of ingredients, such as the amount of crab in the dish. We hope to see you again soon!
Many Thanks
Dan and the Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wow, still amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

I visited today for a quick lunch with colleagues and was blown away by the incredible hospitality and fantastic food we enjoyed

The Manager, a lovely gentleman, english late 30's made us welcome and suggested both our wine: a lovely Oregon red, as well as our as our amazing burger and my amazing Turbot

Thanks again for a lovely lunch

Helpful?
Thank Hospitalitygav007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Browns_Mayfair, Manager at Browns Brasserie & Bar Mayfair, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thankyou for the lovely review, we really do appreciate all good comment! Will be sure to keep up the good hospitality ! Please do visit us soon! Alice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Browns Brasserie & Bar Mayfair also viewed

 

Been to Browns Brasserie & Bar Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing