We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendid.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn London - Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Kensington
Ranked #615 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Fjugesta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Splendid.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

Took a short journey just over the weekend and slept 3 nights at kensington close hotel. Nice rooms, very bright and enough space to breathe and have a nice time at the hotel(some hotels got so small rooms.). The breakfast was splendid and the staff both in the lobby and at the restaurant were nice and helpful. If you're going to kensington, I can recomend this hotel.

Helpful?
2 Thank Christoffer B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

3,917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    1,393
    1,023
    532
    349
See reviews for
601
1,482
187
830
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed on the 24th January, thankfully for only one night. The hotel was per-booked for us as my husband was attending a business meeting. The room was so cold we has to go and sit in the bar area until we went out for dinner. The room itself was awful, desperately in need of updating, I've stayed in better premier inns. The internet charge was £10.00 per day, and if you wanted to store your bag for a few hours after checking out, you get charged a £1.00
On the plus side. The staff are very pleasant although they didn't do anything about our cold room despite our complaint. The tube station is a couple of minutes walk from the hotel and taxis are always available. Good restaurants and shops within walking distance.
Would we stay here again, definitely not.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Angiebabe846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

Spent hours looking for a reasonable priced hotel with easy acces to Londons attractions, the main thing was the spa as we wanted to unwind for the weekend, arrived to check in and was asked if we wanted to upgrade rooms from a standard to an executive double for £40 total for two nights as these rooms have been refurbished on the 8th floor,so we went ahead still small but very clean, ordered breakfast to the room which was on time but cold, would advise to eat in resteraunt as food hot and good standard, woke up first morning to cold water in shower maintainance man came straight away and offered for us to use spa shower but we didn't want to go down eight floors for a shower so he had us moved to a club room straight away on fourth floor ( great) but this room was tired and worn, so then we were moved to the first floor back in a double executive, phewwwww, time to relax and go have a jacuzzi after all that's what we are here for, got ready and headed down to spa, oh sorry jacuzzi broken waitng for spare parts will be here Monday ( shame we are leaving Sunday ) apart from that great hotel to access tubes to travel and staff helpful

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julieandrews1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my sister on my hen night. We also booked an afternoon tea for 15 people in the afternoon. Customer care was awful, despite telling my sister they would call her back regarding the room booking, she never heard back and had to call 3 times before she got the room booked, providing all her card details. Imagine our dismay when we arrived to find an unsympathetic receptionist informing us that our booking didn't exist. After a 5 minute wait we were told that they had booked it for the 26 Feb instead. They had no twin rooms left but gave us an 'upgraded' double room 'free of charge'. The room was newly decorated and clean but tiny. And we had originally been quoted on the telephone a price which included breakfast and was now told we had to pay £12.50 each for breakfast, so the upgrade wasn't free at all. At breakfast the next day we tried to put the breakfast on our room to be paid on checkout but told this couldn't happen because we hadn't provided our credit card details - but I had done this the day before- so had to find cash whilst our food was getting cold. Breakfast also was now magically costing £15- it's like the vast numbers of staff have received different information and not spoken to one another on the prices and systems for doing things. Most staff looked unhappy to be there and my sister had to wait 10 minutes and ask several times for some bacon to be brought out. We wanted our £15 worth!
The afternoon tea was well organised and very nice, although potions were small but they were happy to bring more sandwiches, jam and cream- but this could be slow, they were clearly stretched but being told "they are other people we have to serve you know" when you are spending around £500 is unacceptable. The surroundings, chairs etc were smart and comfortable and Miriam, who my sister made the booking with was organised and friendly.
Thankfully the evening section of my hen do - which was not in the hotel- was fantastic!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Becca_steadman83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donegal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

really enjoyed our recent 3 night stay here. twin room was a little small but beds very comfortable and excellent shower.
reception area has been revamped since our last visit + is lovely. breakfast was very good + staff were very attentive.
kensington high street tube is just around the corner. we walked to royal albert hall ( 10 mins) + on to harrods ( a further 10 mins) + got the tube back.
If i'm to be nit-picky the towels were hard but I will be back anyway!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teenage-mutants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

We didnt stay but had a voucher for use in the spa area. This was supposed to include sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and pool.

When we got there we were told the jacuzzi was down which was very disappointing but they often seem to go down so I tried not to judge based on that.

We noticed in reception that the ceiling was broken with plastering showing where lights had been moved and not finished.

When I got in the changing room there were broken lockers and broken showers. The saunas were in the changing rooms so I couldn't share with my partner and his were broken. The pool had three chairs and a bench, all taken by towels being left.

The steam room was okay but crowded. In the end we cut the whole thing short and left much earlier than planned.

All in all run down and a bit grubby. Makes you wonder what behind the scenes in the rest of the hotel is like.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights at this hotel from 24-26 January - friends who'd travelled with us had booked in at the Marriott Marble Arch. There is no comparison between the two and how we wished we'd followed them there.
The room allocated couldn't have been further away from the lift and was cold from the start. The room though spacious, comprised two singe beds pushed together, which comprised our requested "double-bed" accommodation.
The bathroom was tired and old with a barely half-size bath. Floor-tiles were chipped and blackened. The hotel "generously" provided us with two very small tubes of shower-gel and shampoo, never mind conditioner for my wife. The refreshments comprised three tea-bags and some sugar and milk containers, no biscuits. No ironing facilities were available in the room. So much for a warm welcome on a very cold day.
The Wifi service charge was £10 for one hour and the leisure facilities another £8 each per person. It's not all in the price folks! They were free at the Marriott of course.
We were very disappointed with this very large hotel, the only saving grace being the relatively friendly and helpful staff. Considering its less than central location, I would not recommend it to anyone especially for the expensive price we paid for our stay.

Room Tip: Check that the price includes advertised extras like leisure facilities and wi-fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jimcoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
South Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#377 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Kensington

Property: Holiday Inn London - Kensington
Address: Wrights Lane | Kensington, London W8 5SP, England (Formerly Kensington Close Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Spa Hotel in London
#357 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn London - Kensington is a beautiful 4-star hotel centrally located near Kensington High Street tube station and a short walk from Kensington Palace & Gardens, Royal Albert Hall, Earls Court and the West End. The Hotel has 708 well-equipped non-smoking bedrooms including Executive bedrooms and Suites. Enjoy fresh seasonal dishes in the brasserie or a drink in the sunny private garden. Business traveller's appreciate the powerful WiFi service, wide ranging room service menu and an executive lounge for VIPs too. State of the art meeting facilities for up to 250 delegates are ideal for meetings, dinners and weddings. Shopping at Westfield and Oxford Street is a short distance away. Imagine Health Club and Spa includes a fantastic new gym and an 18 metre swimming pool with sauna, steam rooms and jacuzzi. The Spa offers an enticing selection of massage, facial and beauty treatments with our expert therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Close London
Hotel Kensington Close
Kensington Close Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing