We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reception, bar, restaurant great.....rooms awful!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn London - Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Kensington
Ranked #615 of 1,089 Hotels in London
warmingham
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Reception, bar, restaurant great.....rooms awful!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

I have just in the hotel and found it a strange place indeed. You go from a recently refurnished reception, bar and restaurant area downstairs to a different world up stairs. My room smelt of damp, which never went away. I rang down to reception to complain and despite being told I would be rung back I was never contacted. The room was very tired, basic, head boards that were no where near the end of the bed, the bathroom was narrow, very claustrophobic and in need of an urgent make over. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oliver r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    1,393
    1,023
    532
    349
See reviews for
601
1,482
187
830
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

I stayed here on a business trip for a single night in January 2013. First impressions were very good, the service was excellent and the lobby and reception area looked impressive.
Throughout the short stay the staff were very helpful and friendly, I couldn't find a bad word to say about them.
However, the room was not up to the same standard. I expect a small room in central London, but this took it too far. It was clean, but was beginning to need a full redecoration. My main complaint however was that there was a complete lack of soundproofing. If you are a light sleeper, this is definitely not the hotel for you. Bathroom fans running loudly all night in neighbouring rooms, clearly audible conversations from rooms across the corridor, doors banging all night; all of these things kept me awake until the very small hours and ensured I did not have the energy I needed on the next day.
As a final moan, I was also very surprised to find that as a guest I was still expected to pay £8 to use the spa and pool. This was unexpected as in the past I have always been able to use these facilities for free when staying in a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GJS1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Our visit was one night in mid December. We got a good deal.The location for the tube and shops excellent. The staff were very friendley and helpful. Our room was on the first floor and yes it was cold. Our view was of a flat roof no problem with that but the roof looked like an ash tray.
Room- Clean but small
Bathroom- small, Taking a shower was funny as I sepent most of the time attached to the shower curtin. The toilet area, lets just say once you are in. If anyone has seen Mrs Brown's Boys on TV when she put a new toilet under the stairs. A bit like that.
Food and Drink. expensive.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here for our honeymoon Jan/Feb 2012 and we were very unimpressed.
Tiny room (had to climb over the bed to get to the window to close the curtain), broken mirror with gaffer tape stuck over it, broken lock on bathroom and very rude staff. Not even a congratulations when I mentioned we were on our honeymoon. A waitress at the bar even audibly sighed and rolled her eyes when we asked could we order food.
We travel to London at least once a year but we will definitely be avoiding this hotel from now on.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann-Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fjugesta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

Took a short journey just over the weekend and slept 3 nights at kensington close hotel. Nice rooms, very bright and enough space to breathe and have a nice time at the hotel(some hotels got so small rooms.). The breakfast was splendid and the staff both in the lobby and at the restaurant were nice and helpful. If you're going to kensington, I can recomend this hotel.

Helpful?
2 Thank Christoffer B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed on the 24th January, thankfully for only one night. The hotel was per-booked for us as my husband was attending a business meeting. The room was so cold we has to go and sit in the bar area until we went out for dinner. The room itself was awful, desperately in need of updating, I've stayed in better premier inns. The internet charge was £10.00 per day, and if you wanted to store your bag for a few hours after checking out, you get charged a £1.00
On the plus side. The staff are very pleasant although they didn't do anything about our cold room despite our complaint. The tube station is a couple of minutes walk from the hotel and taxis are always available. Good restaurants and shops within walking distance.
Would we stay here again, definitely not.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Angiebabe846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

Spent hours looking for a reasonable priced hotel with easy acces to Londons attractions, the main thing was the spa as we wanted to unwind for the weekend, arrived to check in and was asked if we wanted to upgrade rooms from a standard to an executive double for £40 total for two nights as these rooms have been refurbished on the 8th floor,so we went ahead still small but very clean, ordered breakfast to the room which was on time but cold, would advise to eat in resteraunt as food hot and good standard, woke up first morning to cold water in shower maintainance man came straight away and offered for us to use spa shower but we didn't want to go down eight floors for a shower so he had us moved to a club room straight away on fourth floor ( great) but this room was tired and worn, so then we were moved to the first floor back in a double executive, phewwwww, time to relax and go have a jacuzzi after all that's what we are here for, got ready and headed down to spa, oh sorry jacuzzi broken waitng for spare parts will be here Monday ( shame we are leaving Sunday ) apart from that great hotel to access tubes to travel and staff helpful

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julieandrews1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
South Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#377 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Kensington

Property: Holiday Inn London - Kensington
Address: Wrights Lane | Kensington, London W8 5SP, England (Formerly Kensington Close Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Spa Hotel in London
#357 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn London - Kensington is a beautiful 4-star hotel centrally located near Kensington High Street tube station and a short walk from Kensington Palace & Gardens, Royal Albert Hall, Earls Court and the West End. The Hotel has 708 well-equipped non-smoking bedrooms including Executive bedrooms and Suites. Enjoy fresh seasonal dishes in the brasserie or a drink in the sunny private garden. Business traveller's appreciate the powerful WiFi service, wide ranging room service menu and an executive lounge for VIPs too. State of the art meeting facilities for up to 250 delegates are ideal for meetings, dinners and weddings. Shopping at Westfield and Oxford Street is a short distance away. Imagine Health Club and Spa includes a fantastic new gym and an 18 metre swimming pool with sauna, steam rooms and jacuzzi. The Spa offers an enticing selection of massage, facial and beauty treatments with our expert therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia and Lastminute so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Close London
Hotel Kensington Close
Kensington Close Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing