We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very poor hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street
Ranked #593 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 28 March 2013

this is the second review i write for this hotel-somehow you have erased my first one-i even had an answer from the hotel. well iwas there in 2008. terrible hotel-impolite people working there-no tea coffee facilities in the very small room-not basic things for breakfast as it was easter time (that was the answer of the resonsilble one)-we had to ask twice to bring up to the room toilet paper-no bath tube. 5 terrible hotel nights. the only thing that upgrades this hotel is the location

Room Tip: you better not go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pdgiama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,005 - 3,011 of 4,334 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2013

Words are not enough to describe my experience at this hotel which I would rate 2 stars at most. The rooms are incredibly small and shabby with not even enough space to open the suitcase. The first evening and night were great with only ice-cold water and the discovery that WiFi didn't work in my room whilst the TV has only 20 channels, all of them English... Furthermore, the rooms are terribly cold (AC switches off when you leave them) and the beds are too short, so that you have to sleep in foetal position.

The breakfast and the food in general defy description (totally inedible) so that I concentrated on toast with butter and jam until even this became impossible on Sunday when there was no butter at breakfast (not bad for a hotel with hundreds of rooms).

Some of the staff were very rude and they all had in common a way of saying they were sorry but couldn't do anything which was infuriating in itself.

A place never to get back to!

Room Tip: chose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank D65_Greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Stayed here for three nights, after three years from our first year and i'm impressed, the whole lobby and reception area has been completely renovated with the bar being completely relocated to the front and the breakfast area to the back. The check in process was very quick, staff were very helpful and we got to our room in no time.
In the room, you are supplied with tea, a hair dryer, fresh towels and a TV. Rooms are serviced daily, don't forget to place the small hanger/leaflet on the front of your door to let cleaners know, we forgot on the first morning!
The hotel itself is surrounded by plenty of eateries, if you're room rate doesn't include breakfast,don't worry, you are completely spoiled for choice, the eateries include the muffin man and M&S at the tube station.
The hotel's closest tube station is High Street Kensington which serves the Circle and District lines. You are easily able to reach all London's main tourists attractions within a couple of minutes by tube.
The hotel has a pool and gym but beware, you have to pay for these separately over your room rate, this also applies for Wi-fi, £9.95 for twenty four hours, a bit steep. It's just typical for London hotels to charge you separately for all the extras.

Room Tip: If you are in a room between 140 and 180, don't take the lift if you don't have to, if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekellyie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We booked a two night stay with Superbreak under their recommendation, however after reading reviews on trip adviser we were a little dubious that we may not have a newly refurbished room so I telephoned the hotel to arrange an upgrade. I was advised just to mention an upgrade at the point of checking in & paying the upgrage at that point which we didn't bother as we thought we would see what our room was like first before judging.
When we arrived we were told our rooms were on the eighth floor & needed a separate lift to get to the last floor. We instantly thought we were in an older room. Arriving onto the eighth floor we noticed that it looked brand spanking new and whe we got to our rooms we were more than pleasantly surprised. The room was massive, bed huge, fab views across London, bathroom had separate bath & shower all brand new refurb done.
Not to forget that all the staff were extremely helpful.
Brekkie was also really good, especially for buffet style, they catered for everyone.
Hotel was brilliantly located too.
Would 100% return to this fab hotel & recommend.
However my review may not have been this good if we had, had a older room that had not been refurbished. Hopefully they will eventually get round to upgrading all the rooms.

Thankyou for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Eighth floor rooms seem to be brand new, spacious and refurbed to a high standard. However not sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisahackett82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

My group of 7 ladies had a lovely afternoon tea last Saturday. Not only is this is relaxing place to sit, but we enjoyed plentiful sandwiches, and large warm scones, clotted cream and jam, topped off with a plentiful supply of cakes. My niece also thought it was the best hot chocolate she had all weekend, even beating one she had at Harrods! If you don't want to pay a fortune but still want the comfy armchairs, a bit of style, and a nice afternoon tea, this is the place to go in Kensington.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenclose, Group Operations Director at Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Dear Alison C,

Thank you for this review on your recent Afternoon Tea visit at the Kensington Close Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you and your niece enjoyed the warm and stylish ambiance of our lounge for afternoon tea – a fast growing favourite!

Feedback such as yours encourages us to continue delivering only the highest quality products and services and developing as a destination hotel. Thank you once again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for tea- and hot chocolate!


Kind Regards,
Zeljko Stasevic
Group Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Just returned from 1 night. Great location just 2mins walk from Kensington High St tube. Room small, but clean & basic with all you could need. Bar area lovely - their afternoon teas looked great! Breakfast buffet had lots of choice & well cooked. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenclose, Group Operations Director at Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Dear Louisa D,

Thank you for choosing the Kensington Close Hotel and for providing us with your experience on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you found our location ideal just minutes walk from High Street Kensington and the tube station making it a convenient base for your London stay. Moreover, I am pleased that you enjoyed our large breakfast selection and bar area- and do hope you will have the opportunity to take our afternoon tea on your next visit- as it is a fast growing favorite!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Zeljko Stasevic
Group Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We stayed here at the same time of year last year, we go to the Albert Hall for TCT, the hotel is well situated it is a 15 minute walk. Last year the hotel was under renovation / upgrade but it was still a pleasant stay, this year we can see the difference it is bright clean and fresh looking.
Our room was a double exec, it was a little small for an exec but very clean well laid out and had all the usual amenities, hair dryer, tea coffee making etc. the room was very clean and well presented.
All the hotel staff are pleasant and helpful, we noticed the doorman carrying luggage etc on a couple of occasions all the way to the lifts not just to reception. the menu for the bar meals / light bites are limited and a little pricey but you are in London in a captive area, the food is freshly cooked and well presented.
Breakfast was included as part of our stay and you have a choice of either cooked for you from the menu or a help yourself buffet style full English or the usual continental, the food was fresh and tasty it wasn't the usual cheep plastic tasting sausage or salty bacon you can either see through or looks like a gammon steak. the only thing we have marked the hotel down for was the coffee at breakfast, very slow in coming and we had to ask twice for the milk we gave up in the end as the coffee was cold. there is a Nero's a couple of minutes away where we had a decent hot coffee.
We would / will stay here again the next time we are in this part of London.

Room Tip: we have had an internal view room twice now on the second floor, it is quite with no traffic or serv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spikethebeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenclose, Group Operations Director at Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Dear Spikethebeachbum,

Thank you for your continued patronage, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us at the Kensington Close Hotel.
It is encouraging to hear that you found a signification improvement since your last visit as we have undergone major refurbishment to our guestrooms, bar/lounge area and reception. I am glad that our accommodation with all its new amenities/facilities, breakfast selection and great customer service contributed to your overall pleasant stay with us. Please do accept my sincere apologies for the slow service in delivering the coffee during breakfast service, this has been duly noted and will be communicated to all relevant departments and ensure that the service is consistent throughout.

Thank you once again for your helpful feedback and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Zeljko Stasevic
Group Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
South Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#59 of 1,077 in London
3,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street

Address: Wrights Lane | Kensington, London W8 5SP, England (Formerly Kensington Close Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#75 Spa Hotel in London
#351 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £98 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street is a beautiful 4-star hotel centrally located near Kensington High Street tube station and a short walk from Kensington Palace & Gardens, Royal Albert Hall, Earls Court and the West End. The Hotel has 708 well-equipped non-smoking bedrooms including Executive bedrooms and Suites. Enjoy fresh seasonal dishes in the brasserie or a drink in the sunny private garden. Business traveller's appreciate the powerful WiFi service, wide ranging room service menu and an executive lounge for VIPs too. State of the art meeting facilities for up to 250 delegates are ideal for meetings, dinners and weddings. Shopping at Westfield and Oxford Street is a short distance away. Imagine Health Club and Spa includes a fantastic new gym and an 18 metre swimming pool with sauna, steam rooms and jacuzzi. The Spa offers an enticing selection of massage, facial and beauty treatments with our expert therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Close London
Hotel Kensington Close
Kensington Close Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing