We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonably priced, good location, however small rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn London - Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Kensington
Ranked #617 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Darlington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced, good location, however small rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in this hotel during the bank holiday. We were not disappointed.

There are positive and negatives about this hotel. Firstly the location is great in the centre of Kensington and close to the tube station. The lobby and common areas were well kept and clean. However our room was very small as well as the bathroom. The furnishings in the room were very nice.

I would recommend this hotel if you are wanting a centrally located hotel in Kensington and pay less than £100.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pech020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul Q, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Pech020,

I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. It is true that our location is extremely convenient, within close proximity to "High Street Kensington's" Tube station and the local cafes, shops & restaurants. I sincerely hope we shall have the opportunity to welcome you back with us in the near future!


Kind regards,


Laszlo Nyari,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    1,392
    1,022
    531
    348
See reviews for
601
1,480
186
829
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (703)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
273 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Really great location in a superb area - This hotel obviously had an expensive make over for the Olympics and the reception area and restaurant are truly magnificent - however - the rooms are pretty shoddy and very small. Poorly equipped - No luggage racks - poor lighting for make-up and shaving - small bathroom with nowhere to put your toilet bag. Restaurant staff were extremely efficient and the breakfast was really good however the reception staff left a lot to be desired and were not too sure about what was going on. We were to meet up with a tour group here and they failed to advise us that there was a desk in the reception area handling our fellow travelers.

Room Tip: I haven't heard anyone say they have had a good room and there were thirty other people we met t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FOSSHILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul Q, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Fosshill,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We value all feedback whether it is positive or constructive. It is through such communication that we are given an opportunity to evaluate our performance, and focus on the areas that need to be addressed, ensuring we deliver the standard of service that our guests have come to expect from us.


Kind regards,

Laslzo Nyari
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Myself and a friend stayed in the Kensington close hotel for her birthday, check in was good, the room... Well more like a cupboard! It was tiny, the bath room was very tight and you could hardly move around the bed! The service was very slow behind reception and the staff were rude. We decided to use the spa the following day, 'one of the reasons we booked this hotel' well oh my god... You cannot call this a 4* spa, the lady behind the desk was so so rude, chucking towels at us both, the spa facilities were dreadful, the mould and dirt were so off putting for what should have been a relaxing birthday break, the jacuzzi was filthy and steam room, well lets say I took one look inside and didn't enter, the smell was horrific and the appearance was awful. We stayed 10 minutes then left. The location is the only thing going for this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelly105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul Q, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Kelly105,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We value all feedback whether it is positive or constructive. It is through such communication that we are given an opportunity to evaluate our performance, and focus on the areas that need to be addressed, ensuring we deliver the standard of service that our guests have come to expect from us.

Please accept our apologies that you did not enjoy your stay this time, we would like the opportunity to welcome you back to the Kensington Close Hotel and Spa for a better experience in the near future.


Kind regards,

Laszlo Nyari
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We checked in early and promptly scrambled off to the rugger at Twickers. On our return, the stench which greeted us upon opening our room door one could only describe as a mixture of rank, cheesy feet, freshly laid badger dung and a sprinkling of burnt hair. Having struggled valiantly to hold down my numerous pints of guiness and fought off my violent dry barfing reflex I called the reception and they found us another more sweetly smelling room, fair play. However, my bru was also staying on a different floor and had been located in a room just above some street digging gimps, who continued their work till daybreak. Thus, overall, don't stay here if you have acquired cheap rates from one of the last minute type sites, as this clearly means putting you in their worst possible rooms. Not nice?

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EddieTheStoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul Q, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Eddiethestoat,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We value all feedback whether it is positive or constructive. It is through such communication that we are given an opportunity to evaluate our performance, and focus on the areas that need to be addressed, ensuring we deliver the standard of service that our guests have come to expect from us.


Kind regards,

Laslzo Nyari
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed in this hotel at the weekend and have to say 4* is a huge exaggeration as the services was anything but 4*. I also have to add the website photos of the spa do not portray the real Spa which was is dirty, tired and in desperate need of an overhaul, and also not included in the price of your stay and is an additional cost. Certainly would not consider returning to this hotel and have to say that the front desk staff may want to try smiling and being more friendly as it always help when working in a customer facing role !!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul Q, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Theresa D,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We value all feedback whether it is positive or constructive. It is through such communication that we are given an opportunity to evaluate our performance, and focus on the areas that need to be addressed, ensuring we deliver the standard of service that our guests have come to expect from us.


Kind regards,


Laszlo Nyari
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel as we were visiting London for a concert and a break away. I'd just like to first of all, comment on all the staff we encountered with at the hotel. The staff couldn't be more friendlier from the moment we arrived, the gentleman to greet you outside the hotel helped me with my luggage up the stairs which was lovely. On checking in, the gentleman on reception was very friendly, explained to us everything we needed/wanted to know and we received offers and promotions that were happening in the hotel while we were there. Even the staff going through the hallways and lobby would greet you. The reception, lobby and bar are all very modern and spacious. Bedrooms are very small but the stay was comfortable, clean and a brilliant location just around the corner from the main high street kensington and the tube station!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul Q, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Becky799,

I was delighted to read your comments on what a wonderful stay you had. I hope you enjoyed the concert and we are looking forward to welcoming you back with us at the Kensington Close Hotel in the near future!


Kind regards,

Laszlo Nyari
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We had booked this hotel through a travel agent because of the location and they offered a great rate. However, when we checked in, we were told that the standard room we had booked was very small and we were offered the opportunity to upgrade to a "superior" room for "only" 20 pounds additional per night. Since we were expecting to get together with friends, we agreed to the upgrade. The room was tiny! I can't even imagine what the standard room looked like. The bathroom was also very tight and the shower curtain did not fit, so we had to move the toilet paper each time we took a shower so that it wouldn't get soaked. Dealing with the staff was frustrating, as they always seemed to have to refer you to someone else. I checked at the concierge desk for an updated wifi code (we had to pay for wifi and they changed the code each day), and was told I had to get the code from reception. Reception was extremely busy at that time, the concierge was not, and the concierge had given me the code the day before. Go figure! The next day, there were four employees at reception and no customers, so I asked if they could tell me how long it would take to get to Heathrow by taxi. I was told I had to ask at the concierge desk. I commented that the concierge desk was extremely busy and I just needed a general idea of how long it would take. The response was that I would need to ask the concierge but that anyone at that desk could help me. The four people at reception were just standing there. I still don't understand why they could not answer a simple question. There were a couple of occasions when I was sitting at the bar and a customer asked for a glass of ice to bring to his room. The response was that the customer should go to his room and call room service to deliver the ice. During the entire experience, it seemed that whoever you asked, it was not their job to help you. Positives: The location was great, and the breakfast was very good. We also enjoyed the bar, especially our bartender Zoelt.

Room Tip: If you are offered an upgrade from a standard to a superior room, understand that the superior room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAB_41_TRAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul Q, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear CAB_41_TRAV,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We value all feedback whether it is positive or constructive. It is through such communication that we are given an opportunity to evaluate our performance, and focus on the areas that need to be addressed, ensuring we deliver the standard of service that our guests have come to expect from us.


Kind regards,

Laslzo Nyari
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
South Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#62 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#379 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Kensington

Property: Holiday Inn London - Kensington
Address: Wrights Lane | Kensington, London W8 5SP, England (Formerly Kensington Close Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Spa Hotel in London
#359 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn London - Kensington is a beautiful 4-star hotel centrally located near Kensington High Street tube station and a short walk from Kensington Palace & Gardens, Royal Albert Hall, Earls Court and the West End. The Hotel has 708 well-equipped non-smoking bedrooms including Executive bedrooms and Suites. Enjoy fresh seasonal dishes in the brasserie or a drink in the sunny private garden. Business traveller's appreciate the powerful WiFi service, wide ranging room service menu and an executive lounge for VIPs too. State of the art meeting facilities for up to 250 delegates are ideal for meetings, dinners and weddings. Shopping at Westfield and Oxford Street is a short distance away. Imagine Health Club and Spa includes a fantastic new gym and an 18 metre swimming pool with sauna, steam rooms and jacuzzi. The Spa offers an enticing selection of massage, facial and beauty treatments with our expert therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Expedia and Lastminute so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Close London
Hotel Kensington Close
Kensington Close Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing