We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, convenient, the rest is average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Kensington
Ranked #619 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, convenient, the rest is average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Stayed here recently for four nights and convenience is fantastic. A short walk to underground and easy buses to Trafalgar Square. Rooms are quite small, hotel has an older feel. Breakfast was poor both in terms of service and quality. Concierge was very helpful with planning, directions, buses, timetables, helping with adhoc requests, etc. Did not like having to pay for WiFi at all. Would stay again but based on location rather than anything else at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul Q, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Dear Wendy P,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We value all feedback whether it is positive or constructive. It is through such communication that we are given an opportunity to evaluate our performance, and focus on the areas that need to be addressed, ensuring we deliver the standard of service that our guests have come to expect from us.


Kind regards,

Laszlo Nyari
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    1,413
    1,034
    538
    355
See reviews for
607
1,500
192
846
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (711)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

For last 20 years i' studied science and human perception. It also involve to travel into various locations in search of different standards of leaving and way customers are treated. Upon my arrival and entry to the building,there was no one to react to my presence. A single person operating switchboard and serving check in's. Well phone call was put before me so it tucked whole 5 min before i was able to check in. Rooms are small and compact design and wow toilet pan was dirty.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul Q, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Dear Peter J,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We value all feedback whether it is positive or constructive. It is through such communication that we are given an opportunity to evaluate our performance, and focus on the areas that need to be addressed, ensuring we deliver the standard of service that our guests have come to expect from us.


Kind regards,

Laszlo Nyari
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Hotel was lovely, my partner bought me a trip to London for my christmas present, and booked this hotel based on the positive reviews he had recieved from his firm who frequently use the hotel.
Rooms were rather small however, I'd say the bathroom was bigger than the hotel room itself! decor was very basic, wouldn't have said it was overly luxurious.

The hotel bar was very good, nice busy buzzing atmosphere, drinks weren't too expensive given that we knew london prices would be considerably higher here.

Location was brilliant, approximately a 5 minute walk from High Street Kensington which was very central for getting to the best sight seeing places.

The only negative we had from the entire weekend was prior to our departure on the Monday we were told on our arrival on the friday that breakfast was served from 7am-11am, so we decided to pack before our train so we arrived at breakfast at 10:30 only to be told that breakfast had finished serving at 10am... we then told the hostess what we were told upon arrival and she didnt apologise merely said "well, who ever told you, was wrong"

Other than that, lovely weekend break!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul Q, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Dear J T,

I was pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for the miscommunication regarding the breakfast times of our Restaurant. I hope given your overall experience, we shall have the opportunity of welcoming you back at the Kensington Close Hotel in the near future!


Kind regards,

Laszlo Nyari
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed for four nights, and I was a little worried due to the bad reviews on here. However on arrival all okay- except there was no room in the car park- which is very expensive by the way!We ended up paying the parking meter a fortune until it was free over Sunday to Monday, until there was a space to park in the hotel car park.The greeting on arrival was good and the room seemed clean and the bed was so comfortable.Cleaned every day without a problem. Very quiet and all the corridors were clean. The lounge area and bar were impressive and relaxed. There was a problem topping up the milks for tea in our two rooms- so I had to complain about this and keep phoning housekeeping who kept saying they were sending some up but never appeared!! Also could not believe they charge for the spa and pool and gym at £8 per person per day- and we had no reduction as when we were there the gym was closed for refurbishment! We should have received some discount as we also had to pay for a child at £5. Which I thought was exceptionally bad to charge for a small child! They should be free.Maybe a small charge is in order to prevent the pool etc becoming too busy, but all in all I thought it was expensive but nice to have the option, and we did use this over the time we were there.But as goodwill could have reduced the price for us. The convenience of the location was great- the high street has some good shops and restaurants and so close to the tube which we used a great deal. We thought the breakfast okay but a little expensive and the staff were lovely bar one- but there is usually always one who hates their job!!Also we were told we could not play cards with a 9 year old child while we were in the bar area- strange.no gambling involved!!We would probably stay again as good area, handy for the tube and not many London hotels have pools.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laszlo N, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Dear Nicola M,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We value all feedback whether it is positive or constructive. It is through such communication that we are given an opportunity to evaluate our performance, and focus on the areas that need to be addressed, ensuring we deliver the standard of service that our guests have come to expect from us.


Kind regards,

Laszlo Nyari
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

I chose the hotel for an event that took place here. Stayed three nights. The location is perfect, easily reachable from heathrow (express to paddington and then circle/district line to high street Kensington). First impression of entrance hall and meeting area was 4* like, but the room was not. Rooms are rather small, old and used-off furniture. A/C didn't work, small bathroom. The only highlight was the evening I spent at the bar: Friendly staff, try to make you feel at home, and very, very friendly. Had to work from the room during the second day, there seemed to be some reconstruction in the hotel going on, very noise at times.

Would not choose differently for a co-located event, but not recommend it if other place in the area are available.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s_schumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul Q, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Dear S_Schumann,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We value all feedback whether it is positive or constructive. It is through such communication that we are given an opportunity to evaluate our performance, and focus on the areas that need to be addressed, ensuring we deliver the standard of service that our guests have come to expect from us.


Kind regards,

Laszlo Nyari
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Great quiet location just off Kensington High Street and Tube station. Easy walk to restaurants, park and museums. Compact but comfortable rooms. As spoiled American's, don't expect a top sheet on the bed or extra amenities like lotion or conditioner. Breakfast is the same everyday; eggs, cereal, ham, sausage, juice and pastries.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idahotravelgirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul Q, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Idahotravelgirl22,

I would like to thank you for you feedback and for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to London. I hope we shall have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.


Kind regards,


Laszlo Nyari
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in this hotel during the bank holiday. We were not disappointed.

There are positive and negatives about this hotel. Firstly the location is great in the centre of Kensington and close to the tube station. The lobby and common areas were well kept and clean. However our room was very small as well as the bathroom. The furnishings in the room were very nice.

I would recommend this hotel if you are wanting a centrally located hotel in Kensington and pay less than £100.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pech020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul Q, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Pech020,

I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. It is true that our location is extremely convenient, within close proximity to "High Street Kensington's" Tube station and the local cafes, shops & restaurants. I sincerely hope we shall have the opportunity to welcome you back with us in the near future!


Kind regards,


Laszlo Nyari,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
South Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#370 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#62 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,579 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Kensington

Property: Holiday Inn London - Kensington
Address: Wrights Lane | Kensington, London W8 5SP, England (Formerly Kensington Close Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Spa Hotel in London
#359 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn London - Kensington is a beautiful 4-star hotel centrally located near Kensington High Street tube station and a short walk from Kensington Palace & Gardens, Royal Albert Hall, Earls Court and the West End. The Hotel has 708 well-equipped non-smoking bedrooms including Executive bedrooms and Suites. Enjoy fresh seasonal dishes in the brasserie or a drink in the sunny private garden. Business traveller's appreciate the powerful WiFi service, wide ranging room service menu and an executive lounge for VIPs too. State of the art meeting facilities for up to 250 delegates are ideal for meetings, dinners and weddings. Shopping at Westfield and Oxford Street is a short distance away. Imagine Health Club and Spa includes a fantastic new gym and an 18 metre swimming pool with sauna, steam rooms and jacuzzi. The Spa offers an enticing selection of massage, facial and beauty treatments with our expert therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Close London
Hotel Kensington Close
Kensington Close Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing