We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, small room, mixed service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Kensington
Ranked #618 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location, small room, mixed service”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My daughter and I spent two nights in the hotel last week. It is well located near Kensington High St station but we used the bus to get to Trafalgar sq as it was easier than changing tube stations. There are lots of restaurants, cafes and shops nearby. The lobby and bar of the hotel are very nice but the bedrooms are very small an unimpressive. This is a feature of London hotels though. The noise from other parts of the hotel seemed to come through pipes in the room also as we could hear a baby crying each morning from 7am but couldnt hear anything from the rooms nearby? Reception staff didnt want to know! The concierge was very unhelpful when we first arrived but there was a much nicer one on duty on our second morning.
Overall the hotel was ok. We really only slept there to be honest so I cant comment on bar staff or diningroom.staff

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macfamilyd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laszlo N, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Macfamilyd4,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We value all feedback whether it is positive or constructive. It is through such communication that we are given an opportunity to evaluate our performance, and focus on the areas that need to be addressed, ensuring we deliver the standard of service that our guests have come to expect from us.


Kind regards,

Laszlo Nyari
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    1,445
    1,061
    543
    356
See reviews for
619
1,529
197
870
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (721)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Had an executive room which was spacious and clean but no fridge. Why oh why do they only provide I chair in a room designed for two. Had been told by reception on booking that they could put spare beds for children in two of the rooms. On arrival these were not there and reception would only put I bed in one bedroom as they stated we had room in the other room as one person was occupying a double room. As no enquiry was made as to age, sex of the person occupying this room I can only assume they did not care. They would provide us with a spare bed at a cost of £40, so beware if you are travelling with friends that may be expected to share a bed with your children! Housekeeping knocked to see if our room had been cleaned I informed the lady we had not been left any hand towels. These never arrived so a pointless exercise in customer relations. Tea in the foyer is served in a paper cup, a four star hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laszlo N, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Rosemary B,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We value all feedback whether it is positive or constructive. It is through such communication that we are given an opportunity to evaluate our performance, and focus on the areas that need to be addressed, ensuring we deliver the standard of service that our guests have come to expect from us.


Kind regards,

Laszlo Nyari
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Kevin Wild, Business Director, Cornwall.

Bottom line - Complete lack of understanding your customers meant you lost thousands of pounds of revenue.

Hotel packed with top class singers - told to stop singing.

We were told the bar would shut if we carried on singing! Fortunately we were adult enough and polite enough to realise the staff were in fear of their jobs and had to follow some "rules" that were possibly related to football hooligans.

Complete hypocrisy in that we were allowed to sing in a side function room when forced to hire outside caterers.

The entrance to the hotel was of a good decorative standard but the room I was staying in was shabby and tired. The bathroom was a disgrace. No lock on the door, mouldy and filthy grout. Cracked tiles. Toilet roll holder hanging off the wall. Ethernet network not working. No free WiFi. Hallways upstairs pretty disgusting even the lesser-used walkways were strewn with litter.

Some of the junior staff were delightful and most helpful however those with a slight bit of authority were downright rude and intransigent .

Several of us went next door to the Tara Copthorne to spend much money and time with them. Most enjoyable in contrast!

I would love to hear how those who are really behind this business are going to change in the light of this feedback.

Room Tip: Room 525 was appalling. Go to the Tara Copthorne Hotel just along the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinWild2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laszlo N, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear KevinWild2013,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We value all feedback whether it is positive or constructive. It is through such communication that we are given an opportunity to evaluate our performance, and focus on the areas that need to be addressed, ensuring we deliver the standard of service that our guests have come to expect from us.


Kind regards,

Laszlo Nyari
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We too were part of a large group at this hotel. The bar was woefully understaffed, people waiting up to an hour to be served. The bar staff, one in particular, were rude and aggressive. On complaining a manager said 'sorry' but was more defensive than apologetic.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthWestern1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laszlo N, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear SouthWestern1958,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We value all feedback whether it is positive or constructive. It is through such communication that we are given an opportunity to evaluate our performance, and focus on the areas that need to be addressed, ensuring we deliver the standard of service that our guests have come to expect from us.


Kind regards,

Laszlo Nyari
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penzance
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Checked in with no problem. Could not gain entry with key cards to room. After over 30 attempts went to reception & asked for assistance. The member of staff was unable to access either & did not know what to do. I asked him to refer the matter to the management or an engineer. We were staying with a large group for 4 days and each time we tried to gain entry we had a problem, and by the sound of people banging doors we were not the only ones. The beer was a ridiculous price and, once again, they also ran out of beer. We were part of 4 choirs attending a finale party in the hotel which had been prearranged and prices agreed, yet we were "fleeced" for beer at £4.50 for 1/2 pint and wine at £6 for 125 ml. We were promised food which we did not see, although somebody said they had seen some food being wheeled away from another room later that evening. The attitude of members of staff was not helpful to say the least and in some instances arrogant. I would not stay at this hotel at half the price again (although the breakfast was acceptable). Our room was so small it was impossible to walk around the bed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackaitken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laszlo N, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Jackaitken,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We value all feedback whether it is positive or constructive. It is through such communication that we are given an opportunity to evaluate our performance, and focus on the areas that need to be addressed, ensuring we deliver the standard of service that our guests have come to expect from us.


Kind regards,

Laszlo Nyari
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buda, Texas
Level Contributor
358 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We've stayed at the Kensington Close several times over the past twenty-five years, and when the opportunity arose recently to return to London and explore our favorite haunts, it was a natural first choice. We really enjoyed our week there, and would give the place serious consideration for our next visit too. It's a busy tourist hotel, in a good sense, with everyone in the world passing through sooner or later and, like much of London these days, boasting an interesting international staff. Public spaces have been remodeled nicely, and the restaurant (which we visited only for its very good full English breakfasts), was well-patronized in the evenings as well.

Our room was quite comfortable, and we slept well; our area of the fourth floor was quiet and our climate control was efficient. The decor was rather tired, it must be said, and some redecoration was in order in that room at least, but then the bath/shower had been completely redone not long before and was spotless. Housekeeping staff were friendly, attentive, and routinely did the little extra things to keep us comfy.

Check-in was a little difficult for us, since we arrived early at around 8:30 in the morning. We expected our room might not be ready, and it wasn't, but despite frequent inquiries at the desk they were not able to accommodate us until 2PM, which made for a long and bleary morning/early afternoon killing time in the lobby area. Once we were taken in, however, everything was fine.

The hotel is down Wright's Lane, about 200 yards or so to the south off Kensington High Street. That area has been one of my favorites in London during many visits, off and on, over 40+ years, and its restaurant scene is better than ever. Taxis are readily available at the front door and the High Street Kensington tube station (Circle and District) is a 6-7 minute walk from the hotel. We certainly hope to be back --

Room Tip: We punted for one of the middle-category rooms (Executive Rooms, I think they are called?), rather t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itinerant_scholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laszlo N, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Itinerant_scholar,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I was pleased to hear how happy you were with your room and the overall style of the hotel following our refurbishment project that was completed last year. I sincerely hope that following your first impressions, we shall have the opportunity of welcoming you back with us in the near future.


Kind regards,

Laszlo Nyari
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redruth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed in this hotel with a large group of people who were on a 4 day visit to London. The check in was relatively painless and that was where the efficiency ended.
The group had been booked in for months in advance, so they knew we were coming and yet the bar ran out of beer the first night and this was not rectified the second evening either. The bar staff were slow, 2 people including the bar manager who is obviously in that position as he should be able to work quickly and efficiently. Not so. the staff were only interested in printing lots of pieces of paper from the tills. They complained when the noise level went up slightly, not easy when the bar is filled to capacity.
When the bar closed, they were unhelpful and even rude. Quoting hotel policy and rules which obviously showed they had no people skills at all and did not understand sometimes basic English.
The keys to the room worked once and then had to be re-programmed when returning to your room, i was there for 3 nights / 4 days and had to have both keys reprogrammed every day. Not ideal when my room was several floors up. This was a very common theme with the rest of my group as well.
The rooms were clean but very small and very basic. I would have rather they spent money on basic amenities than spending it on 32" tv's which took up half the room and looked so out of place.
The food was acceptable, but nothing to remember.
In short, the hotel need to employ staff that understand basic English and are customer focused.
The only recommendations i could give was find a better hotel.

Room Tip: The only recommendation to choose a good room would be to go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laszlo N, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Martin S,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We value all feedback whether it is positive or constructive. It is through such communication that we are given an opportunity to evaluate our performance, and focus on the areas that need to be addressed, ensuring we deliver the standard of service that our guests have come to expect from us.


Kind regards,

Laszlo Nyari
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
South Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#353 of 1,067 in London
2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Kensington

Property: Holiday Inn London - Kensington
Address: Wrights Lane | Kensington, London W8 5SP, England (Formerly Kensington Close Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Spa Hotel in London
#355 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn London - Kensington is a beautiful 4-star hotel centrally located near Kensington High Street tube station and a short walk from Kensington Palace & Gardens, Royal Albert Hall, Earls Court and the West End. The Hotel has 708 well-equipped non-smoking bedrooms including Executive bedrooms and Suites. Enjoy fresh seasonal dishes in the brasserie or a drink in the sunny private garden. Business traveller's appreciate the powerful WiFi service, wide ranging room service menu and an executive lounge for VIPs too. State of the art meeting facilities for up to 250 delegates are ideal for meetings, dinners and weddings. Shopping at Westfield and Oxford Street is a short distance away. Imagine Health Club and Spa includes a fantastic new gym and an 18 metre swimming pool with sauna, steam rooms and jacuzzi. The Spa offers an enticing selection of massage, facial and beauty treatments with our expert therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Close London
Hotel Kensington Close
Kensington Close Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing