We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massive, decently priced city hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street
Ranked #611 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Massive, decently priced city hotel”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Visited the hotel for a 3 day stay on the occasion of a conference staged at the place. Room is adequate for such a stay, but has some cramped aspects; bed and bathroom hardly accommodate a 6''4 person. Preference of an opening window well accommodated and not all that much noise spoils the night. Heating the hotel seems to be free, as all halls and corridors are at mild oven temperatures... Some people may like that but I felt like wearing shorts a lot... Couldn't though. Reception, bar, concierge and restaurant do a good job and service attitude is great. Wouldn't hesitate to book the place again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Derk2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Derk2006

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review of the hotel.
Although some of our standard rooms can be compact, we have just UK standard sized beds, I can only suggest that on future stays you select one of our double bedrooms or to make your stay that extra special to take advantage of our Executive or Club room available for upgrade.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your experience here and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest regards

Justin Jolly
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    1,492
    1,083
    552
    364
See reviews for
646
1,570
201
890
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I have just come back from an overnight stay in this hotel, first we we're welcomed by a lovely gentleman who went out of he's way to help us park, & take our bags into the hotel, he was very polite and lovely to talk to, then we got allocated a room it was on the small side but very clean, I noticed our air conditioning did not work as it was very cold so i called reception who arranged a new room within ten minutes, a lovely man even came up to give us new keys and take our bags to a new room. When we came to this room it was even smaller but still such a clean room although slightly hot, we had a lovely meal in the restaurant in the evening, we again got welcomed by everybody and recieved some complimentary items such as house wine, bread rolls, & butternut soup whilst waiting for our food, everyone was so nice. The food was amazing too. Come breakfast time there was a variety of things in the Buffett, again everyone was helpful and came over with hot drinks and to check on us. Lovely food again, top quality. I would stay here again definatly I can only fault the sizing of the room but everyone is so friendly there especially the man in the top hat waiting in the entrance to help who told us he loved he's job and it showed in he's smile.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodieeec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed fri through Sunday 21/23rd march got a ridiculously good deal on last min booking on the Thursday (I won't say how much as I don't want everyone doing it ����)reception staff were great efficient etc and the room on the 5th floor was clean spacious and bloody comfortable , don't let any negative reviews put you off this is a seriously nice hotel in a great location , look forward to our next stay Julie and Andy baker

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We made a reservation via their website, asking (if possible) for an early check-in as we had a meeting a bit out London at 2pm and it s nice to have a shower and change after the flight - having booked the executive club room, I expected it would be no problem! We received a request for giving a starting date of the credit card - I replied and asked about the check-in - no reply - well money first!!!?? The early check-in was not possible at the end, but the way we were told made me almost cancel and leave, so unpleasant! I was really angry at that person at the front desk. Smile and politeness would probably make it no big deal, but nothing like that had happend! After coming again later, we checked-in again, the lady claiming there was no breakfast included in the rate - after insisting it was, she said we were right ( yes, the booking confirmation also said so). The cards never workd, so we had to take the (very busy) lifts and walk from the very end of the hotel all the way to the front desk, wait the line and get new cards - 4 times - very dissapointing!!! We left the suitcase at the luggage room and when picked up later, we were asked for 1 pound per suitcase - after giving that person a rather terrified look, he said it was optional!! Oh my god - could anyone give these guys a training on how to behave??? However, I must say the guy standing at the door was always smiling and greeting and the breakfast was ok as well as the waiters... The room was clean, there was a shower plus a bath tub in the room, so that was ok.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FreakyCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear FreakyCamel,

I would first like to thank you for taking the time to complete your review of the hotel.

I was most disappointed to hear of your issues and the complete lack of follow up you have experienced. Please be assured that this is not the standard of service we accept here at Kensington Close hotel. Please accept my apologies for the problems experienced and be assured that I have shared your comments with our whole team.

Kindest regards

Justin Jolly
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Thanks, a really enjoyable stay. A great mix of good service and relaxation. Room service was prompt and made us feel special. Food was very good. Bar was good enough to stay in one evening, service here was exceptional as the waitresses advised on cocktails and made us feel welcome without being intrusive.

Room Tip: We were on 8th floor and it didn't seem to make a difference. Lift was prompt,even though one wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Pretty good hotel location, just a very short walk to the tube. The room was clean and comfortable; the bathtub, however, was a tad bit questionable. The staff offered fantastic customer service and the breakfast buffet was fine. Overall, it is a good hotel.

*Tip* Go visit The Muffin Man cafe, right by the hotel, for tea and cake!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TinaBoBina88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva2009
Level 6 Contributor
612 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Location and price seemed to be ok.
However, if you spend the entire night calling front desk to get heating running, it becomes annoying and the price seems to be unjustified.
Left behind a phone charger (too upset in the morning to think well).
While calling them afterwards, house keeping did not find the piece anymore....
strange - lucky enough there are other options close by

Room Tip: make sure you check heating before you try to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geneva2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Geneva2009

Having read your review on the Kensington Close Hotel and of the other properties you stayed at during your visit, may I apologise for the issues you experienced with our heating system.

With regards to the phone charger you believe you left behind, I'm certain that the Housekeeping and Security did all they could to locate this for you. If you have still not recovered the item, please contact me directly and I will check through our lost and found records personally for you, my email address is guest.relations@kensingtonclosehotel.com.

Kindest regards
Justin Jolly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
South Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,069 in London
3,724 reviews
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street

Property: Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street
Address: Wrights Lane | Kensington, London W8 5SP, England (Formerly Kensington Close Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Spa Hotel in London
#356 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street is a beautiful 4-star hotel centrally located near Kensington High Street tube station and a short walk from Kensington Palace & Gardens, Royal Albert Hall, Earls Court and the West End. The Hotel has 708 well-equipped non-smoking bedrooms including Executive bedrooms and Suites. Enjoy fresh seasonal dishes in the brasserie or a drink in the sunny private garden. Business traveller's appreciate the powerful WiFi service, wide ranging room service menu and an executive lounge for VIPs too. State of the art meeting facilities for up to 250 delegates are ideal for meetings, dinners and weddings. Shopping at Westfield and Oxford Street is a short distance away. Imagine Health Club and Spa includes a fantastic new gym and an 18 metre swimming pool with sauna, steam rooms and jacuzzi. The Spa offers an enticing selection of massage, facial and beauty treatments with our expert therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, IHG, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Close London
Hotel Kensington Close
Kensington Close Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing