We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible Internet policy ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Kensington
Ranked #620 of 1,064 Hotels in London
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Horrible Internet policy ”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

I checked and it is 2014. Yet, this hotel management thinks at $14 USD PER DAY, PER DEVICE charging for service is a grand idea. So. Family of 4, 2 devices each pays over $100 USD PER DAY. I truly understand charging per person, but per device?? Gouging comes to mind.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RMagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear RMagee

Thank you for your review, you will be pleased to know that we have made changes to the charges to our internet and now include it in the rate for our Executive and Executive Club rooms. As you have written, with so many customers in the hotel having more than one device, this puts a greater demand on the service and therefore decreases the signal strength and speed.

We do provide free use of computers for guests wishing to quickly check mail and/or print boarding passes but as yet the charges still apply for Wi-Fi use in the Standard and Superior room categories.

Kindest regards

Justin Jolly
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    1,432
    1,053
    541
    355
See reviews for
610
1,516
195
867
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (717)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed three night at Kensington Close Hotel and found it to be a very nice hotel. The rooms were a bit smaller than we were used to but they were very clean. Everyone working at the hotel that we had dealings with were very nice and tried very hard to help with any request.
We would like to give special thanks to the manager of the lounge. My wife had a bit of a cold, she requested a hot rum toddy. The bartender was not sure how to make one so the manager made them herself every time we went, above and beyond, service like this is rare these days. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gnew1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Gnew1,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to the Kensington Close hotel.

I will pass on your kind comments to the team and make a special mention to the Lounge Manager for looking after your wife’s request.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest regards

Justin Jolly
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aksdal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel had an excellent service! We arrived late Thursday night, and it appeared that Our handler in Norway had NOT corrected the arrival date from Friday to Thursday. With five Young Girls (age 13 and 14) we were caught by surprise. The hotel, however, showed an amazing effort to find us Three rooms - and they did. And the NeXT day, they moved all the luggage from one room to another on the same floor as the other two.
In addition, they helped us rewriting Our boarding Cards, fixing taxi, special needs for gluten free Food. Always With a big smile.
We can highly recommende this hotel - and we will also make this hotel as Our first Choice whenever we go back to London.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tove-magi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear tove-magi,

Thank you for your Five Star review on the Kensington Close Hotel.

I will share your feedback with the rest of the team, it’s always great to know that when something goes wrong and we are able to fix it.

We sincerely hope that you will return to us soon and thank you for highly recommending us and making us the first choice for your future stays in London.

Kindest regards

Justin Jolly
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallace, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is the worst hotel we've ever stayed in. I will say that the location is great and our room was not a bad size - well, hope not for the price! You cannot turn off the overhead lights without turning off everything. Supposedly there were night lights but only one of them worked. The housekeeping manager wasn't sure they could get the bulb to fix it. (They didn't.) On the other hand she did make sure we had enough coffee so that was good. At check-in the front desk staff seemed more interested in selling us additional services and failed to give us basic information such as how to turn on the lights or that there was a business center. When we asked if the rate she quoted us included taxes (as it was more than our confirmation amount) her attitude became very patronizing. There is no free wi-fi , contrary to our expectations, not even in a small lobby area. When we called to inquire about this (twice before getting someone to help us) the assistant night manager was so rude I admit I lost my temper. She might have taken the route of saying she was sorry for the confusion but they had business center computers we could use, instead she was very confrontational. Apparently she’s heard this one before. The night before our last day we were awakened at 3:00 am by the fire alarm going off. Doors opened up and down the hallway, no one knew anything, and there was no answer at the front desk when we called and not a staff member in sight. Finally the fellow across the hall suggested that the alarm wouldn’t have finally been turned off if there was really a fire. Upon inquiring the following morning my husband was told someone had been smoking in his room. Period. No apology, no suggestion of a voucher for a cup of coffee or a drink in the bar, nothing. I will say that we were helped several times by staff members such as the housekeeping supervisor and a nice lady in the gym. One of the doormen was also very helpful. I saw some negative reviews on TripAdvisor before we even got here but assumed the best. I shouldn’t have.

Room Tip: Don't go. If you have to stay here spend the money for an executive double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear MarshandEd

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.

I apologise that we were unable to meet with your expectations during your stay, it was unfortunate that you found the operation of the lights in the room difficult, however, we do have a team members available at all times who will be happy assist in these circumstances.

We are very open about the charges for the internet and I have responded to several comments made on tripadvisor reviews the same. I am happy to report that following such comments, it has now been decided to include complimentary Wi-Fi access to all Executive rooms. I will share your comments with the Front Office team members with regards to how this information is conveyed going forward.

I apologise for the disruption caused by the alarm system sounding, however this is for the safety of all guests. With there being a smaller number of employees available at night, it is not possible to man each floor at the time of evacuation which is why full instructions for evacuation are posted on the door in each guest room.

I will be sure to pass your compliments to the Housekeeping supervisor and doorman.

Once again, thank you for your feedback as this will be used in improving our operation going forward.

Kindest regards

Justin Jolly
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

IOW england
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We booked this deal from Last minute .com. We knew the hotel was in Kensington and were told on the phone the normal rate was £150 a night. We paid £111.35. There was no breakfast if we had paid for that it would have cost us £15.50 each, if the normal rate includes breakfast then it would have cost £148.85 so just offering a room only on Top secret for £111 is not much of a discount. Also the room was very small the bed against the window so one person would have had to climb over the other to get out? This was more like a cheap B & B than a top London hotel
We didn't accept this room and were shown to the only room left which was a disabled room, at least the room was bigger and the bed full size

Another gripe this Hotel charges £9.00 a day for Wifi, whereas most hotels make it free!.

Room Tip: Don't accept a small room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickleby68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear nickleby68

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Kensington Close hotel.

I was happy to read that on reporting to the front desk team that you were unhappy about the room size they were able to accommodate you in a room with additional space.
For future bookings, I would recommend visiting our own website as we offer full details of room dimensions and what is included in the rate, we regularly offer special rates. We have recently included complimentary Wi-Fi to all our executive rooms and still provide complimentary access to the internet in our business lounge.

Kindest regards

Justin Jolly
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel is situated just off Kensington High Street so you have all the shops within a couple of minutes walk. It's a big hotel with plenty of staff on hand at all times to answer questions and help you out. The staff really make this place, London hotels don't always have the friendliest staff but they were falling over themselves to help you out. We had an Executive Club room and it was large with a separate shower and bath as well as a really comfortable bed. The room service menu looks delicious with plenty of choice.
The only thing letting the hotel down is the spa facilities - the Jacuzzi wasn't working and they hire the pool out for children's swimming lessons so it's not exactly relaxing. They also didn't have any full time beauticians working at the spa so they hired in a freelance which meant my partner and I had to have out treatments separately which wasn't so convenient.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0ngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear L0ngirl

Thank you for your amazing review on the Kensington Close hotel.

I was really happy to read your review and see that you truly enjoyed your stay with us, I will be sure to pass on your compliments to the team.

At present we are recruiting full time beauticians, however, I would recommend booking treatments in advance to avoid disappointment.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future

Warmest regards

Justin Jolly
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2014

All effort seems to have gone into making a great first impression (porter eager to help with bags, attractive lobby, friendly & welcoming staff), and not into the thing you're paying for - the room. This is definitely the smallest hotel room I've ever been in - more like an en-suite broom-cupboard. The bathroom was badly laid out - anyone slightly overweight may struggle to move around it easily. The sink was so small it was impossible to wash/brush teeth without ending up with soap/water/toothpaste all over feet and floor. There was a hole in the sheet and the duvet cover, and a hole in the door to the bathroom. All things you wouldn't associate with a room at this cost.
That said, the bed was very comfortable (great nights sleep), the location fantastic (2mins walk from High Street Kensington tube station, 15mins from Earls Court), and the breakfast selection excellent and very tasty.
I guess not all of the rooms are this disappointing, but based on this experience I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astanley39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear astanley39

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Not all our rooms are as cosy as the one described, we do publish details of our rooms including dimensions on our website. Although much time and effort has been made to make the rooms as comfortable as possible, including an on-going project of replacing all beds, we cannot change the room sizes

It was great to read that you enjoyed your time in London and that you found the location to your liking. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team.

Should you decide to try us again, may I recommend our executive and executive club rooms which I’m sure you’ll love.

Kindest regards


Justin Jolly
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
South Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#364 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#58 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,620 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Kensington

Property: Holiday Inn London - Kensington
Address: Wrights Lane | Kensington, London W8 5SP, England (Formerly Kensington Close Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Spa Hotel in London
#358 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn London - Kensington is a beautiful 4-star hotel centrally located near Kensington High Street tube station and a short walk from Kensington Palace & Gardens, Royal Albert Hall, Earls Court and the West End. The Hotel has 708 well-equipped non-smoking bedrooms including Executive bedrooms and Suites. Enjoy fresh seasonal dishes in the brasserie or a drink in the sunny private garden. Business traveller's appreciate the powerful WiFi service, wide ranging room service menu and an executive lounge for VIPs too. State of the art meeting facilities for up to 250 delegates are ideal for meetings, dinners and weddings. Shopping at Westfield and Oxford Street is a short distance away. Imagine Health Club and Spa includes a fantastic new gym and an 18 metre swimming pool with sauna, steam rooms and jacuzzi. The Spa offers an enticing selection of massage, facial and beauty treatments with our expert therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotelopia, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Close London
Hotel Kensington Close
Kensington Close Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing