We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street
Ranked #590 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stayed with a group of 10 colleagues, and regrettably we all share the same opinion. Hotel looks great when you walk in, and reception service is fine. Unfortunately things go downhill fairly rapidly after that.

The executive double rooms, whilst well decorated, are extremely small. Rooms 716 technically has a window, but it's hidden behind a wall where it's worse than useless.

Two out of the three lifts I could find were not working. I don't think any of the people trooping up 7 floors to their room collapsed, but some looked close to it.

We were ejected from the bar just after 1.00am with no warning. The lights went on and a bill was slapped down in front of us. To be fair, the bar staff had been very efficient and friendly until then.

We did, however, get a chance to continue the party outside the hotel at 3.30am when we were all evacuated due to a fire alarm. These things happen, but in my experience are normally followed by an apology the next morning. Not here unfortunately.

One of my colleagues had housekeeping knock on the door at 7.30 asking when he was checking out, I had the same at 9.00. Not really what you expect.

We gave management a chance to respond to these concerns, but regrettably nothing very constructive was forthcoming.

Hard to find reasons to reccomend staying here, although location is very convenient.




Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Geoff C

Thank you for your feedback on you recent stay with us. Although some of the Executive rooms can be described as cosy, they have been recently refurbished and benefit from free Wi-Fi with additional touches; full details are available on our website.

All though we can’t foresee engineering issues, we do have a contract with our lift engineers to resolve such issues; we do have an additional four lifts located further in the building.

Due to licensing hours, our bar closes daily at 01.00 (except Sundays at 00.00); we do have room service available for 24 hours.

It is unfortunate that the alarms were sounded during your stay; however they are in place for your safety.

I will pass on the comments to Housekeeping about the knocking on the rooms so early in the morning, nevertheless we do have do not disturb signs available in the rooms for those wishing to sleep for longer.

Once again thank you for your feedback. It is only with such comments that we can progress in the future.


Kindest regards

Justin Jolly
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,333 - 2,339 of 4,411 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

I had great time London. One of my favourite city in the world, always a satisfaction.The position is good, close to the center, 15 minutes only to Green Park! I really enjoyed my days spent in your hotel. Everybody were very nice and friendly, and the reception team was particularly helpful. The food in your restaurant was really good, and your waiters staff, especially the Italian guy Fabrizio, was very kindly and attentive during all our dinner (he offered a free glass of red house wine, because the steak wasn't cooked well! So nice!). I highly recommend your hotel.
Many thanks Louise

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Louise A

It was really good that you enjoyed your time at Kensington Close Hotel and found it ideal for your needs!

We will pass the comments to the team, with a special mention to Fabrizio.

Should you travels lead back to London, we would be more than happy to welcome you back!

Kindest regards,

Justin Jolly
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Our group of six have just returned from a short break in London. We arrived at the Kensington Close Hotel and received a warm welcome from the door staff and the reception team. Helpful advice was given and our Wi-Fi needs were dealt with at no additional cost.
The location of the hotel was perfect with shops and restaurants within walking distance and an underground station nearby.
The rooms were spotlessly clean and housekeeping staff were efficient in their daily visits.
Our needs and queries were dealt with by staff throughout the hotel who were welcoming, friendly and efficient.
All six of us would be happy to return and recommend the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Dee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Dee L

It was really good to hear that you and your companions enjoyed your time at Kensington Close Hotel and found it ideal for your needs!

We will pass on the comments to the team, especially to the Front of House staff and Housekeeping!

Should your travels lead back to London, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back!

Kindest regards,

Justin Jolly
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I have just spent the last two nights staying at the Kensington close hotel and first impressions were very good nice big lobby, looks nice and trendy. I checked in and went to my room opened the door and fell straight into the bed. The rooms are so small with a massive bed! The bad was big but really hard and not very nice to sleep in. The breakfast was very poor quality. I have been to cheaper hotels but a bigger choice and better quality. A few of the people I was with found the staff very unhelpful as well. On our second nights stay the fire alarm went of at 3.30am and we evacuated. This was a faulse alarm. I struggled to get anymore sleep after that as I was wide awake from been stood out side ( I know fire alarms can't be helped ) and the fact I was sleeping in one of the worst beds ever made. We checked out this morning and they did not apologies for the faulse alarm last night! I was there on a very intense business trip and the sleepless nights did not help anything. I will not be returning anytime soon

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Coleenromy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Coleenromy,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us.
It is great to see that you approve of the recent refurbishment to our Lobby area; however, it was disappointing that you didn’t find the room to your liking.

As part of an extensive refurbishment programme, we are in the process of changing all of the mattresses in the rooms. Although we are updating the rooms, we are unable to change the room sizes which are clearly indicated on our website in order to manage expectations.

I will be sure to pass your comments with regards to breakfast to the Food & Beverage Manager as this is an area where there has been much change to improve and your feedback will help them moving forward.

The alarm systems are in place for everyone’s safety and it is unfortunate that they sounded during your stay; however, this is an instance that cannot be avoided or foreseen.

Once again, thank you for your feedback which we will share in order to provide a better service going forward.

Kindest regards

Justin Jolly
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

good location and good neighborhood, tube was a block away which we used to see the London tower, clean room and great breakfast! staff was friendly and helpful. you cant expect more in Europe. not bad.

Room Tip: we got the handicap room for some reason they gave it to us. a/c didn't cool too well but then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cafeconleche29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Cafeconleche29

It was great to see you had a great time in London, and that you enjoyed your stay at the Kensington Close Hotel!

I will share your comments with the team, and we hope to see you back in the future.

Kindest regards,

Justin Jolly
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

What a dive - first impressions are great til you go to your room. which is the smallest room I have ever seen!!!! It's a disgrace, like a gymnasium competition every time you need to go to the bathroom, as the door, bangs into the end of one bed. Outrageous as nowhere to put luggage to get clothes out. Had to spend 25 pounds to get wifi - free at other London Hotels we used. With my sister and could not pay separately for a meal there. Pompous little man "in charge" of dining room when we were there. Had to wait at concierge desk for unacceptable length of time.

Room Tip: Just don't stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear DianneB

Thank you for your comments, it would seem that you booked one of the Standard Double rooms which can be cosy, however, we are very open when we describe our rooms on the website which includes room dimensions, it is unfortunate that you did not experience any of our newly refurbished Executive or Executive Club rooms which are ideally prepared for the more discerning traveller, our executive rooms benefit from additional touches such as free Wi-Fi and Molton Brown toiletries whist the Executive Club also includes free access to the Leisure facilities and complimentary breakfast.

It isn’t clear why you paid £25.00 for the Wi-Fi as we charge just £9.95 for guests who wish to use it but do not have it included. If you would like to discuss with me directly this and the other comments which are not clear in this feedback, please contact me direct on guest.relations@kensingtonclosehotel.com as I can find no record of these issues being brought to the attention of the Manager on Duty.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kindest regards

Justin Jolly
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Arrived at the hotel and thought lobby reception etc looked really nice. However as soon as you get out of lift to go to room its like being in different hotel. Hallway etc shabby.first room we where given was old and dated, wallpaper was hanging off wall, skirtings old and dirty, in fact looked like a dodgy seaside b@b. Bathroom was old falling apart and dirty. We was given another room which was also old and dated but was clean and not so shabby although mattress was a very cheap quality,.Would never go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Danny C,

Thank you for the feedback albeit a little confused as our walls are not papered. I do take on-board that there are some rooms which have yet to be refurbished are dated but I can assure you that our housekeeping maintain a very high standard of cleanliness throughout. You will be pleased to know that as part of the refurbishment programme which you noticed on arrival, we are also replacing all of the mattresses in the property.

Once again, thank you for your comments.

Kindest regards
Justin Jolly
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
South Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#60 of 1,081 in London
3,896 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street

Address: Wrights Lane | Kensington, London W8 5SP, England (Formerly Kensington Close Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#75 Spa Hotel in London
#353 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £98 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street is a beautiful 4-star hotel centrally located near Kensington High Street tube station and a short walk from Kensington Palace & Gardens, Royal Albert Hall, Earls Court and the West End. The Hotel has 708 well-equipped non-smoking bedrooms including Executive bedrooms and Suites. Enjoy fresh seasonal dishes in the brasserie or a drink in the sunny private garden. Business traveller's appreciate the powerful WiFi service, wide ranging room service menu and an executive lounge for VIPs too. State of the art meeting facilities for up to 250 delegates are ideal for meetings, dinners and weddings. Shopping at Westfield and Oxford Street is a short distance away. Imagine Health Club and Spa includes a fantastic new gym and an 18 metre swimming pool with sauna, steam rooms and jacuzzi. The Spa offers an enticing selection of massage, facial and beauty treatments with our expert therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Close London
Hotel Kensington Close
Kensington Close Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing