We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel in A nice area,,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street
Ranked #607 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Sollentuna
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant hotel in A nice area,,”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I like this hotel. It's big, but friendly. The staff does a really good job. The reviews from the past are not correct compared to what the hotel is today. The area around the hotel is very nice, with quite a lot of pubs within walking-distance. Also very close to good shopping, buses and underground station. I have stayed in different rooms and the single-rooms are very single, i.e. very small. The only bad thing I can think of is that there is no fridge or minibars in the rooms, except for the most expensive rooms. I think a 4-star hotel ought to have that in all rooms.

Room Tip: The single rooms are small. Upgrade and take a double room. It's worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bo_andersson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riikka G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear bo_andersson

Thank you for staying at Kensington Close hotel.

It is wonderful to hear you had a lovely stay with us! If your travels lead back to us, please mention when making the reservation that you wish to have a fridge in the room, and we’ll organize it for you!

I will most certainly pass your comments of the staff to the departments as we have been improving from past!

Thank you again for your feedback, we hope to see you soon!

Kindest regards,

Riikka Granroth
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    1,496
    1,083
    552
    364
See reviews for
648
1,571
201
891
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed here for 1 night and I was glad I didn't book for more nights. Very small single bedroom with stained carpet. Really not worth the price. The bathroom was so small, a bigger person than me wouldn't fit on the toilet (literally would be squished between two walls). Bad lighting in the bedroom and bathroom.
Big hotel where a lot of groups stay, so you might have long lines at reception. When I was finally helped I got the key, but when I arrived at my room (10 min walk through very long hallways) the key didn't work. Had to go back to reception with all my luggage and got a half-hearted apology.
Some of the staff (porters, cleaning) hardly speak English and with a very heavy accent.
The lounge areas are very nicely updated and look luxurious. The location is good. In the heart of Kensington and close to the tube.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inge_Marlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riikka G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Inge_Marlies

Thank you for your stay with us.

As we have just finished major refurbishment, we are still soft refurbishing the rooms. However, I’m happy to see you noticed our newly refurbished lobby! Some of our rooms can be truly described cosy, however our Executive rooms offer more comfort, especially if staying longer.

We are continually making improvements as we progress and do hope that you will join us again in the future to see that we really take your feedback on board.

Kindest regards,

Riikka Granroth
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel itself is ok. Location as well. What is the real problem with this hotel is all the extra they charge you for. 12 pounds for a less than average breakfast, 9.95 per day for internet-connection and not even free internet in the lobby! They promote their swimming-pool, only to charge you 8 pounds for a swim!!
I go to London 3-4 times a year, but this feels like the biggest rip-off. Not really because of the standard of th hotel, but because of those unneccesary "details" that makes the stay more expencive, but the price of the rooms. And it gives you a general an annoying feeling of the stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank SveinBjorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riikka G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear SveinBjorge

Thank you for staying at Kensington Close hotel.

I’m sorry to hear you had negative aspects on your stay; however I’m sure you will appreciate that most of the extra “details” mentioned are not so uncommon in most of London's hotels.

We do have a computer at the Lounge which can be used complimentary. Our website also lists all amenities, and as we do promote for the Leisure Centre we do clearly mention the quite reasonable charge for one of the largest pools in this area. I do apologise for us not communicating these first thing on your stay. If you decide to come back in the future, please note that our Executive and Executive Club rooms do come with a complimentary Wi-Fi, access to the Leisure Centre and Spa and luxurious Molton Brown products.

Breakfast has come a long way from what it was and a lot of effort has been placed on service, with such feedback we can now review and look at the offering.

Thank you for your feedback, your comments will be shared with the team to develop going forward!

Kindest regards,

Riikka Granroth
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife stayed here for a total of 4 nights.
The first one was for the conclusion of a coach tour & this room was a bit small but suitable.
Then she went to Paris & on her return to London stayed again, this time in a deluxe room.
She said this room was great, roomy & comfortable.
There was a small problem from contractors outside the hotel , that severed the power to the hotel
The staff at the hotel were excellent & sorted things out for her. So a big thank you to all concerned

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room they are roomier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenShadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riikka G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear KenShadler

I am glad to hear your wife had a wonderful time here with us. I will pass on your feedback in regards the staff and the rooms; as it is great to hear that the stay was comfortable and the staff helpful!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us feedback, hopefully we can welcome you both back in the future!

Kindest regards,

Riikka Granroth
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayside, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Had a great stay at the Kensington Close hotel. The concierge desk was extremely helpful and friendly. For single person - room was fine and bed was extremely comfortable. Great location for just sleeping - you don't spend so much time in your room but it was still comfortable. At first my door card didn't work so I had to get a new one right after I checked so just a little glitch in but problem was solved in appropriate length of time. I chose this hotel for 2 nights before my cruise (June 22-24) and the price was right when you book far enough in advance.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msg621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riikka G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear msg621

Thank you for staying at Kensington Close hotel and for the lovely feedback!

Our Concirege Team is truly wonderful and willing to help at any occasion. I was happy to read that Reception managed to resolve your issue in time! I will gladly pass your feedback on both departments. It is also great to hear you had a good night sleep on our new mattresses!

Thank you again for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future!

Kindest regards,

Riikka Granroth
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The full half: great location - 2 minutes away from Kensington high street tube station, 5 minutes away from Kensington gardens and Hyde park, Royal Albert hall and many other attraction near by.
The empty half: the Hotel feels (looks and smells) like the 80's. it isn't necessarily a bad odor or decoration rather a tad over aged.
our double room was small. i'd say no more than 15 sqm. the shower (there was no bath in our room) was quite basic and water current not strong enough.
I've stayed one night in a single room which was not much smaller than the double and in many ways felt better - it had a bath and in general felt newer.
there are many groups in this hotel - since it is pretty big. therefore sometimes the reception/elevators etc' were too busy.

it wasn't too expensive (London-wise) but not cheap either.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riikka G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Ron D

Thank you for staying at Kensington Close hotel.

I’m glad you were able to make of use of our great location!

I’m sorry to hear that our newly refurbished lobby wasn’t to your liking. The sizes and amenities of rooms have been stated on our website, at the moment we are refurbishing the bathrooms. Bath can be requested when making the reservation and for more comfort I can recommend our Executive rooms as they are spacious and a great option for a longer stay!

Thank you very much for your feedback, hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the future!

Kindest regards,

Riikka Granroth
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you grew up in a shoebox this is the place for you! Do not stay in room 139! We were told on our arrival that we were being upgraded from a standard to a deluxe. Yoo Hoo we though! Excited !
Our room was tiny, dark and tired! It was depressing! We did not spend much time there, only to sleep in the two single beds pushed together which I fell between twice on the first night . Our tiny windows were in the corner of our angled room. Breakfast was normal buffet, the rest we cannot fairly comment on! Staff ok!
This hotel was such a disappointment but having heard other guests complain, it is not a surprise now!

Room Tip: Give 139 a miss!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riikka G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Jane K

Please accept my apologies over your stay! Room 139 is actually a Standard room and not a Deluxe as you had been informed. This is truly not the standard we are striving for and I would be more than happy to discuss this with you further, if you would kindly contact me directly on guest.relations@kensingtonclosehotel.com.

Thank you again of your feedback, it will most certainly be passed on to the right departments.

Kindest regards,

Riikka Granroth
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
South Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#58 of 1,069 in London
3,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#346 of 1,069 in London
2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street

Property: Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street
Address: Wrights Lane | Kensington, London W8 5SP, England (Formerly Kensington Close Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Spa Hotel in London
#352 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street is a beautiful 4-star hotel centrally located near Kensington High Street tube station and a short walk from Kensington Palace & Gardens, Royal Albert Hall, Earls Court and the West End. The Hotel has 708 well-equipped non-smoking bedrooms including Executive bedrooms and Suites. Enjoy fresh seasonal dishes in the brasserie or a drink in the sunny private garden. Business traveller's appreciate the powerful WiFi service, wide ranging room service menu and an executive lounge for VIPs too. State of the art meeting facilities for up to 250 delegates are ideal for meetings, dinners and weddings. Shopping at Westfield and Oxford Street is a short distance away. Imagine Health Club and Spa includes a fantastic new gym and an 18 metre swimming pool with sauna, steam rooms and jacuzzi. The Spa offers an enticing selection of massage, facial and beauty treatments with our expert therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, TravelClick, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Close London
Hotel Kensington Close
Kensington Close Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing