We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street
Ranked #593 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I gave the rooms only a 4 star because they were very small. They were clean and since we were not in the room much I guess it was ok. The breakfast was great the people working there were very nice and helpful. Could not put a value on the room because it was included in our tour package. It was close to good restaurants and shopping and Kensington palace was only a short walk from the hotel. Ate in the bar once and the food was good and the girl who was working that evening was really nice wish I had gotten her name. I think you would be happy staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Litequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riikka G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Litequeen

Thank you for staying at Kensington Close hotel!

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! I am sure you will appreciate that the room sizes are quite competitive when it comes to London. We also offer an upgrade at reception with a small fee to a bigger and more comfortable room!

I’m delighted that you tried our Bar and will most certainly mention your comments in regards the staff to the Bar Manager! I am sure he will be able to identify the person you were describing!

Thank you again for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated!

Kindest regards,

Riikka Granroth
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,198 - 2,204 of 4,328 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very clean, a nice warm welcome from the porters. the staff are quite attentive with the service and very friendly... The afternoon tea was lovely in the bar area, clean plates and cups... Very well presented table that we booked... Bar staff are also very nice and talkative. Overall I would come back with friends.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Pepsimax32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riikka G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Pepsimax32

Thank you for your kind review!

I am glad to read you tried our Afternoon tea! I am pleased to let you know that we also serve Gentleman’s Afternoon Tea and are renewing the cocktail menu at the Bar, I would be happy to welcome you back to try it!

The Housekeeping staff does work hard to keep the hotel in an excellent condition, and it is great to see it has been noted! The Porters are lovely and always smiling, and to be able to mention this to the Manager makes my day!

Thank you again for taking the time to write your feedback! Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Riikka Granroth
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

As you might conclude from the reviews, this hotel seems to be hit or miss. Our stay was a definite hit. Originally we had booked a standard room but decided to upgrade to the executive room to get WiFi. We were given a room on the eighth floor room 816. While not huge by North American standard there was more than enough room for my husband and I. There was plenty of storage space to unpack for our weeks stay. The bathroom had been recently renovated and the shower was great. Take advantage of the Molton Brown products as they are nice. The bed was great after our long days of touring and the room quiet. The breakfast while the same everyday had enough options. The concierge and bell hops very helpful. The location is great. Close to the tube, buses, pubs, shopping. All you do is go straight out of the hotel and up the small hill a couple of blocks and you are on Kensington. Enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bo1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riikka G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Juli C

Thank you for staying at Kensington Close hotel!

I am glad to read you had a wonderful stay here with us! You are absolutely right about the rooms on the 8th Floor: They are slightly larger than other categried as they are Executive rooms, and they do come with the amazing Molton Brown products as well as complimentary Wi-Fi! I am pleased to read you also noticed the newly refurbished bathroom!

The breakfast has gone a long mile in the past few months and it is great that you enjoyed it. The Concierge team is very knowledgeable and happy to help in any situation! I am delighted to pass your views of both departments to the Managers!

Thank you again for taking the time to give your feedback, I truly hope we can welcome you back in the future!

Kindest regards,

Riikka Granroth
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We booked a room through a third party website, however we experienced problems with the booking process, so contacted the hotel directly and followed their advice to cancel the online booking and then made the booking with the hotel. On arrival at the hotel we were told that we had cancelled our booking; we were then offered the same room, which we believed we had booked, at over £100 per night more than our original booking price. When we asked to see the manager of the booking department he was nothing but rude and unhelpful. We had clearly turned up expecting our booking to be honoured and he was not prepared to accept this or to offer a room at the same price even though it was available. We left disgusted with our experience and stayed at the Kensington House Hotel instead where the staff couldn't have been more helpful and we had an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
3  Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riikka G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Andy C

Please accept my sincerest apologies over the situation. This truly is not the service we strive for and therefore I would be grateful if you could contact me directly at guest.relations@kensingtonclosehotel.com as I would like to discuss this further with you.

Kindest regards,

Riikka Granroth
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at the Kensington Close for 2 nights in late July. My wife choose it, having stayed here previously.

We arrived early for check in, so were offered an upgrade for an extra £12 a night, but that included wifi access and at £9.99 a day made sense.

The room was up on the 8th floor , but there are multiple lifts close to the rooms, so we never really had to walk far. The room was small, even with the upgrade but well laid out and a good size double bed. The bathroom only had a shower, not an issue for us, but some might prefer a bath. The room was immaculately clean, and all the accessories; safe hairdryer etc all worked, so no complaints.

We did use the bar one evening, which is quite pricey but service is good and staff are very friendly.

The hotel is about 2 minutes from the main road in Kensington and equally 2 mins to the nearest tube station, so ideally situated.

Overall a great hotel, will definitely consider using it again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank chunkdoobiest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riikka G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear chunkdoobiest

I am glad to hear your wife chose Kensington Close hotel for your stay in London, and that you took up on our great offer to upgrade!

The rooms on 8th floor are our newly refurbished with great views of the city and it is fantastic that you noticed the new bathrooms as well! Our Housekeeping department work relentlessly to maintain high quality service in the rooms and will be most delighted to hear your comments!

At the moment we are renewing our cocktail menu in the bar and if you are here for your travels you should also try our wonderful Afternoon Tea!

Thank you for your feedback, it is great to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us and I hope to see you again!

Kindest regards,

Riikka Granroth
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Our travel agent booked us into this hotel on the wrong dates, when we showed up we were offered one room for one night and were told we would need to find another hotel for the remaining two nights. The staff member couldn't have been less helpful or less interested in our situation. Coming from NZ and being first time travellers, this was quite stressful. Thank God for the iPad, the internet and booking.com. We found another room at this same hotel, for the two remaining nights and booked it, it was for a higher spec room, at a higher price. When we checked out of our first room we were told we could actually stay in the same room for the remaining two nights at the lower rate, which we were happy to do. When it came to the final check out, we were then told we had to pay the higher rate and there was no flexibility on this, plus the staff member at reception who had originally said we could stay in the same room had left their employment the day before (how convenient). Overall the whole experience was tainted by the poor staff service and the unnecessary extra costs.
I would recommend booking and paying before arriving, and don't book breakfast as it is more expensive on the website £15.50 vs £12.00
Apart from that, the room was nice and the location was excellent.

Room Tip: Don't go for the standard rooms unless you are ok with a very small room, and two single beds pu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy492014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riikka G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Wendy492014

Thank you for staying at Kensington Close hotel.

Please accept my deepest apologies for the inconvenience you encountered while staying with us! Please be assured that this truly is not the standard we strive for when it comes to customer service. We are currently in progress of training and only this kind of feedback will get us further!

If I could kindly ask you to contact me directly on guest.relations@kensingtonclosehotel.com so I could investigate the matter further and ensure that this will not happen again.

I look forward to hear from you.

Kindest regards,

Riikka Granroth
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Located in quite area of kensington. 2 minute walk to kensington high street metro station, 5 min walk to kensington palace gardens and hyde park. 1.5 mile walk to Victoria and Albert museum and royal albert hall. Lots of local eateries within 5 min walk. Whole foods market two minute walk for snacks or drinks. Hotel facts: rooms are small, but you are in a large cosmo city and a great location. Breakfast has excellent selections from hot and cold items. When needing tips or ideas for the area, the conceirge and doorman where excellent in providing ideas and giving directions. All staff were very friendly. enjoyed 2 day stay. would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bevk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riikka G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear bevk1

Thank you for staying with us!

I am glad to hear you made use of our brilliant location and of our fantastic Concierge to find great places to go!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kindest regards,

Riikka Granroth
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
South Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#60 of 1,078 in London
3,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street

Address: Wrights Lane | Kensington, London W8 5SP, England (Formerly Kensington Close Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#75 Spa Hotel in London
#350 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £98 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street is a beautiful 4-star hotel centrally located near Kensington High Street tube station and a short walk from Kensington Palace & Gardens, Royal Albert Hall, Earls Court and the West End. The Hotel has 708 well-equipped non-smoking bedrooms including Executive bedrooms and Suites. Enjoy fresh seasonal dishes in the brasserie or a drink in the sunny private garden. Business traveller's appreciate the powerful WiFi service, wide ranging room service menu and an executive lounge for VIPs too. State of the art meeting facilities for up to 250 delegates are ideal for meetings, dinners and weddings. Shopping at Westfield and Oxford Street is a short distance away. Imagine Health Club and Spa includes a fantastic new gym and an 18 metre swimming pool with sauna, steam rooms and jacuzzi. The Spa offers an enticing selection of massage, facial and beauty treatments with our expert therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Close London
Hotel Kensington Close
Kensington Close Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing