We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A night in London” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Ranked #387 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Tuners Hill
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A night in London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here for a night out at the theatre, checking was easy, the hotel is in the perfect situation, very close to selfridges food hall, a couple of mins from marble arch and perfect access to oxford street.
The staff couldn't do enough for you, the room was the smallest room I think I have ever stayed in, but very clean, compact and an extremely comfortable bed, everything you needed for one evening, you can certainly only fit one person at a time in the bathroom.
Breakfast is not included as standard, but there a few coffee shops nearby so really not a problem.
Perfect location, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laraine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gamal_Sadaka, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Laraine,

Thank you kindly for staying with us and for sharing your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

I am so delighted that you have made the most of our phenomenal location and that you have enjoyed the cleanliness of the hotel. You can always count on our professional and dedicated team, who take great pleasure in making our guests’ stay most comfortable.

We appreciate your comments about our room size; they do vary due to age of the building. Some of our rooms do tend to be smaller than others. However, majority of our rooms in all categories are perfect for long stays with plenty of in-room space, with some having decent sized bathrooms.

I am thrilled that you will have no hesitation in returning to our hotel and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.


Warmest regards,

Gamal Sadaka
Guest Relations Manager
sadakag@radisson.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    580
    253
    137
    105
See reviews for
221
360
233
671
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here on a Saturday night as part of a celebratory weekend.

The primary reason for staying in a hotel is having a bed and room for a night. The minimum expectation is that it is clean and comfortable. I always book minimum 4 star hotels as I think these expectations will surely be met and anything over and above this is a bonus. Obviously I can only comment on the room we stayed in...

Clearly a fantastic, central location. Offered some iced water on arrival which was a nice touch and the receptionist was very welcoming. However...was informed when checking in that the bed in our room was not one of the biggest and as we hadn't booked breakfast they would like to offer it for free to make up for it, plus a potential upgrade on my next visit.

She wasn't kidding...

Not only was the bed small, the room was also very small, so much so that the bed was pushed up against a wall so that access was only from one side. Thankfully my wife is petite (I'm not) but still didn't sleep very well. I couldn't believe this in a 4 star hotel. The bathroom was also tiny...no chance of more than one person being in it at a time. For me, it just wasn't a double room and should never have been offered as such. It's like buying a restricted view ticket for the theatre but only finding out when you get there and being offered a bag of nuts to make up for it.

30 minutes after arrival we did get a courtesy call to check if everything was ok - it wasn't - but no additional solutions offered.

Other aspects of our hotel: Breakfast was OK; when we returned to the hotel around midnight there was a room service tray that had been left in the hallway, it was still there when we checked out at 11am.

Room Tip: Avoid room 305. There were also rooms in stairwells which seemed a bit strange.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darrenposh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gamal_Sadaka, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Darren,

Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback on Tripadvisor. I am truly sorry to learn of your disappointment with the size of the bedroom you have been allocated.

Yes, few of our rooms tend to be more suitable for short stays which are smaller than others however, majority of our rooms are of a decent size and perfect for long stays with plenty of space for luggage. We are always willing to find a room that meets our guest’s requirements and I apologise that we were not able to offer you a better alternative on this occasion due to the lack of availability. On the other hand, we had to be honest with you upon check in that room is compact hence we offered you a complimentary breakfast.

On the positive note, I am glad that you were touched by the warm welcome of our reception team and that you enjoyed our fantastic central location.

I hope that you will provide us with another opportunity to look after you and the chance to reinstate your confidence with us. Please drop me an email on sadakag@radisson.com the next time you are in London so that I can personally oversee your reservation and ensure your next stay is satisfactory in all aspects.


Kindest regards,

Gamal Sadaka
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norton Fitzwarren, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very stylish, great value hotel only a few yards from Oxford Street. Done out to a very high standard with comfortable rooms and friendly, attentive staff. Quiet and peaceful, with great local pub around the corner, you wouldn't realise you were so close to Oxford St.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gamal_Sadaka, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Dave,

Thank you ever so much for such praising review of the Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex. It is truly heart-warming to read that you had a wonderful experience in our company.

I am astonished to learn that you enjoyed the stylish décor, the human element of our business, and of course our ideal location, as Oxford Street is on our doorsteps, perfect for shopping and sightseeing and even if one is here on a business trip.

Myself and the rest of the Sussex team are eager to welcome you back again and host another lovely stay in the future.

Warmest regards,

Gamal Sadaka
Guest Relations Manager
sadakag@radisson.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Excellent location with friendly, helpful staff. Fantastic breakfast. If you don't mind walking don't bother taking a tube. We walked everywhere as this was so central and we so a lot more of London than we would have otherwise.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank margaret d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gamal_Sadaka, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Margaret,

Thank you very much for such a fantastic recommendation on Tripadvisor!

You are very right about our location, we are so conveniently located that it makes London seem like a small town, with all amenities only steps away. Your comment about our staff is most encouraging and I am glad to know that you also enjoyed our extensive breakfast service

I am truly delighted to learn that everything went smoothly throughout your stay and we are eager to welcome you back for another brilliant stay.


With best regards,

Gamal Sadaka
Guest Relations Manager
sadakag@radisson.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had stayed at the Radisson Blu Edwardian Guildford a couple of times and were very pleased with the hotel and its staff, so this time we decided to stay at Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex when staying in London. We stayed for 12 nights and enjoyed the superb location, just off Oxford Street. The hotel was convenient with everything around while, at the same time, peaceful and quiet as it's located on an inner street. Same as the one in Guildford, the hotel was nice and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Special commendation to Celia (for helping with our pre-arrival transportation arrangements), Maria (for returning my mobile phone, which was left on the breakfast table) and Tia and the staff at Scoff and Banter (for their welcoming and attentive service at breakfast). All in all, we enjoyed the hotel and its great staff and had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gamal_Sadaka, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sussex on your recent visit to London. I am grateful that you have taken the time to write such a lovely review about your stay.

It is without a doubt a great feeling to learn that you have enjoyed your 12 nights experience with us and that we impressed you with our service. Celia, Maria, Tia and the rest of the team were thrilled to read such fantastic feedback and no doubt they will be credited for their efforts.

Your point about our location is so right, being so close to Selfridges, Oxford Street, not to forget the Hyde Park and all the major attractions that undoubtedly gives our guests an advantage to access them easily.

It is also refreshing to learn that you enjoyed our breakfast offering, and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of hosting an evening meal in Scoff and Banter on a future visit.

Warmest wishes,

Gamal Sadaka
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel is very conveniently located, the staff are fabulous, and the rooms are small... a minor glitch in an otherwise perfect hotel. If you are keen on being touristy and central, then this hotel is perfect for those needs. If you need space and would spend most of your time in the facility, pick another hotel :) Can't tell you just how great the staff were. Service made it all worth the stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Leen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gamal_Sadaka, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Leen,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback here on the Tripadvisor platform. We are grateful to learn that you had an enjoyable stay and made the most of our location.

It was really touching to learn your compliments about our service on this platform. As a team we always strive in serving our guests with passion and care and your kind words are rewarding.

May I clarify that few of our rooms can be taken to be small, compared to those in other parts of the world. However, I assure you that we also have a decent collection of deluxe and business class rooms that will surely not disappoint you for size and comfort!

I would be grateful if you could drop me an e-mail on sadakag@radisson.com prior to your arrival and I will be very happy to assist you with your preferences or any additional requirements you may have to make your stay with us comfortable in all aspects.

Warmest regards,

Gamal Sadaka
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

One night stay. On returning late to my room the bathroom fan wouldn't switch off. Front desk were most helpful, even trying to find the right fuse in the basement! Resulted in them suggesting a room move, which was spot on!
Otherwise, good stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gamal_Sadaka, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Paul,

Thank you kindly for staying with us and for sharing your valuable feedback via Tripadvisor.

I am sorry to learn that the bathroom fan was making noise, however I am glad that the problem was resolved by the team, and I hope that it did not spoil your stay.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of hosting another stay for you and the team and I look forward to that. Feel free to drop me an email when making your future booking so I can make sure that you have a more comfortable stay.


Kindest regards,

Gamal Sadaka
Guest Relations Manager
sadakag@radisson.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Berkshire
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#66 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#315 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London
Marylebone
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#384 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel

Property: Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Address: 19-25 Granville Place, London W1H 6PA, England (Formerly Radission Edwardian Savoy Court)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#284 Family Hotel in London
#284 Business Hotel in London
#314 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet corner close to Marble Arch, this boutique hotel is 30 seconds from Oxford Street and only a stone throw away from the expanses of Hyde Park. A calming, peaceful retreat from the hordes, the hotel’s sleek, contemporary design brings modern chic to an Edwardian listed building. Free Wi-Fi in all public areas and bedrooms, allow all guests to work and relax at the same time. If you wish to escape the rush of Oxford Street our Nova Bar & Grill offers a fine cocktails with relaxing and modern surrounding with cool designer comfy leather chairs with urban soundtracks to unwind to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Superbreak UK and Odigeo so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson London
London Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing