We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”
Review of Lancaster London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lancaster London
Ranked #234 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

After spending months checking reviews online, my wife and I picked the Lancaster London and we were nbot disappointed. It's literally a stone's throw from the underground and just a few blocks from Paddington Railway Station. You can get from Heathrow to here in just a very short time. (Hint: Save money by taking the Heathrow Local instead of the Heathrow Express. It's the same type of train and makes just a few stops and it is much cheaper. Only takes about 15-20 minutes longer than the Express).
The rooms at the Lancaster are great as is the service. The restaurant left me cold, however. In three visits we had the same slow, irritating service. Food is good and not overpricd by London standards. Instead of the high priced breakfast, walk a short way to several places that are much cheaper. We ate at Luigi's Sandwich Shop most mornings and had a terrific Full English Breakfast for less than half the price of the Lancaster.
The concierge was great. When my wife and daughter took the tour to Stonehenge that we booked through the concierge desk, they were treated badly and had a terrible time. When we complained, the hotel refunded half of cost of the tour. They explained that this was their half of the tour cost, but they couldn't get the tour provider to refund their half.
We stayed for 20 days and had the time of our lives. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Spend the extra for the deluxe room. It's small by American standards, but much larger that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Thank you for choosing to base your UK trip at Lancaster London, we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay and really appreciate all of your comments. It is great to hear that you were so comfortable in your accommodations and found our location to be convenient for your travels. We are addressing your comments about the restaurant service, thank you for your feedback.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future; please do not hesitate to contact us if we can help you plan your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,558
    1,309
    426
    121
    60
See reviews for
573
1,356
171
741
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (797)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

In September of this year, my son and I stayed 6 nights at the Lancaster. We enjoyed our stay and really have no complaints about the place. I loved the fact that the tube was just around the corner, hop on hop off bus across the road. The walk back from Marble Arch although a tad further than I had imagined was still a comfortable walk.
Overall a nice place to stay and yes I would consider staying there again if/when I am ever back in London.

Room Tip: we didn't have any problems, originally on floor 5 then 'upgraded' to floor 16 to be on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Scanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us, we are delighted you had such a lovely time. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future; in the meantime, please let us know if we can be of any further assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Stayed for 9 nights and thankfully we were too busy sightseeing to spend much time in the room. The entire 11th floor smelled terribly of smoke and I'm a smoker, they need to remove the carpets and open some windows. The lobby is nice and the entrance staff were ok, they did provide us with an early checkin which was the only plus we experienced by booking here aside from the convenience of the tube station.

We stayed in a superior room with city view and the view was lovely at night. The upholstered chair had stains that made me want to put towels down on it before I even sat. The carpet looks like it used to be white but is now a sickly yellow with stains throughout. The bathroom had water droplet stains upon our arrival ( I hope they were only water) all across the bathroom floor and it appeared as though the area under the sink needed a good cleaning and repainting. There was even a pubic hair in the tub area that my husband just removed with a tissue as we were too embarrassed to call down about it. I used hand sanitizer I'd brought along to wash the bathtub myself before showering. Gross and completely unforgivable.

The housekeeping was very random, somedays they seemed to provide things and sometimes not. The Island restaurant consistantly brought our meals in rotation instead of together. A friend ordered toast and coffee and received it several minutes after I'd finished my entire meal they then proceeded to ask us to wait 10 minutes for change when we had a tourbus waiting outside.

I had been reading before booking that all the rooms were being updated and I had hoped they would have been completed by our arrival. I almost wondered if the people who were booking through other sites instead of directly with the hotel were getting the old rooms like me.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
We are very sorry that you did not experience the high level of satisfaction enjoyed by the majority of our guests. We really appreciate your taking the time to write about your stay, as we value all feedback and are genuinely looking into the issues you have raised. Our Housekeeping Department is usually very thorough and we are investigating what happened on this occasion.
For future reference, we do our very best to resolve any complaints brought to our attention while guests are in-house, including where possible changing which room has been allocated.
Please rest assured that we strive toward guest delight for all of our customers, whichever channel they have booked our hotel through.
We hope that you will return to Lancaster London soon so that we may have another chance to impress you. In the meantime, should you wish to discuss your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

The Lancaster London offers modern, comfortable rooms, a great location, excellent breakfast, and all you could want when visiting the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ross5100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to recommend our hotel, we really do appreciate it, and hope to welcome you back very soon. Please don't hesitate to get in touch if we can help you plan your next visit to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Had asked for a non-smoking superior room as attending IoD conference for 2 nights. Presumed all hotels were non-smoking so was but confused first night with smoke smell in corridor. Room 601 pillows were smelling of smoke. Complained in am and asked for change of room. I asked for discount as health was at risk sleeping in this environment. Got a smaller room 520 and was told it was same standard. They condescended to let me have money back for my lunch! Big deal. No way were any rooms superior. I have paid 1/4 price for better rooms in a Travelodge. Bathrooms barely big enough to swing a cat. Very disappointing. Not worth the extortionate price although food at
Conference was excellent as was the Thai restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rdchampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. It is disappointing to hear that you did not experience the high level of guest satisfaction enjoyed by the vast majority of our customers.
We are very sorry that you were allocated a smoking room - standard procedure is to check with guests whether they prefer smoking or non-smoking rooms upon check-in, and we are looking into why this did not happen on this occasion.
Both 601 and 520 are Superior rooms, however as you rightly pointed out, 601 is slightly larger as it is located on the corner of the building.
We hope that you will return to Lancaster London so that we may have another chance to impress you. In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact Guest Relations if you would like to discuss your stay in more detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stay at this hotel every time we go to London. We were asked if our stay was for business or pleasure, and my husband explained that we were celebrating our 34th wedding anniversary. When we arrived, we found our bed covered in rose petals and a bottle of champagne on ice waiting for us - this was a total surprise and absolutely delightful. It's nice to know that these things do happen!!
We had breakfast in our room on both days, but the breakfast was not very warm on the second day, but this was only a minor blip in a wonderful weekend.
Thanks to all the warm, welcoming staff at the Lancaster...we'll be back soon!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors, and preferably facing Hyde Park - what a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breaktaker09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Thank you for your loyalty and for choosing to celebrate your anniversary at Lancaster London.
We are delighted to have helped make it such a special occasion. We are however very sorry that your second room service breakfast did not meet our usual high standard and are looking into why this occurred.
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay, as it is feedback like this that enables us to continue improving our service. We very much look forward to your next visit; in the meantime, please let us know if we can be of any further assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Lancaster London staff is always very helpful and flexible when it comes to getting a hotel room early in the morning which is actually not ready for occupation yet. The rooms are sufficient of size and well equipped. The lounge area is spacious and yet calm so that business meetings can be held. The immediate access to the Tube is perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms should not be adjacent to the elevators - that's noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to recommend our hotel, it is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Lancaster London again, hopefully very soon. Please do not hesitate to let us know if we can be of any assistance in the meantime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#111 of 1,068 in London
332 reviews
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#442 of 1,068 in London
2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#214 of 1,068 in London
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster London

Property: Lancaster London
Address: Lancaster Terrace, London W2 2TY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Family Hotel in London
#153 Romantic Hotel in London
#176 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster London 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether looking down from one of the 416 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, or admiring the outlook from either award-winning restaurant, the 4-star deluxe Lancaster London hotel boasts some of the most panoramic views in the city, overlooking the lush green expanse of Hyde Park and many of the capital's famous landmarks. Walking-distance from Oxford Street, adjacent to Lancaster Gate Central Line tube station (providing a fast direct link to the CBD) and just a stone's throw from the Heathrow Express at Paddington, the hotel's location is perfect for all business and leisure visits to London. Renowned for its world-class function space, the Lancaster London's flexible meetings and events facilities can accommodate up to 3,000 guests. The vast Nine Kings and Westbourne Suites have their own dedicated entrances, sound-proofed dividing walls, state-of-the-art AV equipment and retractable Italian chandeliers. The Forest Suite is a collection of 13 contemporary spaces that can cater for smaller meetings and events of up to 200 delegates. Stylishly yet comfortably furnished using natural woods and fabrics, they are individually-designed to be inviting, calm and businesslike. Dining options at the hotel range from 24-hour room service, to traditional Afternoon Tea, to gourmet experiences in one of the highly-regarded restaurants. Inspired by the original Nipa Restaurant in The Landmark Bangkok Hotel, the 55-seat Nipa Thai Restaurant features a teak panelled interior and stunning traditional furnishings and ornaments, crafted in Thailand. Whether you judge it on its mouthwatering cuisine, subtle oriental décor or welcoming ambience, it is one of the most authentic Thai eating experiences in Europe. In contrast, Island Grill is a stylish modern venue featuring a delicious menu of wide-ranging European dishes alongside a varied selection of cocktails and wines to suit every taste and appetite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Preferred Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lancaster London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster London Hotel London
Royal Lancaster London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing