We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, efficient friendly service.”
Review of Lancaster London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lancaster London
Ranked #229 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent location, efficient friendly service.”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Great location with underground seconds away made this hotel perfectly located to explore London. 4 star furnishings and service in lobby, reception, concierge, doorman. Business centre with free 15 mins Internet which is ample for an online check in etc. buffet breakfast £15 pp but children free which made it good value for us. Had dinner in both hotel restaurants, good food and very good service. Rooms are 3 star, very clean and comfortable but furniture tired and bathroom not as grand as you may expect in a 4 star but overall excellent stay and would recommend. Only thing I didn't like was 12.5% service charges, but hey that's London, just hope the staff get their cut!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to recommend our hotel, it is great to hear that you enjoyed the very high levels of service we are known for, and that you had the chance to dine in both of our award-winning restaurants. Please rest assured that the service staff members do indeed get their share of the 12.5% service charge (which is discretionary). We hope to see you again very soon; do let us know if we can help you plan your next visit to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,564
    1,309
    426
    121
    60
See reviews for
576
1,357
171
742
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (799)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed over the Easter weekend as part of a wedding anniversary trip to London with the family and the hotel really delivered.... From the anniversary greeting card, chocolates, champagne and rose petals on the bed to the Easter eggs for my kids, the fantastic meals that we had at Nipa, the Thai restaurant, and breakfast and great service to match. This is one of the few occasions where I have asked asked for connecting rooms and it was delivered. The rooms were spacious, well equipped and immaculate. My thanks to the hotel for making this a truly memorable occasion for the whole family.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naga64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed here for a Thurs and Fri night and booked through Booking.com so managed to get it for less than £170 for the 2 nights (think it was a bit over £300 for the 2 nights normally). Staff are excellent - efficient and friendly, the hotel is clean, wonderful and has a lovely old school English vibe going on. The view from our window was amazing (16th floor) and the hotel room was spacious and well laid out. Lancaster Gate tube station (central line) is literally 2 minutes walk away and Hyde Park is also on the door step, its also only a 5-10 minute walk from Paddington - which was were we came in from.
Overall I would definitely go back and recommend people to stay - even at the full price!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakeoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esbjerg
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel in january at a very good price.
The hotel is located just across from hyde park and the underground is just beneath, with 2 stops from bond street
I wrote in advance to ask for a room up high to get the best view. We got a room on the 17th floor with view over London. Beautiful!
The staff was helpfull and friendly, and the room was spacious and nice, along with the bathroom.
The breakfast was a bit expensive though, but there's a small french café just across the road that 's good and cheap.
The hotel is also right next the legendary pub "The Swan" which have live music, thu-sun, and a friendly staff and food. There you can also use free Wi-fi which the hotel hasn't got (This is why it doesn't get top grade! For a 4 star hotel Wi-fi should be free!)
Best hotel we stayed in so far in london.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runekjensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. Clean big rooms,cooperative staff,adjacent to lancaster gate underground, 10 min walking to Peddington station and 15 min walking from oxford street. Opp. Hyde park. Get gate Buses opp hotel for Notting hill or oxford street. Will strongly recommend to business class tourists.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jabir_Rasheed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed here on business. Easy access to the underground literally just around the corner.

The room was good, had all the little things you'd expect from a hotel in this location. I just had a standard room and still had a good view over the city.

Access to the restaurant is a little confusing, but once you know where you're going it's ok. Had a nice dinner here - good service. They offer free wi-fi in public areas but I few people seemed to be having difficulties with it. Breakfast was good.

I left my bags with the concierge for the day and it was a very easy and painless process. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MalcolmTucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Stayed at the Lancaster for a week mixing business and pleasure. Lancaster claims to be a four star hotel, which it looks like when you check in and take in the public areas of the hotel. Location is good, you can catch the central line tube next to the hotel and get to all the sights and shopping in 10 minutes. Hyde Park is at your doorstep and if, like us, you use a car to explore areas outside London, you are outside the congestion charge zone and within easy reach of main arteries out of London.
All of the above is slightly marred by the rooms. They are very worn and some of them also small. We tried two rooms during our stay (A/C broke in the first one). First room was small but with an impressive view over Hyde Park and London. Second room was much larger on a lower floor. Less view but more room. Both very very worn but tidy and bathrooms were clean. Amenities in the bathrooms are more three star than four, for those who care, e.g. no hand/body lotion, no cotton buds.
Breakfast was alright, but nothing spectacular. Service is slow and left without my hot drink on two mornings as had finished eating and got tired of waiting.
Staff, in general, are ver helpful and accommodating. E.g. dealing with the broken A/C unit was no hassle at all. As it could not be fixed, we were given another room. No quibble, no long faces, just an offer to have someone come and move the suitcases.
Overall a nice, but worn hotel, teetering on the edge of being a four star, but in London things are different. Would choose another property next time myself.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jukka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#115 of 1,069 in London
351 reviews
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#454 of 1,069 in London
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#214 of 1,069 in London
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster London

Property: Lancaster London
Address: Lancaster Terrace, London W2 2TY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Family Hotel in London
#153 Romantic Hotel in London
#170 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lancaster London 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether looking down from one of the 416 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, or admiring the outlook from either award-winning restaurant, the 4-star deluxe Lancaster London hotel boasts some of the most panoramic views in the city, overlooking the lush green expanse of Hyde Park and many of the capital's famous landmarks. Walking-distance from Oxford Street, adjacent to Lancaster Gate Central Line tube station (providing a fast direct link to the CBD) and just a stone's throw from the Heathrow Express at Paddington, the hotel's location is perfect for all business and leisure visits to London. Renowned for its world-class function space, the Lancaster London's flexible meetings and events facilities can accommodate up to 3,000 guests. The vast Nine Kings and Westbourne Suites have their own dedicated entrances, sound-proofed dividing walls, state-of-the-art AV equipment and retractable Italian chandeliers. The Forest Suite is a collection of 13 contemporary spaces that can cater for smaller meetings and events of up to 200 delegates. Stylishly yet comfortably furnished using natural woods and fabrics, they are individually-designed to be inviting, calm and businesslike. Dining options at the hotel range from 24-hour room service, to traditional Afternoon Tea, to gourmet experiences in one of the highly-regarded restaurants. Inspired by the original Nipa Restaurant in The Landmark Bangkok Hotel, the 55-seat Nipa Thai Restaurant features a teak panelled interior and stunning traditional furnishings and ornaments, crafted in Thailand. Whether you judge it on its mouthwatering cuisine, subtle oriental décor or welcoming ambience, it is one of the most authentic Thai eating experiences in Europe. In contrast, Island Grill is a stylish modern venue featuring a delicious menu of wide-ranging European dishes alongside a varied selection of cocktails and wines to suit every taste and appetite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lancaster London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster London Hotel London
Royal Lancaster London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing