We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff and service, amazing views!”
Review of Lancaster London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Lancaster London
Ranked #232 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Wetherby
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff and service, amazing views!”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Just stayed for a weekend with my wife and daughter at the lancaster London after visiting for an awards ceremony in April and being struck by how nice and helpful all staff were then. We booked a deal including breakfast in a deluxe room but found it to be too small, we rang down to reception and they offered another room for an additional £23 per night, or a suite for £73 more per night. Reception came up and showed us both rooms and for £23 extra per night, we just went with the room that was bigger on the 17th floor, wow what a view and a lovely room with a seating area. What strikes you about this hotel is how friendly the staff all are, read the other reviews, simple things like remembering your names, telling you to have a lovely evening, asking if you enjoyed your breakfast etc etc. We had the a la carte breakfast included in the island restaurant, it was a fabulous breakfast and the service lovely. Beautiful setting next to Hyde Park, fresh juice, complimentary smoothies, the full English is a must. Don't know where the staff come from but no bad attitudes again (you get the picture). As we had a good experience for breakfast we decided it would be less stressful to book dinner at the hotel before going to a show and we were served by Francisco who w great, he kept bringing things to keep our daughter amused and two ketchup a as "one is never enough". The food was good, we all had steak and they were very nice if slightly warm but tasty anyway. The mushroom soup was fab, unfortunately ran out of time for dessert. Francisco was there for breakfast and remembered my daughter and asked how she was (nice touch!), put us on a nice table next to the window and view of Park.

The room was good, traditional in style but had everything we needed, if the staff were not as nice as they are and the views/location were not so good you probably wouldn't think the hotel was anything extraordinary. But the housekeeping was good, after first night they realised there were three in room and left three of everything for us and room was immaculately clean.

3 of us for weekend in London including full breakfast less than £400 in great hotel in fab location, I am certain there is not better value.

Ps. Tube is beneath hotel (literally) and it is a lovely quiet station so makes getting around easy. Will definitely stay again, mainly down to staff!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Regarded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
What a fantastic review – thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed one! We do hope that you and your family will be back again to visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,558
    1,309
    426
    121
    61
See reviews for
573
1,356
171
742
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (797)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vasa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I stayed here two nights and was lucky enough to get a room (executive room) at the 17:th floor with view of both the city and the hyde park. I was pleasantly surprised how big the room was and - as said - the view was nothing short of staggering.

The only downside was that my experience from the grill-restaurant was not good. Paid a good 31£ for a very average steak and a glass. But will for sure return here whenever I get the chance.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as near the top (Level 15-17) to get the astonishing view of the city,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndersVasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for writing about your experience at Lancaster London. We are sorry that you felt that your dinner could have been of better value – hopefully next time you come our menu will wow you more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Our 14th floor city view double was small compared to Australian hotel rooms, but was adequate. In terms of appointments in the room, fixtures and fittings were good quality, and the bathroom was well equipped. Housekeeping standards are very high.

Staff of this hotel are its biggest asset. Without exception, they are polite, very well trained, knowledgeable and willingly helpful. Restaurant meals are very good, and reasonably priced. The hotel is well located for the tube and bus services, and a black cab rank is located right outside the front door. Overall, I cannot recommend the Lancaster highly enough

Room Tip: We chose a superior double with city view and while it was quite small compared to rooms in Australi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for recommending us! We are so pleased that you rated our team so highly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My friend and I recently traveled to London and booked this hotel via Expedia. It was nicely rated in Tripadvisor so we took our chances. We had a great experience. I would highly recommend this hotel just for the location. But, it has other great qualities too. They have a very nice lounge that's open pretty late, probably until 1 or 2 am - never got the chance to find out - too tired. What's good about the lounge is that...you may be surprised to find out that not too many places are open past 11pm in London. We also enjoyed a couple of breakfasts at the Island Grill restaurant. The only negative about this hotel is that we kept hearing doors being slammed. It just happens that the doors are heavy and slam shut. It's a nice alarm clock. Of course, never heard it at night, always got home too late. But, it always greeted us in the morning.

Our room: A bit small, but nice and clean. Not much room to move around in the room, though. Hey, when you're on vacation, you only use the room to kick your feet up after a long day, and sleep. We had 2 twin beds which were very comfortable, and a room with a great view of the park (city view). 2 women sharing a bathroom -- it wasn't too bad -- very high bathtub so be careful (OUCH!). And, very weird, not many big drawers for your clothes, only little ones - desk drawers. But, what I loved the most about this hotel was that it had every kind of outlet you can think of. So, Americans, you don't need to take your converters or special hairdryers - they got our outlet! Also, they have a portable hairdryer in the closet and a weird looking hose hairdryer in the bathroom, which I last happen to see in Italy - it didn't work on my hair. (I'll load up some pictures).

Also, if you're flying into Heathrow, no need to take those expensive, long-hour cabs. Just hop on the Heathrow Express or Heathrow Local right in the airport. We did the Local train for £9. The Heathrow Express, I think was £19. Save £10 and do the local, it drops you off at the same location, Paddington Station, maybe it takes 10 minutes longer, no big deal. The whole ride takes about 20-25 min on the train and it's very comfortable and clean. Paddington Station is walking distance from the Hotel. If you don't want to walk to the hotel, take a cab that's outside the station, it costs about £9 - they have to go the long route.

Besides the parks (Hyde and Kensington), you have wonderful neighborhoods to walk around. We walked practically everywhere and if you didn't want to walk, a couple of great bus stops are just around the corner. The Tube is also just around the corner. We used those a couple of times but we got the hang of the buses - cheap tours around London.

Also, a great mention is a restaurant about a block away called Bel Canto. If you love opera and great French food, this is your place. It cost £44/pp (2-courses) for dinner and a 2-3 hour show - depending on how long you want are willing to sit. They also have 3-course dinners. The waiters are the opera singers (not all). Beautiful voices. We went there twice, it was that beautiful. Excellent service as well.

If you don't want to eat breakfast at the hotel, walk to Spring Street and there are a couple of great little places. We kept going to Luigi's Sandwich Bar (8 Spring Street). They have delicious, fresh juices and the omelets and eggs were very good too - lots of food, and nice owners.

I hope that you enjoy London, we did. Plenty to see and do. Oh, did I mention that we got very lucky with the weather.

Room Tip: Maybe a little further away from the elevators would be quieter, not sure. Select to stay with the P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nydtobias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for writing such a detailed account of your stay in London and at the Lancaster London! I am sure there are plenty of prospective London visitors that will find this very useful! We hope to see you again next time you pop back to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Lancaster Is not to be confused with another hotel with a similar name. This hotel is centrally located next to Hyde Park, and my traveling companion ran in the park, all week. She was advised to wait until about 6:30am, and to run when other people were around. Location, location, location. You are near Buckingham Palace, right on Hyde Park, near Notting Hill. And,There are are multiple bus stops adjacent to the hotel, and the tube stops (lancaster gate on the red/main line) is at the rear of the hotel. I purchased a weekly (oyster) pass, and just hoped on and off busses, and the tube all week long. For drivers, there is a parking garage - so all combined these you direct access to various parts of the city. In addition, Taxis line up at the front desk, as early as 6am, and can be seen in front, late at night. Tour buses also stop across the street, but you must have your actual ticket and not a voucher to board. In warm weather, you can walk to nearby restaurants, and even Paddington Station. The Lobby is updated but not overly fancy. The front desk and bell-desks are staffed by pleasant, but somewhat indifferent desk staff. I didn't find the woman at the information desk particularly helpful. The hotel appears to be a favorite of business people. In addition,this is a good hotel for single female travelers (because of the good location and variety of travel options), as well as families with older children. Our room was smallish, but clean with two beds. That room would be too cramped for a family with say - a baby or toddler in a pram/stroller. We had a great view of the city, great light, and my bed was fine. The Island restaurant has a breakfast buffet, which we tried once. While not cheap, i do think it was a good deal, with decent food. The food was typically British, with a nod to America (cereal/yogurt). My friend and I snagged a seat overlooking beautiful Hyde Park. There is also a Thai restaurant, but we never ate dinner at the hotel, choosing instead to meet up with colleagues in other parts of the city. The safe is not useful. Which means, it works but don't bring any fancy jewelry. In summary, I was glad that I chose to make his hotel my base whilst in London. Good price, safe, and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for a city or park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for writing about your experience at Lancaster London. We are pleased that you enjoyed our location – we are extremely lucky to have some of the best bits of London at our finger tips! If you do come back again and do not wish to put valuable items in the room safes, we have safety deposit boxes by reception, which are at the disposal of our guests. We would be more than happy to show you next time you come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I was staying on the 10th floor in Lancaster London for a business trip for 7 nights. At this level, you could see the entire Hyde Park and more. Service is excellent, the staff is very well trained to cater to your needs. We rented a business meeting room for 5 days and everything was dutifully prepared as wanted. Mr Rafae and Ms April were really helpful in accommodating our group's requests.

The tube is at the back of the hotel. There is no better location than this. Also, the Paddington is just a stone's throw away, especially if you want to catch the Paddington express to Heathrow. All in all, a good stay and good value. Breakfast is incredible too.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the higher floors to get a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kuldazed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Lancaster London. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and April and Rafae are very pleased that they made your experience memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed at the Lancaster London for 5 nights last spring. We didn't pick the hotel, it was hosting a conference that one of our fellow travelers was attending. Had I been able to pick my own hotel, I would not have paid these prices but, it was one of those things, so we stayed here.

Upon check in, we had a bit of a mix up with our room reservation. The front desk was calm and patient while we figured things out. In the end, one of our two reservations did not exist (again, we were with a conference and sometimes these things happen). They honored our price, got us a room close to our party, and everything worked out.

I thought it was a wonderful hotel. Beautiful views, across the street from Hyde park, and close to transportation. We spent a lot of time in the evenings at the hotel bar and I will always look back on those evenings with fondness... lots of laughter, wonderful service, great people.

The Thai restaurant in the hotel is one of the best I have ever eaten at. The hotel said it is ranked as one of the best Thai restaurants outside Thailand (not sure if true, but it really was spectacular).

Bottomline, if you have a chance to stay here you should. Overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tdenten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for coming back to write about your stay at Lancaster London. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our service and our hotel. Do come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#109 of 1,068 in London
332 reviews
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#441 of 1,068 in London
2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#213 of 1,068 in London
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster London

Property: Lancaster London
Address: Lancaster Terrace, London W2 2TY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Family Hotel in London
#153 Romantic Hotel in London
#174 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster London 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether looking down from one of the 416 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, or admiring the outlook from either award-winning restaurant, the 4-star deluxe Lancaster London hotel boasts some of the most panoramic views in the city, overlooking the lush green expanse of Hyde Park and many of the capital's famous landmarks. Walking-distance from Oxford Street, adjacent to Lancaster Gate Central Line tube station (providing a fast direct link to the CBD) and just a stone's throw from the Heathrow Express at Paddington, the hotel's location is perfect for all business and leisure visits to London. Renowned for its world-class function space, the Lancaster London's flexible meetings and events facilities can accommodate up to 3,000 guests. The vast Nine Kings and Westbourne Suites have their own dedicated entrances, sound-proofed dividing walls, state-of-the-art AV equipment and retractable Italian chandeliers. The Forest Suite is a collection of 13 contemporary spaces that can cater for smaller meetings and events of up to 200 delegates. Stylishly yet comfortably furnished using natural woods and fabrics, they are individually-designed to be inviting, calm and businesslike. Dining options at the hotel range from 24-hour room service, to traditional Afternoon Tea, to gourmet experiences in one of the highly-regarded restaurants. Inspired by the original Nipa Restaurant in The Landmark Bangkok Hotel, the 55-seat Nipa Thai Restaurant features a teak panelled interior and stunning traditional furnishings and ornaments, crafted in Thailand. Whether you judge it on its mouthwatering cuisine, subtle oriental décor or welcoming ambience, it is one of the most authentic Thai eating experiences in Europe. In contrast, Island Grill is a stylish modern venue featuring a delicious menu of wide-ranging European dishes alongside a varied selection of cocktails and wines to suit every taste and appetite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Lancaster London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster London Hotel London
Royal Lancaster London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing