We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well situated, but....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Lancaster London
Ranked #170 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This hotel ist very well situated extremly close to the tube station "Lancaster Gate". From our room we had a marvellous view towards the City of Westminster! So I could recommend this house. But: The rooms are not really new, hot water comes irregularly, the price for breakfast ist 15 £, so 60£ for a family of 4 persons. The Concierge ist not always where he should be and the concierge service was not able to make a reservation for the london eye. Over all the hotel is somewhere between satisfying and good.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank merapeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. The breakfast is good value when there are hungry mouths to feed in the morning, but if you prefer to have something lighter, our A La Carte menu in Island Grill is sometimes preferred. We are sorry that you found our Concierge team did not satisfactorily deal with your requests – this is being looked into and some training has been arranged to make sure that the team are all aware of the best way to arrange tickets for London attractions. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we hope that if you come back again that you will find the service to be top notch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,110 - 2,116 of 3,690 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

Stayed at the Lancaster Hotel for 6 days between back to back tours in the UK & Europe. Hotel Is close to the Lancaster Gate tube station. Comfortable rooms & great breakfast. Hyde Park just across the road and Oxford Street within easy walking distance. Staff were great helpful & friendly. Would definitely recommend Lancaster London & would stay there again.

Room Tip: Take full advantage of the 1 hour free internet daily
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squizz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to recommend us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed at this Hotel for three nights recently.The rooms were clean & comfortable, breakfast really nice. All the staff were helpful courteous & very professional.The location was excellent.
We had some lovely walks in Hyde park.We returned to the Hotel two weeks later for one night
prior to flying home .We were pleasantly surprised a lot of the staff remembered us. We would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you for recommending the Lancaster London. We hope that you will be back to visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I recently found this hotel on a hotel deal website while organising a trip for my dads birthday and decided that the Lancaster ticked the boxes of being reasonably priced, comfortable and in a good location. I added in my general comments to the hotel that it was my dads birthday and thought no more of it. My parents were told on arrival that they had been upgraded to a suite, which when they arrived, overlooked Hyde Park, their living room area had been filled with balloons, wine, a chocolate cake (which I hear, was simply delicious) and a handwritten birthday card from the hotel (I thought this in particular was a lovely touch). What more could they want? My father tells me they where surrounded by lovely places to eat and the bar had lots of coming and going for a nice buzz when having a late night drink. I myself, love to travel to London, and have struggled to find a well priced hotel which still remains classy and in a good location at the same time-I can't wait to try the Lancaster out myself the next time I'm there. My dad says he would rate the hotel 4 1/2 stars- a high compliment if ever there was one!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riona_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your parents stay at the Lancaster London. We hope that you will enjoy your stay just as much when you come and stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The Lancaster London does an excellent job. They are very convenient to the Paddington Train Station (walking distance) and Hyde Park, as well as shopping, but the most important consideration is their people. They simply were quite attentive to my needs and made me feel right at home.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_J_J58488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

We are so pleased that we made you feel at home. Do come and visit us again next time you are in London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My husband and I spent a week at the Lancaster Hotel celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary. Upon arrival we found our room decorated with balloons, towel swans and rose petals on the bed, chocolate covered strawberries and champagne. What a treat!
The room was very clean and rather large for London. The queen size bed was very comfortable. Another plus....air conditioning and wash clothes. The only issue we had was the water temperature in the shower. One day very hot and another day no hot water. The staff at the Lancaster was very friendly and professional. We found the location very good as well. Across from Hyde Park and next to the Underground. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueSue783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you for writing about your experience at the Lancaster London. We are glad that we were able to help you celebrate your very important anniversary. We hope that we can have the opportunity to do this again for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

4 star hotel? Barely.

As is often the case, the public areas are sumptuous, but the rooms need refurbishing. Our room, 1009, was one of the noisiest rooms I've stayed in recently. Not the street noise you would expect from London, but from inside the building. The bathtub drain made extraordinary noises, the air conditioning groaned. It was like the building was complaining, loudly.

The location is perfect, the room size adequate, the bed was good, the breakfast was fine, and we got a good deal on one of those discount sites.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Shallam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Lancaster London. We are sorry that you found your stay to be so loud, and not as relaxing as you had hoped. We are waiting to receive the go ahead to start the work on our plumbing – unfortunately our building is fast approaching its 50th birthday and the age-related complaints can sometimes be felt. But please rest assured that these are being attended to in the fastest and most efficient way possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Roseate House London
#62 of 1,081 in London
1,516 reviews
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#86 of 1,081 in London
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#30 of 1,081 in London
3,120 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Royal Garden Hotel
Royal Garden Hotel
#93 of 1,081 in London
3,594 reviews
London Elizabeth Hotel
#793 of 1,081 in London
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lancaster London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lancaster London

Address: Lancaster Terrace, London W2 2TY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Family Hotel in London
#134 Luxury Hotel in London
#153 Romantic Hotel in London
#205 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £166 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Lancaster London 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across from Hyde Park, 15 minutes from the financial district and a quick taxi ride to popular sight-seeing locations such as Buckingham Palace. Royal Lancaster London hotel is uniquely positioned to serve the needs of any distinguished guest. Business travelers are invited to take advantage of the hotel’s impressive meeting spaces while enjoying the accessibility of our state-of-the-art on-site gym, hot breakfast and hotel bar. Don’t miss out on their award-winning restaurants, Nipa Thai – offering authentic and delicious Thai dishes, and Island Grill – known for its fresh and sustainable cuisine. The hotel has just inaugurated a collection of brand new rooms and suites, showcasing an effortless blend of mid-century design and contemporary luxury. Curated down to the smallest detail, all rooms feature Smart TVs, heated bathroom floors, quality linen, USB charging port and much more. Choose one of the suites to discover the meaning of “a view with a room”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Lancaster London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster London Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing